Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Tatmoof

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 28, 2008
I have read through as many posts as I can find on this topic, but still am not sure which printer to select. Most of what I have read has been basic B/W printers.

I am running OS 10.4, have used an HP 4Plus for years as my primary printer, print lots of B/W documents (I am a lawyer....yeah...I know), I do not need it to be wireless or to print duplex, although if the price was right that would be dandy. I do think I want a color laser at this point tho.

My first inclination is to go look at another HP. After reading all the feedback on the forum it appears they may not be my best choice at this point? I did wander over to my local Staples and did some hands on looking. Those ink cartridges ARE pricey and I am no further ahead of the game than when I went in.

I am looking to spend up to about $400

What I really want is a printer that is reliable, supported or has support available (on line or print is fine), will work when it is connected either by wires or not with little fiddling with IP addresses or filters and won't cost me next months salary to pay for ink.

Any and all feedback, suggestions are appreciated.

T

ab2650

macrumors 6502a
Jun 21, 2007
I've only used one color laser (at work) and it works perfectly fine with my MBP. It's a Xerox Phaser 6180N.

The interesting thing is I have heard rumors that Staples will have a pretty significant sale on Monday for it's smaller brothers, the Phaser 6125 and 6130n for $150 and $200 respectively.

I've been considering one of these, but have no first hand use of either, only the 6180N which I thought was pretty decent, but huge and expensive.

*Edit: BTW, I think the sale is online on Monday. The 6125 is normally $350, so it's a pretty significant discount.

scottydawg

macrumors 6502
Jan 22, 2008
Sacramento, CA