Cannot upgrade to beta 2

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by hyperous, Jul 9, 2016.

Tags:
  1. hyperous macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    #1
    Hi folks,

    I've been on beta 1 for awhile.. but beta 2 seems to be out of reach for me. My App Store constantly shows a blank screen, and is probably linked to iCloud which is indefinitely spinning for me when I try to log in.

    I've tried logging out and in of the Mac App Store but no luck either. Is there any other way around this?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    You might try downloading the public beta, might be "newer" than "beta 2"...
     
  3. tywebb13 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #3
    I wouldn't if I were you. It may be newer, but the developer beta 2 is a higher build number than the public beta 1.

    They are on different release programs and so it is not a good idea to mix the 2.

    It is OK to run them both though - just do it separately. I have the public one on a mbp and the developer one on a mba for example.

    I'll keep them separate and I'll be careful to install the right updates on each one. But I won't install a public beta over the top of developer betas or vice versa because that is not what is intended and may render any feedback to apple invalid.
     
  4. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #4
    Use Recovery OS to reinstall macOS. Then if App Store appears blank, you know it's a problem with something other than the OS.
     
  5. hyperous thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    #5
    Should I reinstall and not restore from a Time machine backup? Is it possible to recover from an older version of the backup? (e.g. when I'm on beta2 can I restore from a beta 1 backup?)
     
  6. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #6
    I would think so. Do you expect a regression?
     
  7. mariusignorello macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    #7
    Thanks to Apple ripping the download off the App Store, i had to acquire beta 1 from an external source in order to fix the problem.
     
  8. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #8
    Now:
    1. install (or reinstall) macOS Recovery HD Update
    2. use Recovery OS to reinstall macOS.
     
  9. mariusignorello macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    #9
    Nah, I just wiped the disk and installed from the USB installer. Once that was done, the App Store had me download beta 2 along with the recovery HD.
     
  10. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #10
    @mariusignorello do you mean that the App Store originally listed Sierra, then the listing disappeared, then the listing reappeared?

    (With the two steps given above, it was not necessary to have a listing for Sierra; no redemption code.)
     
  11. mariusignorello macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    #11
    The App Store no longer has any references to Sierra. Originally you could redeem a code and it would appear in your purchases. Now it does not. Beta 2 will appear in your Updates if beta 1 is installed. In my case, it wasn't appearing so I did a clean install of beta 1 that I obtained from a third party source. Beta 2 then appeared in Updates.
     
  12. Sundoctor1 macrumors newbie

    Sundoctor1

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    #12
    Had this prob too. Was able to find Beta 2 in Updates only after re-installing Beat 1 from a temp admin account.
     
  13. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #13
    Thanks, that's what I chose to avoid. Without sourcing the installer from Apple, I could treat neither (a) the installer nor (b) an updated installation as clean.
     
  14. mariusignorello macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    #14
    Yeah well the Mac checks the installer to make sure it is signed by Apple so... yeah.
     
  15. hyperous thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    #15
    Thanks folks! Finally fixed it after following grahamperrin's instructions.
     

Share This Page