Can't activate my iphone 2g through itunes

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Jonathan77, May 13, 2011.

  1. Jonathan77 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #1
    I'm not sure what's going on and need help figuring this out. Restored my iphone 2g through itunes. Brand New SIM card put in since i'm going from my iphone 4 to the 2g. I plug the phone in and itunes opens up with the normal menu of going through the steps of replacing an existing line to another phone. At the very end where i need to hit submit, absolutely nothing happens. I've tried

    -Different version of itunes
    -reboot computer
    -turned off the phone and back on

    Nothing changes. Everytime i get to the final screen, it just stays there. Nothing is loading, nothing is being worked on...it's just click and nothing. the screen remains the same and my 2g isn't activated. It's currently in the emergency dial out mode which is what assume it should be in.

    Any help is much appreciated~
     
  2. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #2
    Wherever you are can the phone get a cell signal to activate?
     
  3. Jonathan77 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #3

    I'm coming from an iphone 4 and trying to activate an iphone 2g. With the new SIM that I was required to purchase and put in the 2g, i'm getting "No Service" which should be right since I haven't activated it yet. Help :confused:
     
  4. Jonathan77 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #5


    I did and explained the situation. they told me they can enable the sim in my iphone 2g but it still doesn't change the fact that I can't get past the Emergency Call only screen which is something that apparently itunes bypasses. :(
     
  5. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #6
    Was saying it needs a cell signal to activate, you arent in a basement or anything?

    Also did they give you a 3G SIM? I dont think that will work well in a non 3g phone.
     
  6. Jonathan77 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #7


    nope. not in a basement with full signal strength in my iphone 4. The att store I went to earlier gave me the appropriate sim card for the iphone 2g which is what's in there now.

    I even tried taping the iphone 4 microsim and putting it in my 2g. Att network is found and I can receive calls but i'm still stuck at the emergency call only screen.
     
  7. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
  8. Alaerian Guest

    Alaerian

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Location:
    A barstool, Innis & Gunn in hand
    #9
    Have you tried digging around on the Apple support pages? This now sounds like an issue on the Apple end, not AT&T.

    There may be a temporary issue with iTunes "syncing up" with the AT&T side. I'm wondering if you might just need to wait it out.
     
  9. Jonathan77 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #10

    I'm hoping you're right. Could you check to see if your itunes is working? I just clicked on the itunes store and it's saying it's temporarily down. Could you do me a favor and confirm for me? Much appreciate~
     
  10. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #11
    Why didn't the store transfer the activation to the new sim card?

    He's trying to use a BRAND NEW, unactivated sim card to activate a device. Think about it.
     
  11. Jonathan77, May 13, 2011
    Last edited: May 13, 2011

    Jonathan77 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #12


    ok this is strange. just downloaded and installed the latest version of itunes and now it's saying itunes isn't down. i'm getting more and more confused here. Well it's still not getting past the "review your information" page where I hit submit. no loading or anything at all. This is so frustrating. The one time i want things to just work the way they're supposed to it doesn't :(


    Been at this for the last 4 hours using 2 different computers with various versions of itunes. .....
     
  12. braddick macrumors 68040

    braddick

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Location:
    Encinitas, CA
    #13
    Once you're problem is fixed, and I'm sure it will be, would you mind telling us why you're switching from an iPhone4 back to the 2G? You've got me curious, but I also respect you're in the middle of trying to get it all to work out so will wait for your reply.
     
  13. Jonathan77, May 13, 2011
    Last edited: May 13, 2011

    Jonathan77 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #14

    Fixed it. Figured out what was wrong. Whew. Thanks all for the help
     
  14. jfyrfytr25 macrumors 6502a

    jfyrfytr25

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    #15
    did you eat Lead paint chips as a child? Reading comprehension is not your strongest area huh?

    He is trying to activate the sim online through itunes. this is the way all 1st gen iPhones were and are activated.

    think about it......
     
  15. polaristar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #16
    same issue...

    Hey! How did you get it to activate??? I've been fighting with iTunes since yesterday evening! Any help?
     
  16. drummr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    #17
    He's doing the 2g unlimited data loophole.
     
  17. blueduckpicture macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    #18
    what was it??


    I'm having this same problem right now -- what was the fix? I've been through Apple, AT&T, and both of them again, with no resolution.
     
  18. MotleyGrrl macrumors 6502

    MotleyGrrl

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #19
    Really, this is the one and only time you want things to just work the way they should? Hmm.

    And... how did you get it to work? Talk about an anti-climactic ending.
     
  19. jacob-07 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    #20
    I'm having the same problem, do you mind sharing how you got this resolved
     
  20. Crisman, May 15, 2011
    Last edited: May 15, 2011

    Crisman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #21
    Hey Jonathan,
    Looks like a few other people are having the same problem that you had (including myself) and just like you did, we seek help through this site.

    Can you let us know how you solved the issue?
    I'm caught in a blame loop between apple and AT&T.

    Thnx! I appreciate it.
     
  21. maryp08 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #22
    hello johnathan77,

    Could you please tell me how you fixed your issue? Apple and ATT are giving me the run-around. Please, please, please! Thank you so much.
     
  22. OneIIMany macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    #23
    Yes, please let us know! My boyfriend has been trying to deal with the same issue for almost a week now. It'd be greatly appreciated!
     
  23. tremlock macrumors 6502a

    tremlock

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Location:
    The Land of Cleves
    #24
    also having the same problem. if i pop out the sim i can use the phone with wifi. but if i put the sim in i get the emergency call screen. very strange indeed
     
  24. tremlock macrumors 6502a

    tremlock

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Location:
    The Land of Cleves
    #25
    at&t says they have no idea,transfer to apple and the senior engineer says they currently have no solution to the problem, but they will be happy to call me when they figure out the issue. how can the call me when my phone wont activate????
     

Share This Page