Classic Environment - Leopard

davejm123

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 26, 2007
4
0
Hey,

i'm new here so hi! just bought a macbook pro today....and then read on here there might be a new one coming out...:confused:

anyway, tried installing photoshop 7 but it says i need a classic environment but i dont seem to have the app on here? anyone know if its hidden or where i can download it?

thanks :)


Dave
 

Taylor C

macrumors 6502a
May 27, 2007
731
0
Leopard does not support Classic. Upgrade your applications to more modern OS X versions.
 

davejm123

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 26, 2007
4
0
thanks guys, dont really want to pay ££££ for a new one so hope there is a solution soon! dont know if its native or not, all i know is when i try to install it, it says i need a classic environment!!

Dave
 

Blue Velvet

Moderator emeritus
Jul 4, 2004
21,922
169
I thought Photoshop 7 is OS X-native? I remember it being the first Photoshop that is OS X-native...
It is, but that was released when 10.2 was out. Leopard has obviously changed something fundamental... Photoshop 7 is over five years old.
 

savvos

macrumors regular
Sep 8, 2007
178
0
Intel chips

As far as I know, Classic isn't supported on x86 chips (but Rosetta for PPC OSX programs is).
 

Blue Velvet

Moderator emeritus
Jul 4, 2004
21,922
169
^That's true. Just noticed the OP had bought a new MBP. You are plain out of luck then... upgrade your copy of Photoshop, no two ways around it.
 

dissander

macrumors newbie
Jan 11, 2008
2
0
classic environment

Hi Guys,
does anyone know if it is now possible to run classic environment on intel base? i have an old version of cubase VST and logic pro and leopard would not let me run it.
cheers,
Dissander
 

awbazar

macrumors newbie
Feb 6, 2008
19
0
Scottsville, NY
Classic environment: Question

Is there any realistic prospect that some kind of patch or trick can be applied to OSX 10.5.1 (Leopard) which would run the Classic environment or is this like converting lead to gold?

Restated: Given that one lost the Classic environment along with all capability to run older applications supported by Classic, after installing Leopard, is the only answer to running the older apps to buy another computer and maintain an older OS which supports the Classic Environment?

It would be great if some wizzard had a download which enabled Classic so he could run the old apps without having to buy every one of them in the current version which runs on Leopard and beyond. This sounds simple but might represent 50 man years of code work.

Any comments?
 

larkost

macrumors 6502a
Oct 13, 2007
536
1
Sheepshaver can run Classic....
I am being a little pendantic, but no it can't. Classic is a way of having MacOS 9 running alongside MacOS X in a way that you can mix windows together.

Sheepshaver is an emulator where the virtual environment runs inside a window. So you can't mix windows, and copy-paste and drag-and-drop are not possible (or are very difficult to implement).
 

swearbymac07

macrumors member
Dec 13, 2007
96
0
Solution (EASY AND QUICK)

I have compiled an application with EVERYTHING needed to run SheepShaver on Intel Mac (Yes, people, even Leopard) It opens up Sheepshaver, runs Mac OS 9.0.4 and has a few extra DMG's for HDD Space. I am going to upload it to this site, or MegaUpload or maybe even TPB (i dont know what that is, but i gather it is like MegaUpload but faster and cheaper).

Could someone tell me whether I can upload 50-odd MB files for Free and I will post the File Package Addresse, I have installed Titanic - Adventure Out of Time and Sim Tower and they run fine so the settings are finely tuned.

Thanks!
 

GimmeSlack12

macrumors 603
Apr 29, 2005
5,395
8
San Francisco
I am being a little pendantic, but no it can't. Classic is a way of having MacOS 9 running alongside MacOS X in a way that you can mix windows together.

Sheepshaver is an emulator where the virtual environment runs inside a window. So you can't mix windows, and copy-paste and drag-and-drop are not possible (or are very difficult to implement).
Its not that difficult. You can share your OS X partition inside of SheepShaver, and to be honest, it's the only solution to running Photoshop 7 on an Intel machine. I don't see you offering any alternative solution.

Use Sheepshaver. It'll get you where you wanna go!
 

Hankster

macrumors 68020
Jan 30, 2008
2,360
269
Washington DC
This is very upsetting. I just got a previous version of PhotoShop for Mac because on my PC I've been using 7.0. Now, after purchasing the version for Mac I can't install it on my Mac... Thats just wrong, you should always be able to install previous versions of an application.

Its not that difficult. You can share your OS X partition inside of SheepShaver, and to be honest, it's the only solution to running Photoshop 7 on an Intel machine. I don't see you offering any alternative solution.

Use Sheepshaver. It'll get you where you wanna go!
Also, you need a copy of a Classic OS. So, if your machine only has OS X installed Sheepshaver won't work.

