cantonese input on mac os x

calt

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 20, 2006
8
0
Hi there,

Appealing to all Asian text input users here on this forum!

I can type TradChin via Chanjie or pinyin and Japanese via Kotoeri, but is there a quick way to type TradChin characters using HK Cantonese input? aka jyutpin?

Cheers
 

bousozoku

Moderator emeritus
Jun 25, 2002
13,973
3
Gone but not forgotten.
I'm unaware of any further input methods ever being available as plug-ins but anything is possible. Still, I can't remember anyone asking for that one, either, until now.
 

calt

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 20, 2006
8
0
thanks mate! you're a lifesaver!

btw how do i install it though? i only have limited knowledge of chinese (i happened to know more japanese since ive studied it for 6 years even though im an aussie honky... :O)

cheerio
 

After G

macrumors 68000
Aug 27, 2003
1,583
1
California
Not knowing any Chinese, it was actually pretty easy to do.

1) Activate the Input Menu for Traditional Chinese.
2) Pick the "Pinyin" option in the input menu.
3) Now, click the menu again and pick "Generate IM plugin"
4) Find the "CantonIM" file you downloaded previously.
5) Presto! You get a new menu option.

Screenshots of the option to pick (step 3) and results are included. I would like to hear how well this actually works though, as one of my friends is Cantonese and I would like to convert her to using a Mac, and she said she wanted this kind of input method.
 

Attachments

calt

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 20, 2006
8
0
omg! thank you so muuch!

I love the mac community...so much more friendly than any other computer user groups there are!
 

dlj

macrumors newbie
Apr 15, 2007
1
0
Can someone help me? It doesn't seem to work on OSX 10.4 .. although the site says the file is for 10.4, but I can't seem to get it to work, does anyone know why?
 

frankymacrumors

macrumors newbie
Jan 2, 2008
2
0
How about Leopard?

The new Leopard changed the entire menu. It has shown "Plug in input Method Help" instead. In the help menu, it shows you how to create your own method. Seems like the old Unix Executable file only works with the Tiger. Anyone has any input?
 

Tiffany0509

macrumors newbie
Jan 18, 2008
4
0
Hello!

I am just wondering, how can i download a cantonese typing software? I am using mac book pro and it is 10.5.1.. Btw, i know so little about computers that i dont even know what to do... anyways, thanks!

Tiffany
 

hongkonger255

macrumors newbie
Aug 28, 2008
1
0
problems

hi,

i've just installed it but alot of it doesn't work, for instance, i try writing hong kong: heung香. Then i write gawng, press enter and it dis-appeares, same with loads of others. Is it something to do with the way i might of installed it. Does anyone know,

thank you:)
 

wunkei

macrumors newbie
Sep 6, 2008
2
0

this is my screenshot. how come i cant find the "generate IM plugin" option on my mac? im super new to mac please help :D
 

cutiefishball

macrumors newbie
Oct 3, 2008
1
0

this is my screenshot. how come i cant find the "generate IM plugin" option on my mac? im super new to mac please help :D
I also have the same issue I do not have "generate IM plugin" as well and the exact some choices as wunkei does.

I really want o get this Cantonese input working on my mac and I am fairly new to this... anyone can help me out with this?:apple:
 

Mercurox

macrumors newbie
Nov 8, 2008
12
0
I have the new Leopard too and there is no "generate input" option but I did a search on Mac Help, it outlined how to install additional input method:
1. change the extension of the Cantonese file downloaded (or any program you wrote) to ".inputplugin"

[Note:after I have unzipped the downloaded zip file, it shows up a collection of files but they were icon, read me first etc, I only chose and change the file extension of the application file to install, not sure if I need to install other as well]​

2. drop it in "library"/"input method"
3. activate "international" and tick the "Cantonese" box
4. log out and log in again
then you will see Cantonese(or the USA) flag on the top menu bar.

So far so good, but the problem I have is, I still couldn't input in Cantonese, I typed in say "hong", it was underlined, but when I typed the next word, it disappeared, no Chinese character came up at all. Whereas, if I choose "pinyin" option (Mandarin input), Chinese characters option would come up.

So I don't know which part of my procedure is wrong, or the CM.zip downloaded is not compatible with OS X10.5 as it was written in 2005 for Tiger.
 

Mercurox

macrumors newbie
Nov 8, 2008
12
0
Thanks for the tip Frankymacrumour but sadly, it still wouldn't work.

What is more, now I have lost the options of "pinyin" and other Chinese inputs as well!

Since my last post, I discovered the "pinyin" method that worked was under "traditional chinese" (in system preference/input method window) whereas "cantonese" is in another area under "unicode".

I had also noticed that apart from the "Library" there was also another "Library" under "system/input" which contained a few .app, so I thought may be that's where the "cm.inputplugin" should go, so I pasted cm.inputplugin in there. After logging out and back in, then went to "international/input method", I discovered that all the traditional Chinese : pinyin etc had gone, only Cantonese is available and still as a unicode. Now I can only see Cantonese in the menu but no pinyin!

