OS X Civ VI Mac version announced - simultaneous release!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by ErikGrim, Oct 4, 2016.

  1. ErikGrim macrumors 68040

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #1
    Good news everyone! Aspyr just announced a (planned) simultaneous release for Civ VI. Instapre-ordered the Steam release digital deluxe version!

    Sid Meier’s Civilization: VI is coming to Mac!

    Q: When will Civilization VI be released?
    A: We are working to get Civilization VI out on Mac as soon as possible and we hope to get it to Mac fans on the same day the PC is released. However, we are still working on finalizing the game and cannot confirm our final launch date. We will confirm the launch date with the community as soon as we have it finalized.

    Q: What’s the cost of the game?
    A: You can pick it up from Steam or the Mac App Store for
    $59.99/€59.99/£49.99.

    Q: Is there a pre-order available?
    A: On Steam, yes! You can click HERE to pre-order. There is currently no pre-order available on the Mac App Store. Pre-Orders receive early access to the Aztec Civilization Pack! (The Aztec Civilization Pack will be available to everyone free of charge after 90 days.) It includes:
    • Leader: Montezuma
    • Unique Unit: Eagle Warrior
    • Unique Building: Tlachtli
    • Wonder: Huey Teocalli

    Q: The steam play icon is not showing up on the Steam page, is this the correct page to order from?
    A:
    Yes, this is the correct page to pre-order from. The icon won’t show until closer to launch. (Remember to order from a Mac).

    Q: Will there be any other DLCs in the pipeline for Civilization VI?
    A: As always with the Civilization series, downloadable content is a huge bonus to the base game! So far, there are four post-launch DLC packs that are part of the Digital Deluxe Edition adding new maps, scenarios, civilizations and leaders for a bundled discount.

    Q: Does Civilization VI support Steam play?
    A: It sure does! All versions support Steam Play, meaning when it’s purchased on Steam, it’s available for PC and Mac.

    Q: And cross-platform multiplayer? Can I play versus my PC friends?
    A: Yes, you will soon be able to challenge your PC buddies on Steam through competitive cross-platform multiplayer* but it won’t be available until after the 60 day patch. (Not applicable for the Mac App Store version).

    *Please note that cross-platform multiplayer with Windows PC may not always be available, including at time of launch. There may be times when the Windows PC version of the game receives an update prior to the version of the game; this will temporarily prohibit Mac players from playing with Windows PC players. Once the version of Civilization: VI receives the same update, cross-platform multiplayer with Windows PC will be re-enabled. Online multiplayer with players on the same platform will also always be an option.

    Q: What are the technical requirements?
    A:
    Your Mac must meet ALL of the minimum system requirements below in order to maximize your Civilization VI experience.
    • Operating System: OSX 10.11 (El Capitan) and MacOS 10.12 (Sierra)
    • CPU Processor: Intel Core i5 (4 cores)
    • CPU Speed: 2.3 GHz
    • Memory: 6 GB
    • Hard Disk Space: 15 GB
    • Video Card (ATI): Radeon HD 6790
    • Video Card (NVIDIA): GeForce 650M
    • Video Card (Intel): Iris Pro
    • Video Memory (VRam): 1 GB
    • Peripherals: Macintosh mouse and keyboard, Steam Controller (optional)

    Q: What are the languages that I can play in?
    A:
    You’ll be able to play the game in (Interface/Audio/Subtitles) – English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Russian, Simplified Chinese, and Traditional Chinese. Portuguese (Brazil) will be supported only for Interface and subtitles.

    Q: Does Civ VI Mac support Metal?
    A: Civ VI Mac does not currently support Metal.

    Q: Is Civ VI available on Linux?
    A:
    Linux is still being investigated as a project. We hope to have clarity in coming months on if a viable version of Civ VI can make it to Linux and will let you know as soon as we have more information.
     
  2. madeirabhoy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
  3. old-mac-man macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
  4. ErikGrim thread starter macrumors 68040

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #4
    How is it overpriced? I've plonked down some 1200 hours on Civ V over the last six years. Even if you play a fraction of that I'd say that's value for money.
     
  5. BrickWulf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    #5
    Not sure if anyone will know this, but if you don't meet all the Minimum requirements, can you still load up the game? I've bought games where I don't meet them and can still play, but a low settings, and I've played some which just blocked me out from even loading the game (but was with DX11).

    The wording is specific that I won't MAXIMIZE my experience, not that you can't play it. I'm aware that if I do get it to load who knows what it will look like, and they won't be able to provide any support.

    Note: I have a late 2009 iMac, which meets everything except the GPU requirement, which is it's greatest downfall for longevity, unfortunately.
     
  6. madeirabhoy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    #6
    i cant say for certain about civ VI but ive played civ 3 to civ 5, on various macs which fall below the minimum requirements. i played civ 5 on a 2009 mini for example, it just got slow especially later in the game.
     
  7. GoldfishRT macrumors 6502

    GoldfishRT

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Location:
    Somewhere
  8. Analog Kid macrumors 601

    Analog Kid

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    #8
    Thanks for the heads up. Gives me time to stock the pantry with canned goods before going full hermit.
     
  9. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #9
    I played Civ 5, not to mention that the first Civ and loved them. For Civ VI they say it's REALLY different, but deep down I fear been there done that.
     
