Confirmed: US purchased 3G iPads work in Europe

Discussion in 'iPad' started by sapporobaby, May 2, 2010.

  1. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #1
    I just received my 3G iPad purchased in the US. I had to really, and I mean really cut down the sim card but it fit inside and has a connection to the 3G network here in Finland. Yes, yes, yes.
     
  2. illutionz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #2
    As expected and congrats :)
     
  3. sapporobaby thread starter macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #3
    I have to admit, I was a bit nervous. If you or anyone else is interested I will post pictures of the sim card that it comes with, my new sim card and the amount of trimmings that is left over. :)
     
  4. illutionz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #4
    Go ahead I am planning to try and cut up my 3 out of my 7 old simcard to practice :cool:
     
  5. Aravintht macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    Vodafone UK will be charging pay monthly customers £5 on their next bill for a new micro sim.

    I rang up yesterday and asked, but the lady said they're not available yet.
     
  6. illutionz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #6
    I don't live in the UK but I'm just curious whether the £5 is per month or one time charge?
     
  7. sapporobaby thread starter macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #7
    Here you go:
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpeg
      1.jpeg
      File size:
      54.8 KB
      Views:
      35
    • 2.jpeg
      2.jpeg
      File size:
      55.5 KB
      Views:
      44
    • 3.jpeg
      3.jpeg
      File size:
      54.8 KB
      Views:
      31
  8. Davidkoh macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    #8
    In sweden they will charge like $4 a month to use 2 sim cards. The gain with this is that I can use data on 2 devices at the same time.
     
  9. entatlrg macrumors 68040

    entatlrg

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Waterloo & Georgian Bay, Canada
    #9
    Looks like some delicate trimming, you have to come very close to the chip I can see, exacto is probably best I guess.
     
  10. sapporobaby thread starter macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #10
    I have the same thing here in Finland. It is a great deal. REAL unlimited data for only €9.90 a month.
     
  11. sapporobaby thread starter macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #11
    I used scissors.
     
  12. Davidkoh macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    #12
    Yeah. And for an extra $4 you get to use the iPhone as normal and get data on an iPad or whatever unit you want for the same cost as your iphone had :)
     
  13. illutionz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #13
    With 1 plan??? :eek::eek::eek::eek:
    Why the hell I am still here stuck with a country where $30 data plan FOR EACH DEVICES is "revolutionary"... (and AT&T still doesn't allow tethering lol)
     
  14. sapporobaby thread starter macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #14
    Exactly. I tether my iPhone to my MBP every day for about 8 hours. :) Love it, love it.
     
  15. sapporobaby thread starter macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #15
    Do you mean Finland or Scandinavia? Finland is Nordic, but many people often confuse them as being Scandic. :)
     
  16. illutionz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #16
    The poster I was referring to was talking about Sweden... I thought they're Scandic? I guess not

    Pardon me I'll edit my post
     
  17. sapporobaby thread starter macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #17
    No need to edit dude. It is all good. I was just joking a bit, but this thing is rock solid on my 3G network, so you should be good when you do yours.
     
  18. ParishYoung macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, South West UK
    #18
    ooh, don't tell Nokia you snuck in a new Apple product. They will not be pleased. lol.
     
  19. Davidkoh macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    #19
    Yeah, with one plan. My carrier only allows 5 GB of data transfer per month though. Although I've yet to hear anyone actually getting their speed limited after 5 GB. I pay close to $30 a month though, but then u can get the dual sims and whatnot. And I can tether my iPhone if I want, when I asked customer service if they allowed tethering they said "You can consume an unlimited amount of data in any way you want". Seems AT&T doesn't like it's customers.

    EDIT: by the way, Sweden belongs to scandinavia.
     
  20. sapporobaby thread starter macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #20
    Funny you should say that. My Nokia E72 just got retired today? iPad love baby. :)
     
  21. illutionz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #21
    Well you pay close to $30 and you can just add SIM cards and use the same plan for multiple devices... This is a much much better idea than having to pay $30 for iPhone as well as $15-30 for iPad.

    To AT&T defense, however, if they allow tethering with their ever so crappy network, nobody could get on the 3G network :eek::eek:

    I am lucky that places where I live have zero AT&T problem whatsoever but my friends in dense cities in California and New York reported some crazy 56k speed on their 3G devices ;)
     
  22. Davidkoh macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    #22
    The difference is most likely population. Sweden got a total of 10 million inhabitants, so there isn't too much problems with overloading the networks. I usually get my 3 Mbit when tethering my iPhone 3G to my MBP. Sometimes there are advantages to living in a small country :p
     
  23. illutionz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #23
    I totally understand... used to live in Singapore for years and it is really not that hard to provide 100% coverage in an island nation :D:D
    Then again, the reasoning behind paying 2x $30 for two devices still boggles my mind
     
  24. Davidkoh macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    #24
    Yeah, it seems strange you guys haven't gotten a big price fight amongst your carriers. I pay 34 bucks a month and get unlimited data and around 5.000 text messages, then pay 10 cents a minutes for calls, calls to people with the same carrier as me is free. And this is pretty standard for Sweden, some carriers have a bit cheaper data plan or that you pay 1-2 cents less a minute for calls outside your own carrier.

    Seems your carriers either have bigger costs per customer or they all agreed on some "common lowest price" long ago ;)
     
  25. DKatri macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #25
    Success. Time to phone my godmother in the US!!
     

Share This Page