Colemak keyboard layout with other input method

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by DavisX, Feb 28, 2018.

  1. DavisX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    #1
    Hello all,
    I would like to trying out Colemak, understand that we can just add it int the system preference, then choose in the task bar. At the same time, English is not just the only one language that I use. Let's say I would like to type Chinese, which requires me to choose another inputs and it will overwrite Colemak. How can I use Colemak as my keyboard layout and at the same time use other input ? thank you.
     
  2. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #2
    I struggle to understand your request. Are you asking how to use two different keyboard layouts at the same time? That doesn't sound like a valid use case. If you add both Colemak English and Chinese layouts, then you can switch between the two layouts, but I don't see how you can have a layout that is both simultaneously.
     
  3. DavisX thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    #3
    Sorry, i didn't may myself clear. Would like to use Colemak layout, but the input method is not pure English. For example, I type "nihao" as pinyin, it would return 你好。 there are other way to type 你好 using totally diff method. For example, I would type "人“ first, which is the "prefix" of "你“,then, type ”尔“ which is the remaining part of 你。 if i use the method as in input, which it would more faster for many reasons.

    so I would like to use Colemak as my keyboard layout, then use "wubi xing" as input(you can find it as one of the built-in option in mac). I know how to do this if I use this built-in one. However, I found other developer wrote an app for the same purpose is "better". so would like to use Colemak as my keyboard layout, then having the ability to choose whatever input method I needed, Thank you for the reply.
     
  4. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #4
    Okay, that's beyond my understanding.

    I think my only advice to you would be to ask this question again in the MacOS subforum. This is the Mac Pro subforum which is about a specific desktop model. So all the people around here know about Mac Pros, which is not particularly helpful to you when asking about language inputs.
     

Share This Page

3 February 28, 2018