Cloning with superduper so difficult?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Cave Man, Dec 31, 2009.

  1. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #1
    I just downloaded Superduper 2.6.2 to give it a try but I can't seem to figure it out. When I try to clone one drive to another using the "Copy Now" button it asks me to pay the registration fee. But on the web page it seems to indicate that this is a free provision of the application. What am I doing wrong?
     
  2. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Why not use Carbon Copy Cloner which is free?
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    I can't answer about Super Duper but using Carbon Copy Cloner cannot be simpler. I also advocate using this. A great handy app.
     
  4. jc1350 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #4
    SuperDuper is supposed to be free. The free version has some features disabled - the most important one to me being that the free version will clone the entire HD every time where as the registered/paid version will only copy the changed files ("smartcopy"). I've had no problems with SuperDuper, but I paid for it a long time ago after testing the free version for a few weeks.

    Are you sure you don't have an option selected that requires it to purchased? Also, the developer is is pretty good about answering questions at his own forum at the superduper web site.
     
  5. rumorguy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    #5
    buy it

    superduper is the best--buy it, you get what you pay for. and is your data and time worth less than $27.95? :D

    Their email support is excellent, I have had quick responses on the weekend.
     
  6. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #6
    Why not use Apple's Disk Utility?

    Run it off Mac OS Install DVD. Use "Restore" and check "erase destination" to enable block copy (make sure the destination drive is partitioned using GUID and formatted as Mac OS Extended (journaled)).

    This is a 100% reliable method to make a bootable clone.
     
  7. Cave Man thread starter macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #7
    That's the ticket - thanks! I had to change one of the options.

    Not on a hackintosh. ;)
     
  8. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #8
    I see where that could be a problem... (missed your sig, obviously)
     

Share This Page