Cant restore iPhone baseband, help please :/

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by iDiogo, Feb 11, 2012.

  1. iDiogo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    #1
    I restored my iphone to version 5.0.1, after that I tried to unlock it by installing the iPad baseband ...my iphone crashed and I restored again, and at the end of the restoration iTunes gave an error (-1), I turn it on and it asked to choose the language, then the country, and asked to activate the service location I chose yes, and after that he asked to connect to itunes, I connect it and he turned off automatically
    wireless and bluetooth does not work, and does not detect SIM card
    after i jailbreak it to skip activation,i open settings to see what was the firmware, and he havent firmware.

    is that fixable? i need help :(
     
  2. DerekRod macrumors 6502a

    DerekRod

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Location:
    NY
    #2
    if the iPad baseband is installed your ****ED youll need to create a custom firmware,NEVER install the iPad baseband unless you know what it means and what it can do you can never update with stock firmware and your GPS will be very buggy if it works at all,if you need any help pm me
     
  3. iDiogo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    #3
    ok, thanks! :) i will try with a custom ipsw, if i need your help i pm you...
     
  4. iDiogo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    #4
    okay it doesnt work , error at the end of the installation :(
     
  5. miragebg macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #5
    Not much you can do more..
    You have bricked your phone.
     
  6. iDiogo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    #6
    so its over? is not fixable? :X
     
  7. miragebg macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #7
    In your case as far as I know- no..., sorry...
     
  8. iDiogo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    #8
    is a new botroom? that can help?
     
  9. miragebg macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #9
    The bootrom is locked, you cannot change it.

    It is the most known way of bricking your phone- update to 5.0.1 and flashing 6.15 baseband. This screws the phone very bad.
     
  10. iDiogo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    #10
    help me please, i cant lost my iphone :(
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    Its done, you should have never tried installing the ipad bb.
    Sounds like its a newer 3GS that the updated the baseband and dont allow the installation of the ipad bb.
    You fried the radios.
     
  12. saud0488 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    #12
    I've done dozens of these and I've only ever bricked like two. this was mostly cause I used the wrong version of redsnow. Stupid, I know. If it's one of the newer ones and the iPad bb was never there even though you tried flashing, simply put it in DFU mode and do a regular restore from itunes.

    Also, if it is a newer 3gs, take it back to the apple store and they will replace it. Just DON'T say that you tried flashing the baseband.
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    Yeah if it was that easy.
    They know at the Apple store when they plug it in for diagnostics and won't replace it for free.
    Worth a try though.
     
  14. In Like Flynn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    #14

    She's gone, u killed her, may she rest in peace :eek:
    Please be more careful with your next phone, there's plenty of info on this site to get things done right, and NOT brick ur next phone.
     
  15. saud0488 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    #15
    It is that easy. I've done it twice to those two phones I accidentally bricked and once for a friend. Just make something up on how it got to that state. Their diagnostics only tells them stuff like call times and how many calls are dropped. Also battery info, and some other stuff. If there's no functioning OS on there, there is no way for them to get the diagnostics. Heck, they can't even see the serial number and they have to read it off the SIM tray.
     
  16. hackthatphone macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #16
    In the past knuckleheads would put the phone in the microwave/oven. If it doesn't turn on you can't diagnose it right?
     
  17. Jordan921 macrumors 68040

    Jordan921

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #17
    Don't think there's anything else you can do to bring it back to life
     
  18. Tokes Green macrumors regular

    Tokes Green

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Location:
    Here, there, and everywhere.
    #18
    I have heard of that, bit overkill though isn't it! Surely you could just short the charging point?
    Not that I agree with it, but I guess if there is no other option.

    At least OP will know for next time - research, research, then research some more!
     
  19. ninjaw95 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    #19
    its not bricked, worse comes to worse the BB is ****ed up
     
  20. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #20
    What if it does turn on but theres no wifi, BT or baseband info.
    They will know unless it cannot turn on at all but that's not the case with the OP at the moment.
     
  21. DerekRod macrumors 6502a

    DerekRod

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Location:
    NY
    #21
    That phone is bricked best try the apple store you may get lucky
     
  22. iDiogo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    #22
  23. In Like Flynn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    #23
    The OP could remove the back cover in 10 secs, and then unplug the battery lead, (that would keep it from coming on)
     
  24. saud0488 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    #24
    Easy, in this case you just do a restore to the current firmware. When you do this you'll just get the restore loop and the only way it'll function is if you restore to 4.1. You take it to the Apple store, put on your best sad face, and let them try to restore, which it won't. At this point they decide to give you a replacement if it's under warranty.
     
  25. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #25
    Good to know how to pull it off I guess:D
     

Share This Page