Checkered screen on Macbook 2011

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ken4ward, Jul 29, 2019.

  1. ken4ward macrumors newbie

    ken4ward

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    #1
    Just about 3 days ago I began to notice checkers on the screen of my Macbook 2011. I thought iit's the GPU and i reballed it, but nothing changed. what do I do, please.See the attached screenshot.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    That's going to be the graphics chip = replace the logic board.
    (Reballing will not help at all if the chip itself is failing :cool: )
     
  3. duffman9000 macrumors 68000

    duffman9000

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Location:
    Deep in the Depths of CA
    #3
  4. ken4ward thread starter macrumors newbie

    ken4ward

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    #4
    As you shared the link to that post, do you think this might be a solution to this problem? Thanks.
     
  5. duffman9000 macrumors 68000

    duffman9000

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Location:
    Deep in the Depths of CA
    #5
    Yes, I think so. The problem will manifest itself somewhat differently. I see you can boot to your desktop. I can’t make it to the logon screen.
     
  6. ken4ward thread starter macrumors newbie

    ken4ward

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    #6
    I can boot to the Desktop and do any other thing as usual with the difference that the checkers appears on the screen. Would switching to one GPU solve the problem? Thanks.
     
  7. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #7
    You will see in that thread that the "solution" is to prevent the discrete graphics chip from being used - leaving you with a system that cannot switch from the integrated graphics to the discrete chip.
    It's not what I would call a "solution", just a work-around.
     
  8. ken4ward thread starter macrumors newbie

    ken4ward

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    #8
    Thanks for this suggestion. I think that was the problem. it has now been resolved. Though not using this, but an application which does the same thing. Let me detail the steps, it might be of help to anyone who could experience such a problem and want to resolve it.

    After googling, I got on this discussion thread about possible solution. That of
    Grant Bennet-Alder detailed what to do and that's what I followed: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/250228290?answerId=250429470022#250429470022
    1. I downloaded the application gfxCardStatus, extracted and ran it. The app gives a GUI capability to switch between the cards. When I tried running it, it displays that I have to disable Google Chrome helper, then I googled again and got full report of how Google Chrome helper could be disabled from this link - https://www.stechies.com/google-chrome-helper/. It detailed that Google Chrome should be reset to factory/default setting, which I did. After that, my system comes back to life again. I think the graphics challenge was because of some plugins who always eat up memory by constantly running.

    Thanks God, I was not planning to buy a new logic board again.
     

Share This Page

7 July 29, 2019