cant burn iso to dvd for some reason

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Turian.Spectre, Aug 12, 2011.

  1. Turian.Spectre, Aug 12, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2011

    Turian.Spectre macrumors regular

    Turian.Spectre

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #1
    this is a part of my previous problem that I still have no answers to... http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1209927&highlight=

    i thought to maybe remaster the dvd. so i created an image using my windows disk into a cdr file with disk utility, then i used the terminal to change the cdr into iso, when i try to burn the iso to dvd it says "unable to burn to this disk, try a different brand or lower speeds"
    I tried 3 different brands. Is Lion not only unable to install windows, but also can't burn iso to dvd? thinking about downgrading back to snow leopard...
     
  2. ensjesse macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #2
    I reviewed your other issue. First off, do yourself a favor and get install refit. It's a great boot menu, if your computer will actually read this disc then refit will allow you to startup off of it. Install windows on your bc partition and your ready to go. As far as the issue of needing option for Lion. Make sure it's selected as your startup disk under system in your preference pane. If it still won't automatically startup off of it you could always try resetting your PRAM. Either way refit is the way to go, that way you get a choice every startup or you can make a default. As far as your disk image goes, you shouldn't just rename an image i mean it could work under certain conditions but not all. You should be burning and making iso images. There are plenty of nice pieces of software to do this, burn or toast. If you downloaded your copy of windows from MS digital river than you should have an image file then you can then use the ms tool to convert to a proper iso and burn. Hope this helps some.

    Jesse
     
  3. Turian.Spectre thread starter macrumors regular

    Turian.Spectre

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #3
    refit did not help. when i hold down the option key at boot i still get only 1 option - lion. cant see the cd or the bootcamp partition. if i boot without holding the opt key, it automatically tries to boot to bootcamp to begin the windows installation, and i get a black screen that says "no bootable devices found --- insert disk and press any key"...
    thanks for the try.
     
  4. ensjesse macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Well in that case your bootcamp partition is corrupted because refit should see it regardless. I say you start fresh. Make a better boot cd to start. Boot lion off USB and start fresh, delete all partitions on your driver including the efi and hidden, start fresh... install lion, then run bootcamp and make partition, then install windows and delete bc partition, format and then install windows then hold option at startup and select your lion install, install refit and rebless. Should be good to go, there's no other way you can have issues like this unless you just have a problem with your prev installs. You need to wipe your drive and start fresh. I just installed Win 7 64 on two mb pros this way an hour ago just to make sure I could still start up and select lion without refit. But refit makes it easier.
     
  5. Turian.Spectre thread starter macrumors regular

    Turian.Spectre

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #5
    when you installed it recently it was on lion? and what cd did you have? bought in a store, or downloaded from microsoft like mine? I will try to redo everything again like you said... will let you know how it went.
     
  6. ensjesse macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #6
    I did two just to test this and because I needed windows on those machines anyway figured why not. Using Lion 10.7.2 on both machines with a clean install after complete format and partition from cml diskutility. I used two discs my Windows 7 64 bit professional edition from ms digital river site burned in windows and a pressed disc for ultimate from ms. Both work fine. The burned
    one is using memorex as the media.
    good luck.
     
  7. Turian.Spectre thread starter macrumors regular

    Turian.Spectre

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #7
    did not work... guess i will wait a month or so for any updates to come out, if there arent any i will revert back to snow leopard. how do you have 10.7.2? mine is 10.7, and the software update says no new updates available.
     
  8. Quad5Ny macrumors 6502a

    Quad5Ny

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Location:
    New York, USA
    #8
    In both threads you keep saying you can't burn the ISO nor can you read the previously burned disc. Did you ever think maybe your SuperDrive is bad? Can you burn a music CD in iTunes or a data disc using Finder?

    If your SuperDrive is bad, there are plenty of places online that sell them or Apple will replace it for free if your under Apple Care (or for money if your not). If you decide to put one in yourself make sure you get the correct sized screw driver and read a good tutorial (iFixIt has some good ones).

    You could also try making a Windows 7 Setup USB stick with the ISO you have, there should be a few guides if you Google it (you might need rEFIt to boot it).
     
  9. Turian.Spectre thread starter macrumors regular

    Turian.Spectre

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #9
    Guess i should have been more clear on that. my superdrive is fine. it can play dvds, music, rip and burn music cds, but it just wont recognize my windows cd (says its blank) which i have used on this machine before, and this started only after lion.
     
  10. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #10
    I had a different issue which was keeping me from burning ISO's to DVD. I called apple - they had me reset pram and smc, then all worked well.

    I didn't read all of the thread carefully, so not sure if you have already tried this or not.
     
  11. Turian.Spectre thread starter macrumors regular

    Turian.Spectre

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #11
    I have not. Just tried both of those, did not help...
     
  12. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #12
    Do you have access to an external DVD burner just to rule out the drive itself? How about burning the ISO you created using a different box to rule out a bad ISO?
     
  13. Turian.Spectre thread starter macrumors regular

    Turian.Spectre

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #13
    the Iso is fine, I installed from it before. I dont have an external dvd device, guess i will get one to try it out.
     
  14. HowardJaxMug macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    #14

    Having related problem on my new MBP - came w/ Lion.

    Several places have mentioned that the disk utility doesn't properly burn ISO's. It does burn, but the CRC-32 checks of the iso on disk and the burned dvd have different values. - But they are always the same incorrect values.

    - H
     
  15. Turian.Spectre thread starter macrumors regular

    Turian.Spectre

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #15
    I gave up and did a clean install of Snow leopard. my mbp reads the windows disk fine now, so i can say i am a 100% sure that my superdrive is fine. Ive never had issues with osx systems before lion. it feels as if lion on mac is like vista on windows. Problems/issues, released too early, and possibly will never be fixed.
     
  16. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #16
    I'm not sure it will be their Vista, but I am waiting a while before I even consider an upgrade to Lion. Probably wait until 10.7.3 or .4. Right now SL works great for me and I don't see Lion bringing anything to to table other than growing pains at this point.

    Anyway, good to hear your superdrive works.
     
  17. smartfork macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #17
    Is it a bad iso file? try using magiciso to burn iso file on windows to rule out bad iso file.
     

Share This Page