Can't partition hard drive with bootcamp??

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by chocolate632, May 14, 2009.

  1. chocolate632 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I had windows in a bootcamp partition for a while, and today, i decided to erase the partition and make a new, bigger one. I erased it just fine, but I can't make another one, it just gives me this error: Verification failed: this disk could not be partitioned. Use disk utility to repair this disk.

    I went to disk utility and i clicked verify disk (repair disk was not highlighted) and it gave me another error: filesystem verify or repair failed. I also repaired disk permissions with no such luck. Any help?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #2
    Try running Disk Utility off your OS Install (or recovery) DVD, then do the repair.

    Also, I was wondering if you had used Boot Camp Assistant to remove the partition or Disk Utility?
     
  3. chocolate632 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #3
    Yeah i used boot camp assistant. I thought i would somehow screw it up if i used disk utility.

    I will try running it off the OS disk
     
  4. chocolate632 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
  5. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #5
    Ah :)

    Hold down the "c" on startup (or, use "opt" and choose which boot volume).

    After choosing the language (you'll now be in the Installer), you can go to the menu bar and select Disk Utility. It will quit the Installer and run Disk Utility.

    I also use "opt" to choose Windows, so I don't have to remember to reset Startup Disk. Just a suggestion.
     
  6. AlecJenx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #6
    I'm having the same problem.
    But I can't seem to find my original disk. Hooray for being unorganized. :/
     
  7. chocolate632 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #7
    I repaired it via the disk (I am organized:D) but now its giving me this message. Does this mean i have to reinstall Leopard? cuz i really don't have time for that.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #8
    I believe it's because the partition has files in the area which needs to be freed up for the new partition. To do the partition on-the-fly, there needs to be contiguous free space in that part of the drive. Try moving some files to another drive. If you have iPartition, it can consolidate your files to create the contiguous free space.

    If you do need to reinitialize the drive, you can first restore to either an image file or another partition [on another drive], then restore back to your internal drive. You don't necessarily need to reinstall Leopard.
     
  9. TJTom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    #9
    I'm having the same problem at the moment, I backed up my files on a removable USB Harddrive, can I restore from there as well? Or just CD's/DVD's?
     
  10. chocolate632 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #10
    Ok i got iPartition, what exactly do i do now?
     
  11. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #11
    Brain fart - I typed "iPartition", but was thinking "iDefrag" - I have both and they're both made by Coriolis. In any even, iPartition is a great tool to have in your arsenal. With iPartition, you can resize Windows partitions, without erasing anything.

    I'm guessing you're now trying to make the larger BC partition (than what you started with - your original task). I haven't found whether iPartition can substitute for the BC Assistant in creating the original partition, or not, so try this: create a small BC partition using the Assistant, then use iPartition to resize it. It should take care of moving any files which are "in the way".

    For iDefrag, the "Compact" preset should do it. It does a defrag, then compacts them to create the contiguous free space needed.
     
  12. chocolate632 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #12
    Does anybody know how to make a bootable cd of iDefrag without using the CDmaker that comes with it?
     
  13. bearbear macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
  14. bov macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #14
    [​IMG]

    i'm getting this message as well whenever i try to use Bootcamp Assistant

    i just installed a new hard drive into my MBP, and from what i understood i need to make a partition now and use the Winclone image to restore, but i can't create a new partition. :confused:

    Can i use Disk Utility to create a partition, then use the Winclone image to restore?
     
  15. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #15
    Techtool Pro 4.6.2 and Diskwarrior 4.1.1 bootable media can also defrag the OSX volume.
     
  16. bov macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #16
    so i need to defrag the OSX Volume before i can create a partition???
     
  17. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #17
    The files on your HD should not be fragmented themselves (OS X does this automatically) but they are scattered around the HD and Bootcamp needs continuous free space. Drive Genius did nothing to help me with this and I found the easiest way was to wipe the HD, reinstall the OS and restore my apps from Time Machine. Make sure no apps are running when trying to partition and make sure any anti-virus is turned off. Clam Xav was stopping it from working until I killed it.
     
  18. bov macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #18
    is there any free software that can defrag my OSX Volume?

    or any other solution to me creating a paritition??
     

Share This Page