  10. ErikGrim thread starter macrumors 68040

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #10
    Added to the FAQ:

    Q: Is Civ VI pre-load available on Mac?
    A: Sorry, not at this time. It’s PC only.

    and this tweet:

    Aspyr Media ‏@AspyrMedia Oct 18
    Hey everyone! We do not have a confirmed release date for #CivilizationVI. When we know, you'll know. But it may be closer than you think...
     
  11. kiwipeso1 Suspended

    kiwipeso1

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #11
    Best thing of all, the simultaneous release is first in NZ/AU/Asia at 3am AEST/5am NZST Friday 21st.
    Then UK/Europe/Russia/Africa 12am GMT.
    The Americas get it at 12am ET.
     
  12. ErikGrim thread starter macrumors 68040

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #12
    Gah. They're killing me. This does not look like a simultaneous release at all :/

    Capture.PNG
     
  13. Hastings101 macrumors 68010

    Hastings101

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Location:
    K
    #13
    I won't be playing it on OS X anyway, but I'm so excited for a new Civ game. I've spent an embarrassing amount of hours on this series. I kind of skipped the fifth game because I was bitter about them removing a lot of features that were in Civ4, but six seems like it's a little more fleshed out.
     
  14. old-mac-man macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    #14
    I'll start on Windows and move on to macOS when that version becomes available.
     
  15. NewtonPippin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    #15
    Anyone getting a black screen and then a crash in-game while playing in Boot Camp in Windows 10? i have a 5k iMac. This seems to happen at around turn 30 or so in multiple games now.
     
  16. Kiwikat88 macrumors regular

    Kiwikat88

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #16
    Played till 2 AM last night... I'm impressed. Out of the gate it has more meat than Civ V with the G&K and BNW expansions. The pace of the game feels markedly different, and the early game is more challenging than before due to constant barbarian hordes. The AI is still a bit sketchy, sending workers and settlers all over without any escorts, denouncing and declaring war at odd times, but it certainly doesn't feel any worse than Civ V. I think there's a few "easy" tweaks that they could do to improve it significantly.

    The changes to movement were probably most jarring. The city districts, tech/culture trees, and government stuff all work together rather nicely. The graphics and sound are great, though I am still not a fan of the colors of undiscovered and out of sight areas being so similar. The white fog in Civ V made it a lot easier to see where you hadn't been before. I would expect a mod for that shortly, if there isn't already a setting hidden away somewhere in the menus.

    Biggest complaints so far from playing and watching dozens of hours of video from the pre-release copies are probably how easy it is to take cities, and the tendency to force your empire to go wide instead of tall. Settlers are very cheap and there's basically no downside to spamming cities, other than possibly irritating the AIs. It is kind of a bummer, though probably realistic, that you have to settle either on fresh water or very close to fresh water to maintain any sort of city growth rate in the early game. I'm also not much of a fan of the cartoon-style leaders and the cut scenes that you cannot skip.

    Given the different districts and how they interact with each other and the geography of your city, it feels like there's a lot of replay potential. I can't wait to try all the different win conditions and see how the districts help reach those goals.
     
  17. 7254278 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #17
    The minimum system requirements are pretty darn high. Does anyone know if this will run on my iMac with a GT 750M? Technically the card is not supported. But the iMac is only 1 generation old...
     
  18. ErikGrim thread starter macrumors 68040

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
  19. Aspyr-Blair macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Location:
    Austin Tx
    #19
    The 750 will be just fine. The only 1GB card that is questionable is the 650M. It plays fine, but late game is sluggish, so we pulled it from the official list.
     
  20. kiwipeso1 Suspended

    kiwipeso1

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #20
    Hi @Aspyr-Blair .
    So, as the 650M is an iMac 2012 512MB video card, does that mean it should work fine with a 2011 iMac 27" with the
    Radeon HD 6970M 1GB ?
    (Oops, just noticed it was a 1GB option on non-retina MBP 15" 2012 and on all retina 15" MBP 2012 and early 2013)

    Or should I just use the Macbook Air 2013 with intel HD 5000 1.5GB shared (from 8GB ram) ?
    Am as yet unsure of what specs the 2016 Macbook Pro Retina will have when I get it.
     
  21. Kiwikat88 macrumors regular

    Kiwikat88

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #21
    Civ VI for Mac is ready to be downloaded on Steam!

    2.6 GB to go...
     
  22. ErikGrim thread starter macrumors 68040

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #22
    Why must I be at work!
     
  23. kopje_koffie macrumors newbie

    kopje_koffie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    #23
    Hey @Aspyr-Blair, do you have any comments on how I would fare with a 2012 iMac with a NVidia GTX 680MX 2GB card?
     
  24. Kiwikat88 macrumors regular

    Kiwikat88

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #24
    Just spent about 4 hours playing as Gilgamesh on my MBP. I'm not really sure I'd play it with much less than the already underwhelming R9 M370X, but maybe my standards are a bit higher than others. I definitely prefer the experience with my GTX 1070 (and overclocked i7 for that matter), but I can't exactly haul my rig everywhere with me. Thanks for all your efforts @Aspyr-Blair!
     
  25. Brammy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #25
    I take it this would be a dumpster fire on a 2011 MPB with the 256g card, or a 2014 MacBook Air.

    Asking for a friend.
    Ok. Not really
     

Share This Page