Changing the CPU in a MacPro ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by CHSeifert, Apr 11, 2011.

1. CHSeifert, Apr 11, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 24, 2011

CHSeifert macrumors 6502

CHSeifert

Hey,

I'm an experienced PC builder looking to buy some iMac's but thought about getting a cheapish MacPro and then just upgrade the CPU, ram and SSD drives myself - but what is allowed to upgrade in the MacPro and what is not ?

Can I just upgrade the CPU - remove the old thermal adhesive put on some new Arctic Silver 5 and then the CPU and everything is ok or what ?

What about the logic board / motherboard - can that be exchanged too without voiding Apples guarantee ?

2. philipma1957 macrumors 603

philipma1957

the thread below covers the lowest priced 2010 mac pro

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1122551&highlight=

feel free to read it.. my machine now has;

a Intel w3670 hex 3.2 cpu

32gb ram

and on the 13th of this month i am getting an intel 300gb ssd.

with careful shopping in the usa this upgraded machine was under 4000 usd.

for the machine -------------------------------2300

the cpu after sale of the oem cpu------------400

ssd--------------------------------------------- 500

32gb ram--------------------------------------- 600

total --------------------------------------------3800 oh I have a better graphics card so add 200 more 4000

3. alust2013 macrumors 601

alust2013

It can be done, but not without voiding the warranty.

4. CHSeifert, Apr 11, 2011

CHSeifert thread starter macrumors 6502

CHSeifert

Interesting reading indeed.

But if I buy a MacPro now - it has to be able to serve my needs for the next 3 years time. Can't afford to get a new one sooner than that :)

I will save up for a CRAZY 3 ACD 27 setup. I do graphical work, web designing (just starting again after 8 years in the dark) and some photo shooting. No video shooting or video editing at all.

My favorite programs are:

Photoshop
    Fireworks
    Lightroom