COD4 punkbuster

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by jthrasher, May 15, 2012.

  1. jthrasher macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    #1
    For some reason today while playing COD4 online I got kicked. The message said to go to punkbuster.com and manually update the files, which I tried to do with no success. There is an app called pbsetup which is suppose to make manual updates easier but when I downloaded that, it wouldn't open because it seemed to be a PowerPC app?

    Can someone please help me with this?
     
  2. blackxacto macrumors 6502

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #2
    I've been kicked today as well. I did just as the message told me and downloaded punkbuster setup. Updated after adding COD4, restarted and I can play some games listed in the COD4 list, but the main game I always play, I get KICKED, even w the PB added.

    I've been playing this specific COD4 game for months, maybe even a year or more. I don't know what is KICKING me off today 05-15-2012.

    I also notice that the specific game when it first starts up is not busy w players anymore, but I then get kidked, But I can play other COD4 games listed, just not the main game I always choose.

    Anyone know why this happening today?
     
  3. MrNeo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    #3
    They updated PB files yesterday. Guess they screwed up with the mac files. Lets hope they fix it soon, already posted a ticket at evenbalance.com.
     
  4. dB-BLACKHAWK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    #4
    Yeah i'm having the same problem, i hope they fix it soon. I also submitted a ticket.
     
  5. Rock2zep macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    #5
    Same Problems with punkbuster

    I have the same issue with punk buster. Can you please notify me if you you get a solution.
     
  6. blackxacto macrumors 6502

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #6
    kicked from all COD4 games now

    Cannot play any game now. Kicked from all at COD4.
     
  7. blackxacto macrumors 6502

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #7
    pbsetup

    I tried running pbsetup from two places, within:
    1. user/library/application support/COD4/pb/pbsetup.run.app
    2. Applications/COD4/Call of Duty 4 Data/pb/htm/pbsetup.run.app

    Each time I Updated from within pbsetup.

    Then made sure within the pb folder were the newer pb htm files.

    Still being KICKED.
     
  8. CrackFox macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    #8
    Same story. Have also posted ticket. Rrrrrrrr

    Hey jthrasher, I has same prob with pbsetup. Now works fine. Make sure that you copy the entire zip (5 files I think) into a pbsetup folder otherwise it wont run. Hope this helps. Look forward to nading yo ass online soon!
     
  9. dB-BLACKHAWK, May 16, 2012
    Last edited: May 16, 2012

    dB-BLACKHAWK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    #9
    Are you suggesting that they fixed the problem? Because it still doesn't work for me and a few other guys on our forums.
     
  10. bluespider macrumors 6502

    bluespider

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    Space Coast FL
    #10
    I'm in the same boat

    this is frustrating :) what servers do you all play on?
     
  11. thegreatswalmi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    #11
    same problem here…filed a ticket w/ punkbuster but no reply yet. have done everything according to the evenbalance site…no luck. i play the UTF crossfire server.

    ----------

    are you running lion? i extracted the zip but there's only the one file i can find in there!
     
  12. USMC-Veteran macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    #12
    PB problems

    I have not found these 5files that is being mentioned. I have also went out of my way to delete and reinstalled COD4 on my MAC without any success. I to have submitted a "Ticket" to evenbalance in hopes that this situation is fixed soon. If anyone comes across a possible and viable solution please post in the forum so all can see, thanks.
     
  13. 50548 Guest

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Currently in Switzerland
    #13
    TO ALL CONCERNED BY THIS ISSUE:

    Although pbsetup no longer runs under Lion (because it's a PPC app), it's very easy to manually update COD4 PB files. Just visit the link below and copy necessary the files into the indicated folders...I tried it and it worked flawlessly.

    http://www.evenbalance.com/index.php?page=dl-cod4.php
     
  14. USMC-Veteran macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    #14
    I have been there and done that my friend.....and still nothing....have gone to other servers as well and the same situation exists.....something about those using MACs and playing COD4 now since PB's recent update has become an issue. As mentioned, I have deleted and reinstalled the game assuming there was possibly a corrupt file within the game folder.....well, I ruled that out and still get kicked.......
     
  15. 50548 Guest

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Currently in Switzerland
    #15
    I don't get it because the problem was solved for me - is the issue limited to COD4 as sold in the App Store? Have you tried modifying permissions for the folder concerned?

    You may check this as well:

    http://support.aspyr.com/entries/20464122-app-store-version-manually-updating-punkbuster-files
     
  16. nprg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    #16
    The 24/7 UTF Crossfire TDM game seems to work OK for me, but the 24/7 Crossfire TDM game I usually play on doesn't work, as well as a couple of other Crossfire games (I haven't tried any others). Maybe PB isn't switched on the 24/7 UTF game...
     
  17. djkeylocked macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    #17
    Hey guys...

    When i join servers, and I update my pb manually with the files, I got kicked => player Evy is been kicked for 0 minutes. Go to even balance.com and install the files manually.. I did it already 10000 times and still I got kicked..

    Does someone has the same issues??

    I use MAc oxs Lion and I play cod4!! Plz help me

    ----------

    I did the same, but I still got kicked.. can u otherwise send me your pb files? if u want
     
  18. CrackFox macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    #18
    Soz Blackhawk for confusion. i was refering to the pbsetup.

    No I am still getting kicked :(
     
  19. CrackFox macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    #19
    This is very annoying.
    I know that my files are up to date, and I'm still getting kicked.
    What changed and why?
    PUNKBUSTER GET IT SORTED!
     
  20. thegreatswalmi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    #20
    i play almost exclusively on the utf 24/7 crossfire...we (UTF) are having the same trouble as other servers...looks like pb updated the server files and the player files, but for some reason they're incompatible on mac, or corrupted, or something. we've had a lot of folks unable to play on utf over the last few days. wish i knew your secret :)
     
  21. blackxacto macrumors 6502

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #21
    Still being KICKED

    Out for two days now, or is it three? Stupid PBusters. How the heck are they allowed to ruin game play for all of us?

    I've downloaded and updated all over my hard drive. It has to be the stupid PB files were trash sent to all of us who downloaded per their demand.
     
  22. dB-BLACKHAWK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    #22
    It looks like we are just going to have to wait it out for them to fix the issue, until then i have been playing 24/7 killhouse lol, no pb in that server so it works. And when anyone finds a solution please post it here as will i if i find out a way to fix the problem.
     
  23. paullyjay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #23
    yeah, I'm having the same problems, I can play for about 10 mins on each game before being kicked each day... I have updated my PB files as suggested in all the forums, changed permissions on the folder etc... still no resolution, I am using the app store version of COD 4 so must be a PB bug...
     
  24. arjun747 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    #24
    Same, i used that Pbrun. program, and it did update my 'pb' and loads of new files went into it, but dont worry people who cant use it, it doesnt work either, ive downloaded all the files and all the combinations, + my friends with mac having same problem, looks like pretty much everyone whos running CoD4 [mac] is having this issue, i too submitted a ticket, lets just hope PB will get on it.
     
  25. dB-BLACKHAWK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    #25
    I suggest everyone submit a ticket and notify us if there is any response to your ticket.
     

Share This Page