Can you upgrade mac pro Processor?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by category, Oct 7, 2007.

  1. category macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    #1
    I am just curious is it possible to upgrade the CPU in a mac Pro? I called apple they said no you cant is that true or not?
     
  2. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
  3. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #3
    Voids the warranty but yes it can be done. Its a complicated procedure mind you. Not for the faint of heart.
     
  4. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #4
    Next One Comes With A Much Smarter Logic Board

    While it's possible, you would lose the other benefits of the new logic board coming with Stoakley-Seaburg among other things. Best way to spend money on an upgrade is by selling the one you have and buying the next one for about the same difference in money.
     
  5. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #5
    While that is true it is not nearly as fun:D. Of course I can't own a computer for more than 2 days without pulling it apart, if I even last that long usually I am throwing in upgrades before turning them on for the first time and toss in the install disc to format and install a new OS before even trying it.

    Since they are coming out with a new architecture Intel probably will not make too many more advances with the Socket 771 chips currently used though. Maybe slightly higher clock speeds with the possibility of more cache. Though in two years you could probably pickup some quad core 3.0 GHz or higher Socket 771 Xeon's for next to nothing. Which would be great if you are moving from current 2.0/2.66 GHz Xeon's.
     
  6. orbitalpunk macrumors 6502

    orbitalpunk

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #6
    I've upgraded my quad 2.66 to a octo 2.66. its helped with my 3D rendering and compressor tremendously and saved me about a $1000
     
  7. RichP macrumors 68000

    RichP

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Location:
    Motor City
    #7
    If you have something that really would benefit from more cores (3d rendering and other CPU-crunching tasks) it is certainly feasible.

    Problem with chip prices is they dont really continue to fall..they just stop making them and come out with faster models. That is to say, in 2 years you wont be upgrading the current macpro to a octo configuration for $400.
     
  8. THX1139 macrumors 68000

    THX1139

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #8
    How could that save you a $1000? With the purchase of the original machine, plus buying the new processors, wouldn't that be as much or more than buying a new machine?
     
  9. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #9
    I read somewhere that Intel have committed to producing socket 771 compatible versions of at least their next 2 revisions. I anticipate upgrading for a few years to come...
     
  10. RichP macrumors 68000

    RichP

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Location:
    Motor City
    #10
    assuming the macpro firmware supports them. It isnt exactly like these things are from motherboard manufacturers who update such things.
     
  11. LightSpeed1 macrumors 6502a

    LightSpeed1

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    Washington D.C.
    #11
    Where can I find the steps on changing the processor?
     
  12. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #12
    here is a good thread for 2010 mac pro single cpu the quad 2.8 or the quad 3.2 ca become the hex 3.2 or hex 3.33 or hex 3.46.



    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1122551&highlight=


    read it all you can do this in under an hour
     
  13. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #13
    Self promoting are we?!?!? :eek: :p Good thread though (clear pics and easy to understand step by step instructions). :D

    Even if it's an older model, processors can be upgraded. I only mention this, as I didn't see any specs or model # for the OP's machine (presume it's new or hasn't yet been purchased, and is looking to find out if the usable lifespan can be increased).
     
  14. henryseiden, Feb 21, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2012

    henryseiden macrumors member

    henryseiden

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #14
    Would an upgraded MacPro late 2007 with CPU or Logic Board upgrade (assuming such a plan would even work?) run OS X Mountain Lion which was just announced? As is, the upgrade does not seem to install, even though my MacPro is early 2008 and supposedly compatible with the Dev edition.
     
  15. ashman70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #15
    Your signature says Mac Pro 1,1 yet you talk about early 2008? If you go into about this Mac, what does it say you have?

    If you have a Mac Pro 3,1 then the preview edition of ML should install just fine.

    If your Mac Pro is a 2007 model, then chances are it won't be able to run Mountain Lion upon release, Apple has stated that Mac Pro's from 2008 onward will be supported, older models will be dropped from support.
     
  16. afterworks macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Manchester
    #16
    Sorry to hijack this thread but could someone let me know whether/what I can do with mine?

    It's a:


    Model Name: Mac Pro
    Model Identifier: MacPro3,1
    Processor Name: Quad-Core Intel Xeon
    Processor Speed: 2.8 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 4
    L2 Cache: 12 MB
    Memory: 6 GB
    Bus Speed: 1.6 GHz
    Boot ROM Version: MP31.006C.B05
    SMC Version (system): 1.25f4


    Apple support section says it came with these options...

    Standard Configuration (MA970LL/A) Build-to-Order Options
    Processor Two 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon processors Two 3.0GHz or 3.2GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon processors
    One 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon processor

    Am I able to get another 2.8 quad and drop it in making it an octo? If so which one?

    Someone help!

    Thanks
     
  17. Atomic101 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    Nottingham
    #17
    @afterworks

    You will be needing a E5462 Xeon 2.8 & also a heatsink. I'm about to put a matched pair of E5462's on EBay Uk in the next few weeks from my upgrade.

    Andy
     

Share This Page