Cheapest option Mac for Web and ios Development needs

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by dafodeu, Mar 23, 2016.

Tags:
  1. dafodeu macrumors newbie

I'm a Web Developer who has always used Windows until my last freelance Job where I was provided an iMac 27 inch at the company's office for a month. I now prefer to do development on a Mac and would also like the option of doing ios apps.

So I need a Mac that can run photoshop, dreamweaver ect and be fast enough to multitask. What would be the cheapest option for a Mac laptop or Desktop that can accomplish this? If it is a laptop I would want it to be capable of hooking up external monitor (1440p) and mouse and keyboard so it has to be powerful enough for that. I also would want whatever I buy to last at least 4 years.

2. Starfia macrumors 6502

Starfia

dafodeu,

If you don't need to do anything on the processor-demand level of audio or video editing (and even if you did), you could go at least a couple of years into the past with Macs and probably feel as though you were getting by just fine. Add another year or two into the past, and you might start to feel the occasional delay, still without being blocked from accomplishing your tasks.

And, Macs do sometimes glitch or fail (usually one component, as with any machine) within the first few years, but on the whole they have a tradition of fame for longevity, and Apple's tended to improve on that over time. (e.g. The latest release of OS X from 2015 is supported on some Macs sold in 2007.)

If I was going for a nice compromise between cost, performance and longevity, then I'd start by looking at their refurbished current-generation Mac mini (http://apple.co/1pzDVZX). If that's within your price range, then go up from there. The Mac mini is probably the least performant desktop they sell, but I was able to produce fairly complex multi-track audio and motion graphics on the 2012 version of the thing.

3. dafodeu thread starter macrumors newbie