Can't install Windows 10 on my nMP.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Amethyst, Sep 22, 2016.

  1. Amethyst macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #1
    Hello MR.

    As I want to play a games (MGSV) on my 2013 quad Mac Pro (D300 + macOS 10.12), I need to install windows 10 in my nmp.
    But as I tried even method I failed.

    1.) By Boot camp assistant, everything go smoothly but at the end windows installer show "windows cannot modify boot configure".
    2) I just try to divide my SSD to 2 partition by disk utility, use Rufus to create windows 10 usb media. An installer failed at disk selection it tell "windows cannot install on MBR volume <- (but my Mac surely GPT)".

    How i can install windows on nmp. please help me.
     
  2. monkeybagel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #2

    Do you mind telling me what a "nmp" is? I am not familiar with that term.
     
  3. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #3
    Trashcan...
     
  4. filmak macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #4
    6,1, greetings from year 2013.
     
  5. rawweb macrumors 6502a

    rawweb

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    #5
    :D

    Yep, to monkeybagel, you'll see a lot of this:

    nMP= New Mac Pro or Nano Mac Pro
    cMP - Classic Mac Pro or Cheese Grater Mac Pro

    Welcome to the Mac Pro forum.
     
  6. orph macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    nmp new mac pro
    cmp clasic mac pro
    can you just use boot camp assistant to install windows instead of doing it manually, worth a try
     
  7. filmak macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #7
    I think he already tried it ?
     
  8. orph macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    he mentions using disc utility to partition his HD instead of using bootcamp assistant to partition the HD which might be the problem that tha partition is not correctly done.
     
  9. filmak macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #9
    Thanks orph, I hope we will have also an explanation from the OP.:)
     
  10. Amethyst thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #10
    Thanks for all reply.

    I have done 2 separately ways.

    First, I've install macOS Sierra -> launch boot camp assistant -> create windows installer partition -> start windows installation -> and end up at "windows cannot modify boot configure".

    Second, I've boot to macOS recovery partition -> delete all partition -> create single Macintosh HD -> reinstall clean macOS Sierra -> Divide my SSD to 2 partition by diskutility -> use Rufus to create windows 10 usb media -> start windows installation -> An installer failed at disk selection it tell "windows cannot install on MBR volume <- (but my Mac surely GPT)".

    Now I cannot install windows 10 in my Mac T_T.
     
  11. monkeybagel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #11
    It sounds like you will need to delete the Hybrid MBR that Windows is seeing.
     
  12. Amethyst thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #12
    How I can remove it?

    Can I just use windows installer dvd and remove all available partition?
     
  13. Synchro3, Sep 25, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2016

    Synchro3 macrumors 68000

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #13
    Boot OS X from an external USB drive

    In terminal: diskutil list

    Now you see all all disks and all partitions. Check the dev/disk number you want to erase.

    Erase volumes, example: diskutil eraseVolume HFS+ Blank /dev/disk0s1
     
  14. flyinmac macrumors 68040

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #14
    I devised a method immediately around the launch of Windows 10 to get around all boot camp issues.

    My method was originally meant to get Windows 10 on unsupported machines. But in reality, it should work on any Intel Mac. Even newer ones such as yours.

    Take a look at the tutorial I wrote here:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads...otloaders-or-efi-hacks.1905564/#post-21670237
     
  15. monkeybagel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #15
    Do you want to clear the entire drive and erase all of the data? If so, you could do that. I would recommend booting into Internet Recovery (Cmd+Option+R) and erase the disk in Disk Utility from there. Do you intend on installing OS X and Windows 10, or only Windows 10?

    If you are comfortable in Terminal, use gdisk to remove the hybrid partition:

    https://sourceforge.net/projects/gptfdisk/
     
  16. Amethyst thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #16
    Now all I have is this.

    Code:
    /dev/disk0 (internal, physical):
       #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
       0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *251.0 GB   disk0
       1:                        EFI EFI                     209.7 MB   disk0s1
       2:                  Apple_HFS Macintosh HD            250.1 GB   disk0s2
       3:                 Apple_Boot Recovery HD             650.0 MB   disk0s3
    How can I check if I have hybrid MBR partition?
     
  17. monkeybagel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #17
    If you run sudo gdisk /dev/disk0 it should tell you.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 25, 2016 ---
    Where do these acronyms come from? It seems they only appear on this site's forums.
     
  18. Amethyst thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #18
    Thanks for reply is this means hybrid MBR?

    Code:
    Partition table scan:
      MBR: protective
      BSD: not present
      APM: not present
      GPT: present
    
    Found valid GPT with protective MBR; using GPT.
     
  19. filmak macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #19
    nMP™
    cMP™

    © Mac Pro forum
    ® MacRumors ->Forums -> Macs-> Desktops->Mac Pro
    :)
     
  20. shaunp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    #20
    I've had the same issue with boot camp on a couple of different macs, a nMP and a rMBP. The issue was boot camp wasn't creating the windows partition correctly. When you are in the windows setup wizard, there's a part where you can modify the windows partitions - just reformat the partition boot camp has set aside for Windows.
     

Share This Page