iPad Catch 22 for newbie

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Gordon Bennett, Oct 10, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Gordon Bennett macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2017
    #1
    Hi

    I've just received my iPad Pro and I'm being presented with a screen asking me to put in my Apple ID. I've done that after setting it up through my laptop. The problem of course is because my iPad is not on line there's no way for the verification to take place. I can't see how to get online first before putting in my details as all I'm presented with on booting up is that particular login form. Any ideas would be welcome.
     
  2. Mr_Brightside_@ macrumors 68030

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
  3. Gordon Bennett thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2017
    #3
    That's it - There's no 'skip' choice.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Mlrollin91 macrumors G5

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #4
    If you keep going back, it should ask you to set up WiFi. Its usually the first thing after selecting language.
     
  5. bopajuice Suspended

    bopajuice

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Location:
    Dark side of the moon
    #5
    Don't suggest posting pictures of your Apple ID online.
     
  6. Gordon Bennett thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2017
    #6
    You're probably right.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 10, 2017 ---
    I'll give that a try. Thanks.
     
  7. Mr_Brightside_@ macrumors 68030

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #7
    If you select either Don't have or Use different - can't remember which - you SHOULD be able to skip it.
     
  8. Gordon Bennett thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2017
    #8
    I did that and now I have this window (see screenshot) - I was hoping to tether the iPad to my Galaxy Note phone which apparently is possible but I'm not sure how it's done from this window. I suppose the alternative to this is to find somewhere with wi-fi. What do you think? Thanks btw for your help.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Newtons Apple macrumors Core

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #9
    Yep, setting up the WiFi is right after language, without I am not sure if you can get you iPad set up.
     
  10. Gordon Bennett thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2017
    #10
    It just has 'Choose another Network' which gives you the page shown in the screenshot. I think I'm going to be out of luck trying to tether to my phone at this stage, therefore I think I might wait until tomorrow and look for a wi-fi hotspot.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 10, 2017 ---
    Yep, found it. I was just hoping I'd be able to tether the iPad to my android phone from that page but I don't think it's possible therefore I might have to wait until I find a wi-fi hotspot tomorrow. Thanks anyway.
     
  11. Mr_Brightside_@ macrumors 68030

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
  12. Gordon Bennett thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2017
    #12
    There's no 'skip' option on the enter ID page, you have to go back a few pages to set up a network which I did but I couldn't figure out how to tether the iPad to my Galaxy phone so have decided to look for a wi-fi hotspot tomorrow.
     
  13. masotime macrumors 68020

    masotime

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #13
    You can't just tap "Next" and ignore the Apple ID login? Interesting....
     
  14. Gordon Bennett thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2017
    #14
    I went back to the beginning of the setup procedure and have now found my way to the desktop which means of course I can get into Settings which should house an option to tether the machine to my phone. Thanks for the brain nudge ;)
     
  15. Gordon Bennett thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2017
    #15
    Success! I managed to tether it to my Samsung phone. Thanks to everyone who took the trouble to help - much appreciated.
     
  16. bopajuice Suspended

    bopajuice

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Location:
    Dark side of the moon
    #16
    I have never seen anyone have so much trouble setting up a device. I think your motive has been concealed. Why in the world would you want to tether to another Samsung device?
     
  17. Gordon Bennett thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2017
    #17
    This was quite straight forward compared with my other adventures in the land of tech gadgetry. Usually I have to admit defeat and sell whatever I'd bought on Ebay. o_O The fact I've got this running within a few hours is cause for celebration tbh.

    You appear a bit perturbed that I would want to tether an iPad to a Samsung phone. What do you think I should do then? I'm open to suggestion. I thought it was the best idea as my android phone is already online and works well. And apart from that I've been tethering my laptop to it quite successfully for a few months now without any hiccups.
     

Share This Page

16 October 10, 2017