So I have deleted the cm.inputplugin in the system/library/input method folder and just leave cm.inputplugin in library/input method but it still wouldn't work. What should I do? Any suggestions would be much appreciated.
 

Mercurox

macrumors newbie
Nov 8, 2008
12
0
Just an update.

I have since then use Mac's original installation disc to reinstall the applications and got the Chinese Pinyin input back (together with whole lot of other languages that I don't want to install, have to find out how to get rid of them to free up some HD space). So the simplified Chinese input is working.

I have also downloaded a open source software called Vanilla Leopard which seems to be slightly more sophisticated than that which came with the Mac, have to explore further but again it has only got simplified Chinese input so I am still no where near the original goal of doing Cantonese input! grrrrrh
 

Mercurox

macrumors newbie
Nov 8, 2008
12
0
Cantonese input to Leopard - Success Finally!

Thanks to "tech.sunnyhk.com", I can now finally input Cantonese in Mac OSX Leopard. Just go to the blog, follow the download link "MacOSX Cantonese Input" to get "CT1121.inputplugin" and paste it into ~Library/inputmethod, then choose it from System Preference/input method.

I haven't tried out any other functionalities of the program and if there are bugs, so download at your own discretion. Any questions please refer to:http://tech.sunnyhk.com/technoblog/

Good luck
 

stuc

macrumors newbie
Apr 21, 2009
1
0
Thanks to "tech.sunnyhk.com", I can now finally input Cantonese in Mac OSX Leopard. Just go to the blog, follow the download link "MacOSX Cantonese Input" to get "CT1121.inputplugin" and paste it into ~Library/inputmethod, then choose it from System Preference/input method.

I haven't tried out any other functionalities of the program and if there are bugs, so download at your own discretion. Any questions please refer to:http://tech.sunnyhk.com/technoblog/

Good luck
Hi Mercurox, would you be able to share the file "CT1121.inputplugin". I went to http://tech.sunnyhk.com/technoblog/ but the download link is dead. Please!!!

Thanks in advance.
 

Mercurox

macrumors newbie
Nov 8, 2008
12
0
Cantonese input to Leopard - Success Finally!

Hi Stuc,

Attached file as requested. After you downloaded it, you need to rename the file by deleting the file extension ".txt", the correct/working file name is just "ct1121.inputplugin".

I have been using this input method for a while, it is ok but the vocabulary is not adequate and the input is a bit slow.

At the moment I am using NJStar Pen and NJStar WP in Window mode (Boot Camp) it is a lot quicker but if there is a programme written/designed for Mac that would be better...I think Pen Power might have come out with something for Mac but I just don't want to buy another tablet.

Also someone had written a programme called Finger which is free to download designed to be used on iPod Touch, utilising its handwriting recognition capability and transmit the input to your Mac by wi-fi.

Hope some of these input methods would work for you.

Cheers,
Merc
 

Attachments

frankiechan1

macrumors member
Aug 20, 2008
93
0
can someone do a detail/screenshot instructions of how to install iti? im on mac x .5 n it doesnt haf generate inpiut method how ever the stuff that ppl mentioned above dont seem to work
 

waylandchin

macrumors newbie
Nov 17, 2009
3
0
It works!

can someone do a detail/screenshot instructions of how to install iti? im on mac x .5 n it doesnt haf generate inpiut method how ever the stuff that ppl mentioned above dont seem to work
1. Download the file that Mercurox posted.
2. Rename file to ct1121.inputplugin
3. Copy file to Macintosh HD > Library > Input Methods
4. Go to System Preferences > Language & Text > Input Sources
5. Scroll all the way to the bottom - That's where it is.
6. Check the box
7. Also check the box that says "Show Input Menu in menu bar"
8. Open Stickies
9. Click on the U.S. Flag on your Menu Bar - You should see the list of Input Methods
10. Select your new Input Method
11. Start typing!
 

Norman King

macrumors newbie
Feb 12, 2010
4
0
no, it still does not work for me :-(

Just tried the method but the file does not show in the input method folder.

Can someone help ?
My OS version is 10.6.2

Thx

NK
 

sunnyhk

macrumors newbie
Mar 2, 2010
6
0
Hi, I'm the author of the IME plugin for Leopard.
Thanks for using the plugin I created and I hope you enjoyed it.
I apologies for the dead link of the plugin in my blog as I didn't update it afterward as I never think that there are people really need it out there.
So now I've just updated the link and everyone could download it again.
By the way, I did found some glitches in the plugin so I've fixed it year ago(but I didn't release it). Now the one available in my blog is the latest 1.1.4 which includes a more complete char set.
Installation is the same (for Leopard and SL), rename it to ct114.inputplugin and put into /Library/Input Methods
Then open Preferences->Language & Text->Input Sources, and you'll find the newly added canontese input.
Comments are welcome.
Enjoy~:cool:
 

Similar threads

Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.