Configuring new Mac Pro to run Windows XP Native - No OSX - No Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mactulsa, May 1, 2008.

  1. mactulsa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    #1
    Has anyone out there configured a new Mac Pro to run just Windows XP natively with NO OS X operating system, NO Bootcamp etc. I am trying to determine if I should sell my Mac Pro or if I can simply rebuild it using only Windows XP? Here is my quick list of questions:

    1) Is it possible and are there drivers available for the Mac Hardware to work with XP? Anyone out there have a success story on making this work?

    2) If yes, should I load with XP 64bit or XP 32bit? I know in a Bootcamp config (which I currently run) that 32bit is the only way to go but running native XP and NTFS file system shouldn't I want to prefer to run the 64bit version?

    3) Are there any other weird things I would need to address? Firmware, Bios, etc?

    Thanks

    Mac Pro
    2 Quad Core 2.8 GHz Intel Xeon
    8 GB Ram
    nvidia 8800GT Video Card
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    1. Insert Windows installer disc and wipe out all the partitions. (I'll need confirmation about the EFI partition though.)

    2. Make a disc image of the Leopard Boot Camp drivers while in Windows.

    3. Firmware updates can only be done from OS X.
     
  3. LurchNC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    #3
    Sell it and buy/build a PC. If you need windows only there is very little reason to have a Mac Pro.
     
  4. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #4
    32-bit: You can't use at least 4GB of your RAM.

    64-bit: Driver availability - make sure you can
    find 64-bit XP drivers for any extras you want
    to add to the Mac Pro.
     
  5. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #5
    The Mac Pro makes for a fine general purpose Windows
    only machine. There's very little reason to sell it unless
    you have unusual requirements. And it's not particularly
    cost effective to sell it and buy or build another machine.
     
  6. nikiski macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Hong Kong, or Surrey, BC, Canada
    #6
    Well, from what I know, the only Operating System that can be only run on a Mac Pro is Windows Vista x64 with SP1 as it is the only consumer Microsoft OS with EFI support.
     
  7. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #7
    You might want to rephrase that.

    I think I have an idea what you're getting at that. If you wanted to
    remove the very last remnants of Apple's programming, you'd have
    to reflash the EFI chip with something else.

    So, how would one go about this? I've heard Vista has EFI support,
    but I've not yet seen a single account of anyone using it. Does anyone
    with Vista flash their own EFI chip? Are there utilities out there for that
    sort of thing? Or do the chips come from the factory pre-flashed, so to
    speak?

    I've no idea how this all works.
     
  8. nikiski macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Hong Kong, or Surrey, BC, Canada
    #8
    Microsoft DID promise EFI support for Vista x64 SP1 after all... but I do not have a PC with EFI (well, except my Macs) to test it on...
     
  9. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #9
    Well, I've searched around a bit and found not one example
    of Vista + 2008 Mac Pro + EFI - BIOS[*].

    If anyone gets this working, they will be officially declared
    a hero!


    [*] "- BIOS" = "without using the BIOS compatibilty layer".
     
  10. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #10
    Price is one. The Mac Pro is cheaper then similar workstations from Dell, HP, and others.

    I'd just leave a small OS-X partition to handle firmware updates. Once set via Startup Disk, the computer will re-boot into Boot Camp until you tell it to boot back into OS X so it will be more or less like it being a "Windows only" machine.
     
  11. McGiord, May 2, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011

    McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
  12. LouisBlack macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    Balham, London
    #12
    Depending on the usage - it could be very cost effective to sell the Mac Pro and build a PC more dedicated to the task at hand.
     
  13. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #13
    Mac's all come with a BIOS compatibility layer. Windows XP SP2 and Vista will load on with no problems at all. You don't need EFI support because you already have BIOS support.

    This whole idea that you need bootcamp for windows is wrong. Bootcamp is a partitioning program and a suite of drivers. It has nothing to do with the Mac's ability to boot windows.
     
  14. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #14
    Yeah, that's covered by "unusual requirements". See above.

    For most of what most people want to do with a machine, a
    Mac Pro is more than capable.
     
  15. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #15
    While I'd mostly agree, Vista with native EFI adds some
    extra functionality that some people - by no means all
    people - may find useful (if not necessary).

    Today is national caveat day.
     
  16. gibbz macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #16
    Only running Winblows on a Mac Pro is like putting a Pinto engine in a Corvette.
     
  17. Krevnik macrumors 68040

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #17
    The 2008 Mac Pros do come with 64-bit drivers for the hardware. He should be able to just install the Bootcamp drivers that came on Restore Disc 1 and be good to go.
     
  18. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #18
    Not to flame this thread but I agree. MacPro as a general purpose PC is a bit overkill. A general purpose PC would be a 300 buck shuttle PC. Heck even an iMac would suffice more as a general purpose PC more than a Mac Pro would.

    I'd bootcamp and use a bootloader for just in case there was ever a need to goto OSX.

    I mean, getting a Ferarri and saying "It's a good back and forth to work car" is basicaly what your saying.
     
  19. krye macrumors 68000

    krye

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #19
    Won't work. XP doesn't know what EFI is. Macs do not have a BIOS. Boot Camp emulates a BIOS so that XP thinks it's on a PC.
     
  20. Krevnik macrumors 68040

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #20
    Yes it will... the BIOS emulator is in the EFI firmware in all Macs. :)

    BootCamp (the app) is just a glorified partitioning tool + drivers.
     
  21. Trainwreck707 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #21
    I installed XP Pro x64 on an added internal drive with no problems without Boot Camp.

    Insert your XP install disc, shut down, unplug your hard drive with OS 10.5, plug in a new internal drive, then restart the computer. The windows installer will work no problem.
     
  22. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #22
    That's correct. In fact I found that I could take a Vista drive with 3 partitions all in NTFS that was taken right out of a Asus X48 Intel PC and just place it in the MP and holding down the option key, I choose Windows drive and booted into a "safe mode" environment. After windows automatically loaded a few system drivers and rebooted, I was pretty much good to go. I've actually had more trouble than this chnaging MB's in PC to PC fashion. I never used bootcamp to do anything, In fact I can't update to 2.1 because it says I have no source to update.
     
  23. mmccaskill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #23
    Nicely done.
     
  24. mactulsa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    #24
    Thanks!

    I appreciate everyone's comments regarding my question. Thanks for your time - Very Informative. MacTulsa
     
  25. jsimmons macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #25
    retarded... With all the drama that it is going to be to get it working (if you ever do) I would think just paying more for a dell or hp of equal specks would be easier...

    I agree.. what a waste...
     

Share This Page