College Gaming Laptop

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by DSM09, Jun 5, 2009.

1. DSM09 macrumors newbie

As Autumn comes closer, I need to make a laptop purchase for college next year. While doing some research on which brand to buy, I have come up with a Mac. As an avid gamer, I am worried about playing next gen games on this machine as seeing the video card is not all that strong. Is it possible to upgrade a video card in a mb or mbp? How smoothly would games be played through bootcamp? Specifically, I am looking to play games like Battlefield 1943 and Star Wars Old Republic (new mmo). Any advice or suggestions on this topic would be greatly appreciated since I have no prior experience with a Mac

2. jb1280 macrumors 6502a

College and gaming do not go nicely together. If you need a dedicated graphics card you must get a macbook pro.

3. MacDawg macrumors P6

MacDawg

Honestly, my recommendation to you is... if you are serious about gaming, do yourself a favor and don't buy a Mac. Buy a Windows PC and be happy. Otherwise you will lament that fact that the video card sucks, the specs aren't up to standard, you could have a bought XYZ PC for a lot cheaper with better specs and so on and so forth.

If you want a Mac for the OSX experience, productivity, etc. then by all means, go for it. But understand that using VMWare Fusion or Parallels will not satisfy your gaming thirst. And booting with BootCamp will give you better performance, but for the money... buy a PC to game. You will be much happier.

Having said that... a MacBook is a great college computer if you are using it for college and not gaming.

Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]

4. Emerica macrumors member

He's completely right. If you're serious about gaming you might even want to build your own PC.

5. Demosthenes X macrumors 68000

Demosthenes X