If you want to run classic applications your best bet is to purchase an older PPC Macintosh or upgrade your software.
The problem is you can't purchase just the upgrade version of the software because you can't install the prior versions. I have PhotoShop 7 and it won't install on OS X, therefore this means I'm going to have to purchase the full version of PhotoShop CS instead of buying just the upgrade.
 

Mal

macrumors 603
Jan 6, 2002
6,251
17
Orlando
This is very upsetting. I just got a previous version of PhotoShop for Mac because on my PC I've been using 7.0. Now, after purchasing the version for Mac I can't install it on my Mac... Thats just wrong, you should always be able to install previous versions of an application.
Yes, I'd love to be able to run my ClarisWorks 2 on my MacBook, but dude, progress keeps on moving forward. You're not going to be able to run older software on newer systems all the time. If you really need to run that software, you'll have to do it on the type of computer it was intended to run on.

jW
 

Hankster

macrumors 68020
Jan 30, 2008
2,360
269
Washington DC
I guess my background in PC has me thinking differently. I can still install PhotoShop 4.0 on my Vista OS... I just can't believe the install won't even work. Anyone with a previous version of PhotoShop should only have to purchase the upgrade, not the $650 full version again.

Blah, I'm just frustrated. This is the first time I have disliked my MacBook. Now I have to keep using PhotoShop on my PC.
 

840quadra

Moderator
Staff member
Feb 1, 2005
8,169
3,435
Twin Cities Minnesota
I guess my background in PC has me thinking differently. I can still install PhotoShop 4.0 on my Vista OS... I just can't believe the install won't even work. Anyone with a previous version of PhotoShop should only have to purchase the upgrade, not the $650 full version again.

Blah, I'm just frustrated. This is the first time I have disliked my MacBook. Now I have to keep using PhotoShop on my PC.
What are you using PS 7.0 for anyway? There are good FREE alternatives to that old program.

Suggestion #1 - Use Gimp. It is more advanced than PS 7.0 and it should do what you need quickly after you take the time to learn the different interface.
 

IJ Reilly

macrumors P6
Jul 16, 2002
17,892
1,477
Palookaville
I guess my background in PC has me thinking differently. I can still install PhotoShop 4.0 on my Vista OS... I just can't believe the install won't even work. Anyone with a previous version of PhotoShop should only have to purchase the upgrade, not the $650 full version again.

Blah, I'm just frustrated. This is the first time I have disliked my MacBook. Now I have to keep using PhotoShop on my PC.
You might want to call Adobe -- they're the ones requiring you to purchase a full version instead of an upgrade. Plead your case with them, and they might cut you some slack.
 

Hankster

macrumors 68020
Jan 30, 2008
2,360
269
Washington DC
What are you using PS 7.0 for anyway? There are good FREE alternatives to that old program.

Suggestion #1 - Use Gimp. It is more advanced than PS 7.0 and it should do what you need quickly after you take the time to learn the different interface.
I know 7.0 is old, but it has everything I need. Every icon, shortcut, function, etc is how I like it. I'm lightening fast with 7.0. I hate upgrading because there is nothing the new versions have that I require. I admit, I'm a bit old school and don't use any of the automatic features that come with recent versions of PhotoShop. I pretty much do all image manipulations manually. But, that's how I grew to learn and use PhotoShop back when I was using it as a profession.

You might want to call Adobe -- they're the ones requiring you to purchase a full version instead of an upgrade. Plead your case with them, and they might cut you some slack.
I wish Adobe would toss me a bone :) But, I don't think they will as I'm sure many people are in my position. I am however speaking with an old friend of mine who owns a graphics company. I'm hoping she has a previous PhotoShop CS copy that they're not using anymore. :confused: I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to get PhotoShop on my MacBook so I can use my PC less. I didn't mind getting Mac Office 08 because it was only $129. But, $650...ouch!
 

tdhurst

macrumors 601
Dec 27, 2003
4,158
269
Phoenix, AZ
This is very upsetting. I just got a previous version of PhotoShop for Mac because on my PC I've been using 7.0. Now, after purchasing the version for Mac I can't install it on my Mac... Thats just wrong, you should always be able to install previous versions of an application.
Well, that's the price you pay when you upgrade. Keeping a powerbook around would solve your problem.

I wish Adobe would toss me a bone :) But, I don't think they will as I'm sure many people are in my position. I am however speaking with an old friend of mine who owns a graphics company. I'm hoping she has a previous PhotoShop CS copy that they're not using anymore. :confused: I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to get PhotoShop on my MacBook so I can use my PC less. I didn't mind getting Mac Office 08 because it was only $129. But, $650...ouch!
Try calling Adobe. My dad went from 6.0 to CS for the upgrade price. We were in the same situation.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.