Connecting to my home theatre

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by bturgan, Nov 3, 2015.

  1. bturgan macrumors member

    bturgan

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Location:
    Istanbul
    #1
    since there is no optical out now, how can i connect it to my audio receiver which does not hdmi input?

    i have jvc receiver bought on 2000's and i am happy with it.

    Thanks,

    Berke
     
  2. xmlninja macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    #2
    It's easy to fix just get a new receiver with some hdmi ports.
     
  3. ohio.emt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    You can get a HDMI switch that extracts audio, or just an audio extractor.
     
  4. bturgan thread starter macrumors member

    bturgan

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Location:
    Istanbul
    #4
    Thanks, so i will get an hdmi switch with 2 hdmi outs. So my 1 hdmi out will be 2. one of them will go to tv and the other will change to rca and goes to my receiver? Hope i understood it right. :rolleyes:
     
  5. bturgan thread starter macrumors member

    bturgan

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Location:
    Istanbul
    #5
    Well ihad a newer network receiver yamaha with hdmi ports but now i am selling it cause my older jvc gives much better sound.
     
  6. DNichter macrumors 68020

    DNichter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #6
    You can connect from your tv to your receiver via "TV Out" if you have it. Either AV cables or Optical. And then from the Apple TV to TV via hdmi. Works on my Technics receiver from 95.
     
  7. Fancuku macrumors 6502a

    Fancuku

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Location:
    PA, USA
    #7
    That would work if his TV can pass the audio thru the optical out.
     
  8. ohio.emt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #8
    If you have plenty of HDMI ports on your TV you can just go with something like this.
    http://www.amazon.com/J-Tech-Digita...46573523&sr=8-2&keywords=hdmi+audio+extractor

    You would hook the HDMI cable from the ATV to the HDMI in, then a cable from HDMI out to your TV. For audio you would then hook an optical cable from the device to your receiver.

    You might be able to find one cheaper the the one posted above.
     
  9. ohio.emt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #9
    True, I didn't think about that since for some reason a lot of Tv's only like to pass 2 channel from an HDMI source.

    What model TV do you have?
     
  10. bturgan thread starter macrumors member

    bturgan

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Location:
    Istanbul
    #10
    This seems much better idea and a lot easier with out need to buy any extra equipments. Thank you.
     
  11. DNichter macrumors 68020

    DNichter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #11
    No problem. I am not great with audio stuff for some reason so it was driving me crazy for a while. Also, some TV's don't have that TV Out option for some reason. It's strange. Hope it works out for you.
     
  12. ohio.emt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #12
    It would be the way to go, which I forgot about. If your only getting 2.0 and want 5.1 audio then your TV likely doesn't pass the signal through, and you would need the extractor to get 5.1
     
  13. seadragon Contributor

    seadragon

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #13
    You could also keep the newer Yamaha receiver and use it just as a processor and the JVC as an amp. This would give you the latest surround decoding plus HDMI along with the nice sound you get from the JVC amplifiers.
     
  14. bturgan thread starter macrumors member

    bturgan

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Location:
    Istanbul
    #14
    Toshiba 40 LV655P - ty
     
  15. HobeSoundDarryl macrumors 603

    HobeSoundDarryl

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
    #15
    No, odds are very high that your TV out will only output stereo. If you like 5.1 surround, THAT is almost certainly not the answer. I'm guessing you need to either replace that receiver or get a splitter (not 1 to 2 HDMIs) but 1 HDMI to HDMI and toslink (not necessarily this one but something in this direction)...

    [​IMG]

    Then it's HDMI in from :apple:TV to HDMI out to your TV for the video signal, Toslink (optical) out to your JVC receiver. Check Amazon, there are MANY of these HDMI to Toslink splitters. They should preserve 5.1 surround if you do it this way. The picture is just a picture of one I quickly found (not an endorsement of that particular model). Read reviews on Amazon to find a good version of one of these.​
     
  16. Fancuku macrumors 6502a

    Fancuku

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Location:
    PA, USA
    #16
    That's assuming his old JVC has 5.1 analog inputs. ;)
     
  17. bturgan thread starter macrumors member

    bturgan

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Location:
    Istanbul
    #17
    T
    This seems to be an another idea which will work fine also, ty :rolleyes:
     
  18. Runt888 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    #18
    You will need one that has an HDMI input, and HDMI + Optical (S/PDIF) outputs.

    EDIT: Ninja'd by a bunch of people :) See above for options..
     
  19. bturgan thread starter macrumors member

    bturgan

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Location:
    Istanbul
    #19
    Stereo is fine with me, ty :)
     
  20. bturgan thread starter macrumors member

    bturgan

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Location:
    Istanbul
    #20
    Ah i see now, ok thanks a lot
     
  21. HobeSoundDarryl macrumors 603

    HobeSoundDarryl

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
    #21
    If you have optical out on your TV, then that probably will work (for stereo). Sometimes people find a slight delay (audio behind video) with that setup so you might want to test it. A sufficiently long toslink cable for that should be cheaper than buying the converter/splitter boxes.
     
  22. bturgan thread starter macrumors member

    bturgan

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Location:
    Istanbul
    #22
    Guys really thanks a lot for all the help, i really learnt a lot here in 5 mins, which is very usable.

    :D
     
  23. seadragon Contributor

    seadragon

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #23
    The nice thing about home theater equipment is that you usually have many options to choose from. All the suggestions in this thread are great. :)
     
  24. bturgan thread starter macrumors member

    bturgan

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Location:
    Istanbul
    #24
    İ dont have optical out but rca (red-white) outs which is better i think cause i dont like the digitalized sound that is coming from optical. Yes i am all analog guy. :)
     
  25. HobeSoundDarryl macrumors 603

    HobeSoundDarryl

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
    #25
    That will work too and those cables will probably be even cheaper... and, as analog, I bet you won't have the audio delay bug either.
     

Share This Page