Cisco VPN & Remote Desktop Killed by Snow Leopard

Discussion in 'macOS' started by dgm, Aug 30, 2009.

  1. dgm macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #1
    Upgraded to SL on Friday evening and so far it seems to be working great. However, both my Cisco VPN Client and my Remote Desktop now refuse to run.

    With Cisco I get: Error 51 Unable to communicate with the VPN subsytem

    Remote Desktop: Remote Desktop Quit Unexpectedly.


    Anyone have suggestions for me? I really need these 2 applications to log into my office computer while I'm at home.

    thanks!
    Daniel
     
  2. aforty macrumors 65816

    aforty

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #2
    Yes I noticed the same thing after I upgraded but after a quick Google search it turned out that SL has VPN... BUILT IN! :eek:

    Just go to Network Preferences, bottom-left hit the "+" button and add a Interface of type VPN. You'll figure out the rest from there. Mine is setup using a shared secret key and it works flawlessly.

    It's better integrated and easier to use than Cisco's crappy VPN client.

    Enjoy.
     
  3. aforty macrumors 65816

    aforty

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #3
    Oh and as for Microsoft's Remote Desktop Connection. That continued to work fine for me after the upgrade. So I suggest perhaps a reinstall of that.
     
  4. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #4
    Remote desktop and Cisco VPN work fine for me. I did a clean install, not an upgrade.
     
  5. rwilliams macrumors 68040

    rwilliams

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #5
    I can help with the Cisco VPN problem, since I had the same one when I first upgraded. Just reinstall the application, and it will work just fine. If you don't have the original installation file, you'll need to search the web for version 4.9.01.0180. Plenty of universities host it for free download. Something about the Snow Leopard installation breaks the client, but reinstalling it fixes it. I'm having to use the standalone Cisco client now because the built-in client doesn't do IPSec over UDP. I've had no trouble using Remote Desktop, so I'm not sure what's going on there.
     
  6. aforty macrumors 65816

    aforty

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #6
    Just curious. Sky Blue, why do you still use Cisco's VPN client when SL has support for it built-in now?
     
  7. rwilliams macrumors 68040

    rwilliams

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #7
    Unless you're using an IPSec over UDP connection, and then it doesn't work at all.
     
  8. rwilliams macrumors 68040

    rwilliams

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #8
    Because as I mentioned in another post, the SL client doesn't do IPSec over UDP connections, so those of us in that situation are stuck with the Cisco client until Apple decides to fix that.
     
  9. aforty macrumors 65816

    aforty

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #9
    Yea I edited my post after I actually fully read yours. I'm surprised it doesn't work over UDP. It does seem like an unusual setup, though.
     
  10. tplatt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    #10
    CoRD is a great free alternative as well, I quit using Microsoft's Remote Desktop Connection a year ago , switched to CoRD and never looked back...

    http://cord.sourceforge.net/
     
  11. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    That's good to know. Cheers for that. Do you know if you have the ability to import the .pcf files that the Cisco client uses?
     
  12. tplatt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    #12
    I'll also add that it (SL's Cisco IPSec implementation) seems significantly slower than the Cisco client software. That is a very non-scientific conclusion I've drawn after using it several times since Friday. Not sure if it's my imagination, but that's the feeling i get.
     
  13. aforty macrumors 65816

    aforty

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #13
    I've tried CoRD before but it seemed laggy to me for some reason or another. Does CoRD have folder sharing these days?
     
  14. aforty macrumors 65816

    aforty

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #14
    I don't see that option anywhere, no.
     
  15. rwilliams macrumors 68040

    rwilliams

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #15
    True. I'm hoping Apple updates the built-in client so that I can use that instead of Cisco's. I don't know why, but I hate that little thing.
     
  16. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #16
    I'm using Cisco VPN Client 4.9.01 (0100) and it works fine, though I did have to reinstall it. What version do you have?

    The built in Cisco VPN is *****.
     
  17. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #17
    Tried it and it doesn't work, never had a problem with the Cisco client.
     
  18. tplatt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    #18
    Older version were indeed very laggy. The latest version is quite good. I do not believe it supports folder sharing, but I haven't looked into it deeply.
     
  19. aforty macrumors 65816

    aforty

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #19
    Hmm after two people have said that SL's built-in solution is "*****" and slower than Cisco's, I think I have to go back and revisit it and test it for myself. I was just super excited to not have to launch Cisco's app, the convenience of it took over me.

    Honestly though, and I don't know if this is due to SL's overall snappiness, my remote desktop connection has never appeared faster to me. This is using SL's built-in Cisco IPSec.

    Weird.
     
  20. dgm thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #20
    well, although excited at first, I have realized that I also need IPSec/UDP and the built in SL one is useless for me.

    I need to find a download (upgrade) of the Cisco client and am having trouble finding a free one. Anyone have a link to share?

    thanks
     
  21. rwilliams macrumors 68040

    rwilliams

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    Durham, NC
  22. jmpage2 macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #22
    My remote desktop works fine after upgrade.

    I have NetExtender VPN from Sonicwall and it works fine after upgrade too.
     
  23. tjsears macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #23
    Cisco working on SL for me.

    It gave the same error as the OP. But, I just deleted and re-installed. Easy-Pesy..
     
  24. rhett7660 macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #24
  25. pdutcher macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    #25
    I noticed that the /System/Library/StartupItems/CiscoVPN directory got removed after installing SL. I simply restored it from the time capsule then ran sudo /System/Library/StartupItems/CiscoVPN start . After that I was able to use my CiscoVPN client and did not lose any of my connection entries.
     

Share This Page