Canceled iphone data package.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by dosbabe, Mar 3, 2010.

  1. dosbabe macrumors newbie

    dosbabe

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    #1
    I went down to Walmart and got a go phone, switched sim cards with my iphone. AT & T activated the go phone and took off the data package (crossing fingers). Now I'm wondering if I'm going to be able to get wi-fi, which is coming the end of the week. I have n iphone MB702LL Model 7 gigabytes. Iphone 3G. Bought 18 months ago.
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2

    What? I am going to slowly try to decipher this...

    You got a go phone and put your SIM in the go-phone to do away with 3G, ok. I get that.

    Next part. You are wondering if you are going to get Wi-Fi? Yes you are. Why is it coming? It doesn't 'come', it is obtained by you having a wireless router.
     
  3. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 603

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #3
    I assume he means he's getting the service at the end of the week.

    Good advice below.
     
  4. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #4
    I've done this exact thing. It works perfectly, but you'll wanna do just ONE more step. You're going to want to call at&t and have them BLOCK all data going to your phone. If you do not do this, the iPhone will use data even when idoling. Also, this step garantees that you won't get charged accidentally for using data. Wifi will always work as expected.
     
  5. Rodimus Prime macrumors G4

    Rodimus Prime

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    #5
    Not going to work. ATT scans for iphone IMEP numbers now and if they find out you have one they automatically add a data plan. They have been doing it for a while and are even harder on it now that they require smart phones to have a data plan. All iPhones have required a data plan since the 3G
     
  6. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #6
    They can't do crap to a go-phone account. Mine has been fine. They can't add a data plan to a go-phone and they certainly can't automatically sign you up for a contract and change your plan.

    I'm doing all this on my 3G.
     
  7. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 603

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #7
    Complete FUD.

    Find me ONE post where somebody actually had AT&T add a data plan to their account.

    My 3GS has been data plan free since the day I got it.
     
  8. Surely Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #8
    I'm sure it's FUD, but you can't possibly believe that all iPhone users are members who post here.

    If you do, I'd like to sell you a rock that keeps tigers away.
     
  9. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 603

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #9
    That's a fair point. But as with any problem, the first thing many people do is find a forum to complain and see if anybody else is experiencing the same.

    If it was happening as regularly as Prime is suggesting, we would have heard about it I'm sure.
     
  10. dosbabe thread starter macrumors newbie

    dosbabe

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    #10
    Yes, I ordered DSL. It will come the end of the week. I'm just wondering if an inactive iphone will pick up the wireless signal.

    Thanks
     
  11. Kyeris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Location:
    Somewhere in Texas
    #11
    It will as long as it has already been activated (ex. haven't restored it since you removed the sim card). If you restore it, it will require activation (or you could jailbreak, that's a different story.

    To keep it short, you should be fine.
     
  12. dosbabe thread starter macrumors newbie

    dosbabe

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    #12
    How did you do that? They absolutely refused to take the data off, unless I got a different phone, and the go phone was the cheapest, 29.95.
     
  13. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 603

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #13
    I had the 3G before and simply moved the SIM to a different phone (surprise! GoPhone!) and called requesting all data be blocked. It'll work the same for the 3GS.
     
  14. Surely Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #14
    Yes, and hopefully it'll fix the nasty font problem you seem to be having.
     
  15. joebobthehob macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    #15
    Not at all FUD. The contract you signed when you purchased that iPhone clearly states a data plan is required, and that AT&T can and will add it if you don't have it. There have been some cases where for whatever reason instead of adding the plan they just cut data off entirely, but they can, will and do regularly add the plan on.

    You can try to trick them into getting it removed of course, and it may or may not work, but just don't act like you're the victim of some terrible atrocity if they catch you and slap it back on.
     
  16. ChaSSe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #16
    Finally. Someone who understands.
     
  17. J.W.Pepper macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    #17
    Does this really work?

    To clarify... Will this trick work for all iPhone models? I have an original 8GB iPhone. Is there anyway I can keep my current phone number? If so, all I need to do is cancel my current plan, get a go phone, and switch the sim cards? That easy? Sounds too good to be true.
     
  18. ChaSSe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #18
    Yup That works.
     
  19. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 603

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #19
    I understand the contract. I'm not questioning what they require. But in all the time I've used it without data, I've never had anything changed on my account without my saying so. I've also never read anything from another forum user stating otherwise.

    I'm not here to argue, and I retract my "FUD" statement since somebody has said they've seen it happen. But it is possible to get by without.

    Good night!
     
  20. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #20
    I just want to point out that I have an iPhone 3G without a data plan for a few reasons:

    1. I'm saving about $50 a month.
    2. The only time I'm using the internet on it is when I'm checking this site.
    3. It makes phone calls anywhere (iPod touch needs wifi for that).
    4. I can text people from anywhere (iPod touch needs wifi again for that).
    5. I like the interface and it's the easiest phone I've found to text on.

    People act like it's some sort of huge thing to have an iPhone with no data. I like having a digital note-pad for when I have an idea… easy contacts integration… calendar with reminders… to-do lists… occasional email and a great iPod.

    I simply don't *need* data. Also, I feel better about keeping my iPhone put away. When I had a data plan, I felt like I need to constantly be using my iPhone to get my money's worth out of it. People got mad at me because I was using my iPhone instead of being a part of the real-life conversations or events. I feel much better about just leaving it in my pocket and I can go days without even using it… I don't feel like I'm wasting money when I'm not using it because I'm not spending the money in the first place. It's great.

    There you have it. That's my story. Also, I'm not in any stupid contract.
     
  21. Ab10la macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #21
    I used iPhone 3gs without data plan since August 2009 and att did not add the data plan. Stop spreading misinformation. Contract! Don't make me laugh.
     
  22. ChaSSe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #22
    They haven't YET. Please disprove my information.... You wont be able to. I used to deal with people like you everyday, thinking that they know everything. You dont.



    But ya you're right, misinformation.
     
  23. dosbabe thread starter macrumors newbie

    dosbabe

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    #23
    Why the hostility? I originally had the ipod touch, but no camera, so I changed my mind and got the iphone. I decided that the data was nice, but not worth the extra $30 a month. I could spend it better elsewhere.


    Those are just a few of the reason's I want to get out of the data plan. And like you, I need a life. When we go on a trip, though, I'm going to see if I can switch back to data on the iphone. I still have six months on my 2 year contract, so I'm really wondering if they truly did take the data off.
     
  24. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #24
    They won't be able to add data to my go-phone account. :D

    Why should we have to pay for what we don't use?

    Oh, and the contract doesn't apply to me because I'm not in a contract.
     
  25. ChaSSe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #25
    This information doesnt apply to you. He is talking about using it on a postpaid account.
     

Share This Page