Can't copy some files to external! Error -36! **UPDATE: Shocking news!**

Discussion in 'macOS' started by iMJustAGuy, Apr 1, 2011.

  1. iMJustAGuy, Apr 1, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2011

    iMJustAGuy macrumors 68020

    iMJustAGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Beach, FL
    #1
    I've been researching this all night. I am trying to copy all of my media to my external drive and every couple of files I get an error like the one below. After a bunch of googleing I found a temp "resolution" using terminal that involved a "dot_clean" command but Apple addressed this issue in April 2010 so you should not have to do this any longer. Still, I tried anyway and it did not work for me.

    Also, my drive is formatted as Mac-OS extended. I really need this to work and cannot figure out a solution. Thanks!

    PS: It is not any specific type file. It will copy 10 or so MP3's and then bring the error up for the same file type. It is also doing this for my (iTunes created) album artwork folder and my videos.


    [​IMG]
     
  2. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #2
    @iMJustAGuy:
    Go to the info window of both volumes and tell Mac OS X to ignore the volume owners! Did you try to "repair" the disks with Apples Disk Utility?

    And btw, use the PNG-format for such screenshots! It looks much better. :)
     
  3. iMJustAGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    iMJustAGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Beach, FL
    #3
    I've not done that specifically (repair) but I did completely reformat it. Isn't that equivilant of repairing? As for the screenshot, I just Google Imaged it, it's not mine :p.
     
  4. iMJustAGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    iMJustAGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Beach, FL
  5. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #5
    I think it could be a hardware error. Check the cables and internal (SATA?) connectors of the external drive and of your Mac! If possible try it with a different cable (same interface)!

    In humid or corrosive environments some copper/whatever contacts develop high resistances. This could be a problem.
     
  6. iMJustAGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    iMJustAGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Beach, FL
    #6
    I'll try it! Thanks!

    Anyone else have any ideas?
     
  7. iMJustAGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    iMJustAGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Beach, FL
    #7
    Unfortunately this did not work. And I tried it a couple of times and it starts to stop at the same file. (Not that that's the only file it does it for). If it was the hardware messing up, would it be the same files that it messes up on? It seems as if it would be random.


    In any event, this did not work. Thanks for trying though. Anyone else? I really REALLY need this to work. Thanks.
     
  8. iMJustAGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    iMJustAGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Beach, FL
    #8
    UPDATE!: I know I've broken the double (tripple :p) post rule about 5 times but I keep discovering/trying new things!

    I partitioned my drive and was just going to copy all my data to the partition and then do a clean install on the Mac HD (partition A) and I get the SAME error message..... WHAT A NIGHTMARE!!!!! I need major help please.
     
  9. gnasher729, Apr 4, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2011

    gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #9
    If you don't have a backup of your computer yet, now would be the time to make one. If it isn't too late. In the developers' documentation it says:

    Code:
      ioErr                         = -36,  /*I/O error (bummers)*/
    One of the hard drives involved is broken or breaking. If a Time Machine backup doesn't work, copy from your home directory whatever you can.
     
  10. iMJustAGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    iMJustAGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Beach, FL
    #10
    Oh perfect. And guess whose one year warranty expired last month? And guess who didn't purchase an extended warranty?

    That would probably explain the entire reason WHY I want to back up all my stuff... all the time (a couple times an hour) everything will just freeze up for 10-30 seconds with the rainbow spinner. My mouse can move but nothing is clickable and there are no hover effects. It does this quite often now and I have no idea why as I keep my computer very clean. This is very depressing news...

    I would LOVE to back it up but that's the issue here, lol. :(

    Also, how does that coding mean that it's a HDD failure. Thanks for your help.
     

Share This Page