Cheap PPC for File Server?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by OpTic Jayex, Oct 20, 2013.

  1. OpTic Jayex macrumors regular

    OpTic Jayex

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Location:
    Broken Arrow
    #1
    I'm interested in getting like another G5 along side my iMac. I want to use it as a file server. I have tons of files and would like to save all of it onto that server so I don't have to save all of it to external hdd's and my SSD. Any thoughts?
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Do you really want the G5 to be a file server? They don't make the best file servers. They're hot, have limited internal storage, and use lots of energy at idle. How about a low end G4 PowerMac?
     
  3. CptSky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    #3
    May I ask why a Mac as a file server ? A NAS would be way better and is designed for this use... Personally, I have used a Netgear NAS, but Synology is popular too.
     
  4. OpTic Jayex thread starter macrumors regular

    OpTic Jayex

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Location:
    Broken Arrow
  5. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    How much what?
     
  6. mentaluproar macrumors 68000

    mentaluproar

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #6
    I use a synology box. My advice is to build a freeNAS box unless you like AFP a lot.
     
  7. westrock2000 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    #7
    You can run maczfs on it if you install 10.5 Snow Leopard. That's a good start to file server. The downside is that the PowerMac was limited to 2 SATA drives natively. So you will have to invest in a SATA expansion card (not hard) and also mount the additional drives (harder).

    The big downside is that you will be severely limited to what can run on the PPC. The universal binaries thing did not pan out a whole lot and most companies went to Intel only. iTunes stopped supporting PPC at <iTunes version> 10.6.

    For ~$100 more you can find a 2006 Mac Pro, which will also suffer from not being supported officially by Apple anymore, but at least it still runs modern software and uses modern hardware. Not to mention it still has good processing strength.

    You can do it, just understand the many limitations you will run into. Apple pretty much abandoned us PPC users when they switched to Intel.
     
  8. wobegong Guest

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    #8
    Get a NAS box, I use a Dlink ShareCenter (DNS-320L) and it works great, is silent and uses little power.
     
  9. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #9
    Or you could buy/build a cheap mini PC (on a basis of Atom or similar CPU) and put FreeNAS on it.
     
  10. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
  11. tampasteve macrumors 6502

    #11
    If it were me and I wanted to stay in the Apple universe I would probably go with a Mac mini G4 using firewire external drives to raise the capacity for storage. The mac mini is way smaller, runs cooler and cheaper, and will fit nicely into your setup. Or, if you want to go cheap the PowerMac G4 will be your better option as they can be had rather inexpensively now. PowerMac G5 is expensive to run for a file server and will run hot, for this application a G4 would be better, IMO.
     
  12. OpTic Jayex thread starter macrumors regular

    OpTic Jayex

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Location:
    Broken Arrow
    #12
    How about an iMac G4? Never owned one, Love the design.
     
  13. tampasteve macrumors 6502

    #13
    Sure, it would do the job fine. The only issue is the space it takes, and the cost. They usually are more expensive than the PowerMac G4 or some mac mini G4. Space to power to use the Mac mini G4 is the best bet for this use, IMO.

    But if you love the iMac G4 for the design then this is a decent reason to keep one around. :)
     
  14. OpTic Jayex thread starter macrumors regular

    OpTic Jayex

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Location:
    Broken Arrow
    #14
    Alright. I'd love to get a Cinema Display for the Mac Mini G4. They are expensive! There like at least 100 bucks for JUST the Display. I was thinking about getting a cheap PM G4 with an ADC port, and getting a cheap used Apple LCd display. Never owned one and would love to have an Apple Monitor. Thoughts?
     
  15. OpTic Jayex thread starter macrumors regular

    OpTic Jayex

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Location:
    Broken Arrow
    #15
    Alright. I'd love to get a Cinema Display for the Mac Mini G4. They are expensive! There like at least 100 bucks for JUST the Display. I was thinking about getting a cheap PM G4 with an ADC port, and getting a cheap used Apple LCd display. Never owned one and would love to have an Apple Monitor. Thoughts?:D
     
  16. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #16
    A G4 iMac would work, but you'd be limited to two internal drives and 100Mbit Ethernet. Same with the Mac Mini, two drives and 100Mbit. For a cheap PowerMac, you'd want between the Gigabit Ethernet model and a Quicksilver. The MDD's could be used, but they go for slightly more. You can put many drives into any of those with some SATA cards. For a cheap screen, look into the 15" or 17" Studio displays. While small and old, the 17" still has a nice picture at a resolution that isn't too bad for the modern era. Both of those sizes can be found much more cheaply than the 20+ models.
     
  17. OpTic Jayex thread starter macrumors regular

    OpTic Jayex

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Location:
    Broken Arrow
    #17
    What about Airport Cards? I can share my connection from my iMac to the Powermac via ethernet. What is the best model for me? ow should i set it up once i receive it?
     
  18. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #18
    All PowerMac G4's, except the FireWire 800 MDD, use the older Airport B card. You can put in a newer WiFi PCI card to allow it to use G and N.
     
  19. OpTic Jayex thread starter macrumors regular

    OpTic Jayex

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Location:
    Broken Arrow
    #19
    I found one...

    Alright, I found a solution. My sister still has her old eMac. It has a 1.25 ghz processor and only 512 mb or ram with Leopard on it. Still works but puts off a lot of heat. I can use this as my server because I have several external HD's I can plug into it. do I need Leopard or Tiger Server on it? Can I just use Leopard on it and configure it to be my server?
     
  20. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #20
    An eMac would work. They're limited to two internal drives, are loud, and generate quite a bit of heat with the CRT on. You can use regular Tiger or Leopard to share files with. Mac OS X Server would run on that machine, but I would advise upgrading its ram to the maximum before doing so. I also suggest not using the server edition unless you have a reason to use it.
     
  21. OpTic Jayex thread starter macrumors regular

    OpTic Jayex

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Location:
    Broken Arrow
    #21
    Ok. How do i set it up? What settings?
     
  22. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #22
    Basically plug in the drives and check the file sharing boxes in the Sharing pref pane.
     
  23. OpTic Jayex thread starter macrumors regular

    OpTic Jayex

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Location:
    Broken Arrow
    #23
    That's it? Dang, I thought it would be complicated. Cool! Thanks so much! I just don't want all my external drives connected to my iMac. I'm upgrading to Mavericks as we speak. Can't wait! How do I setup the computer so my iMac will recognize it as a server?
     
  24. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #24
    As long as the eMac is connected to the same network and has file sharing turned on, it'll show up in the iMac's sidebar and you'll be able to connect to it.
     
  25. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #25
    You don't want to do that. The NIC is on the USB bus, combined with the armv6 CPU makes transfers stupidly slow. I get speeds of 1.3 megabytes/s over SCP to an EXT4 USB stick.
     

Share This Page