Classic Environment - Leopard

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by davejm123, Oct 27, 2007.

  1. davejm123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #1
    Hey,

    i'm new here so hi! just bought a macbook pro today....and then read on here there might be a new one coming out...:confused:

    anyway, tried installing photoshop 7 but it says i need a classic environment but i dont seem to have the app on here? anyone know if its hidden or where i can download it?

    thanks :)


    Dave
     
  2. Taylor C macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    #2
    Leopard does not support Classic. Upgrade your applications to more modern OS X versions.
     
  3. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #3
    There's no Classic in Leopard... solutions to this might be on the boards within days.
     
  4. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #4
    I thought Photoshop 7 is OS X-native? I remember it being the first Photoshop that is OS X-native...
     
  5. davejm123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #5
    thanks guys, dont really want to pay ££££ for a new one so hope there is a solution soon! dont know if its native or not, all i know is when i try to install it, it says i need a classic environment!!

    Dave
     
  6. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #6
    It is, but that was released when 10.2 was out. Leopard has obviously changed something fundamental... Photoshop 7 is over five years old.
     
  7. savvos macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    #7
    Intel chips

    As far as I know, Classic isn't supported on x86 chips (but Rosetta for PPC OSX programs is).
     
  8. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #8
    ^That's true. Just noticed the OP had bought a new MBP. You are plain out of luck then... upgrade your copy of Photoshop, no two ways around it.
     
  9. dissander macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #9
    classic environment

    Hi Guys,
    does anyone know if it is now possible to run classic environment on intel base? i have an old version of cubase VST and logic pro and leopard would not let me run it.
    cheers,
    Dissander
     
  10. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #10
    As noted in this thread, Classic is not supported in Leopard.
     
  11. awbazar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Location:
    Scottsville, NY
    #11
    Classic environment: Question

    Is there any realistic prospect that some kind of patch or trick can be applied to OSX 10.5.1 (Leopard) which would run the Classic environment or is this like converting lead to gold?

    Restated: Given that one lost the Classic environment along with all capability to run older applications supported by Classic, after installing Leopard, is the only answer to running the older apps to buy another computer and maintain an older OS which supports the Classic Environment?

    It would be great if some wizzard had a download which enabled Classic so he could run the old apps without having to buy every one of them in the current version which runs on Leopard and beyond. This sounds simple but might represent 50 man years of code work.

    Any comments?
     
  12. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
  13. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #13
    If you want to run classic applications your best bet is to purchase an older PPC Macintosh or upgrade your software.
     
  14. larkost macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #14
    I am being a little pendantic, but no it can't. Classic is a way of having MacOS 9 running alongside MacOS X in a way that you can mix windows together.

    Sheepshaver is an emulator where the virtual environment runs inside a window. So you can't mix windows, and copy-paste and drag-and-drop are not possible (or are very difficult to implement).
     
  15. swearbymac07 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #15
    Solution (EASY AND QUICK)

    I have compiled an application with EVERYTHING needed to run SheepShaver on Intel Mac (Yes, people, even Leopard) It opens up Sheepshaver, runs Mac OS 9.0.4 and has a few extra DMG's for HDD Space. I am going to upload it to this site, or MegaUpload or maybe even TPB (i dont know what that is, but i gather it is like MegaUpload but faster and cheaper).

    Could someone tell me whether I can upload 50-odd MB files for Free and I will post the File Package Addresse, I have installed Titanic - Adventure Out of Time and Sim Tower and they run fine so the settings are finely tuned.

    Thanks!
     
  16. bacanfilele macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #16
    you can try www.divshare.com
    please post link if you get to upload it right
    thanks
     
  17. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #17
    Its not that difficult. You can share your OS X partition inside of SheepShaver, and to be honest, it's the only solution to running Photoshop 7 on an Intel machine. I don't see you offering any alternative solution.

    Use Sheepshaver. It'll get you where you wanna go!
     
  18. Hankster macrumors 68020

    Hankster

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #18
    This is very upsetting. I just got a previous version of PhotoShop for Mac because on my PC I've been using 7.0. Now, after purchasing the version for Mac I can't install it on my Mac... Thats just wrong, you should always be able to install previous versions of an application.

    Also, you need a copy of a Classic OS. So, if your machine only has OS X installed Sheepshaver won't work.

    The problem is you can't purchase just the upgrade version of the software because you can't install the prior versions. I have PhotoShop 7 and it won't install on OS X, therefore this means I'm going to have to purchase the full version of PhotoShop CS instead of buying just the upgrade.
     
  19. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #19
    Yes, I'd love to be able to run my ClarisWorks 2 on my MacBook, but dude, progress keeps on moving forward. You're not going to be able to run older software on newer systems all the time. If you really need to run that software, you'll have to do it on the type of computer it was intended to run on.

    jW
     
  20. Hankster macrumors 68020

    Hankster

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #20
    I guess my background in PC has me thinking differently. I can still install PhotoShop 4.0 on my Vista OS... I just can't believe the install won't even work. Anyone with a previous version of PhotoShop should only have to purchase the upgrade, not the $650 full version again.

    Blah, I'm just frustrated. This is the first time I have disliked my MacBook. Now I have to keep using PhotoShop on my PC.
     
  21. 840quadra Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #21
    What are you using PS 7.0 for anyway? There are good FREE alternatives to that old program.

    Suggestion #1 - Use Gimp. It is more advanced than PS 7.0 and it should do what you need quickly after you take the time to learn the different interface.
     
  22. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #22
    You might want to call Adobe -- they're the ones requiring you to purchase a full version instead of an upgrade. Plead your case with them, and they might cut you some slack.
     
  23. Hankster macrumors 68020

    Hankster

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #23
    I know 7.0 is old, but it has everything I need. Every icon, shortcut, function, etc is how I like it. I'm lightening fast with 7.0. I hate upgrading because there is nothing the new versions have that I require. I admit, I'm a bit old school and don't use any of the automatic features that come with recent versions of PhotoShop. I pretty much do all image manipulations manually. But, that's how I grew to learn and use PhotoShop back when I was using it as a profession.

    I wish Adobe would toss me a bone :) But, I don't think they will as I'm sure many people are in my position. I am however speaking with an old friend of mine who owns a graphics company. I'm hoping she has a previous PhotoShop CS copy that they're not using anymore. :confused: I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to get PhotoShop on my MacBook so I can use my PC less. I didn't mind getting Mac Office 08 because it was only $129. But, $650...ouch!
     
  24. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #24
    The upgrade from Photoshop 7 to CS3 (not the Extended, but still) is only $199:

    Picture 1.jpg

    (I think it's even less if you get it directly from Adobe...)
     
  25. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #25
    Well, that's the price you pay when you upgrade. Keeping a powerbook around would solve your problem.

    Try calling Adobe. My dad went from 6.0 to CS for the upgrade price. We were in the same situation.
     

Share This Page