Can't the iPhone 4 handle a voice call AND a data connection at the same time?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Dino F, Jul 1, 2011.

  1. Dino F macrumors 68000

    Dino F

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Croydon, South London, UK
    #1
    Today, I was slightly dumb founded?!?? :S

    I have an iPhone 4 on the O2 network and was making a phone call today.

    At the same time, I had to keep a web page open and viewable on screen(so that I could refer to an order number for some flowers!).

    However, once the web page was displayed and the phone call actually connected, my iPhone showed up a message displaying 'data connections not possible whilst making this call' (it was an 0845 number - if that makes any difference?!)

    If you check out the screen shot - you'll notice that I have the phone call active but NO data connection??!

    I thought the iPhone 4 COULD do both of these at the same time?? Or am I missing something?!

    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     

    Attached Files:

  2. cookiesnfooty macrumors 6502

    cookiesnfooty

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Location:
    Harrogate
    #2

    The Iphone 4 can do, how it works though is you must be able to use 3G as 2G can not handle voice and data I believe.

    I have no problems doing both.
     
  3. Merthyrboy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #3
    If it was on an edge network then it can't do voice and data at the same time but on 3G it can handle it. To my experience anyway.
     
  4. mark34 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    #4
    Works with AT&T, no problem.

    Doesn't work with Verizon model. Weak.

    Is O2 GSM? Should work then.

    Of course, assuming you are using 3G network.
     
  5. Moe UK macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #5
    You have to have a 3G or wifi connection to do voice and data at the sometime. If you have a GPRS or edge connection you can't do both.
     
  6. dwguertin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_8 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8E401 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I have never heard of the 02 network.

    If it is a Verizon phone it works only when in wifi mode.
     
  7. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #7
    It looks like you were using "Edge" since the "edge" indicator always goes away during a call.
     
  8. rikscha macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    o2 UK obviously it is not a verizon phone. This kind of 90's technology is more or less a US exclusive.
    You should be able to do both as long as you are on 3G.
     
  9. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #9
    Actually, CDMA is newer technology than GSM.
     
  10. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #10
    Pssssst.......there are other networks outside the U.S. :)
     
  11. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #11
    o2 is a 3Gnetwork, but if you're not on 3G, then you won't get data and voice.
     
  12. pyro008 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    #12
    You might want to do some reading. http://www.engadget.com/2011/07/01/gsm-turns-20-today-still-rocking-the-world/
     
  13. robo74 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Location:
    Near Chicago
    #13
    All fixed up.
     
  14. gngan macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #14
    i am having the same problem with my 3GS. My phone has 3G signal and when someone calls and i pick up the phone then it will lose the 3G signal. It has been like this for a year. If i use hands free to answer calls then the 3G signal will be there.

    There are other places other than US in this world. No offense but it always Americans. lol
     
  15. Certinfy macrumors 6502a

    Certinfy

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #15
    The funny thing is that even in the attached picture it says "O2-UK" :rolleyes:
     
  16. BigDukeSix macrumors 6502a

    BigDukeSix

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Location:
    34.6700N 118.1590W
    #16
    It all depends on your carrier, at least here in the USA
    VZ doesn't, ATT does. I have no idea how it works with any other carriers that support the IPhone.
    I did notice the UK on the upper left corner of your screen.
     
  17. nateo200 macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #17
    Don't spit out garbage.

    There are other places besides the US.
     
  18. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #18
    VZW: CDMA

    CDMA ≠ simultaneous voice and data
    GSM = simultaneous voice and data

    VZW = only carrier to have the CDMA iPhone.

    So .... that's a limitation only by VZW.
     
  19. WelshBluebird macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    I am guessing you are on O2's GPRS or EDGE network.
    You can only do voice and data at the same time if you are on a 3G network.
     
  20. nateo200 macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #20
    Fixed;)

    GSM = Raw GSM, GPRS(General Packet Radio Service), and EDGE (Also known as EGPRS)

    UMTS = 3G Evolution path of GSM. It is the basic base of HSPA services and using the term UMTS more correctly refers to 3G technology in relation to GSM although HSPA is becoming a more common term.
     
  21. macsrcool1234 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    #21
    It's amazing how stupid the average GSM user is. Every one of them has put out incorrect information only to be set straight by another Verizon user.
     
  22. nateo200 macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #22
    Its not just Verizon users making corrections or AT&T users being "stupid" so lets not make too many generalizations :) My main point is there is so much misinformation about the technology behind the devices. You don't need to understand the encoding scheme's of the CDMA2000 air interface but I mean don't post crap unless your sure. Me I know a good amount about the tech because its cool others may not and that's fine, but don't post without research and valid info. If I ever doubt something ill put a "(?)" after it or say "Someone help me out here I might be wrong..." and thats it. Not everyone needs to be "a genius" but my concern is someone will do a search on here and find a post with the wrong data and won't properly learn something.
     
  23. Fernandez21 macrumors 68040

    Fernandez21

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #23
    ...out...side?...the us? There is an outside you say?
     
  24. nateo200 macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #24
    [​IMG]

    Haha
     
  25. Squid7085 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #25
    Sometimes I am really ashamed to call myself an American...
     

Share This Page