Considering a 15" MBP, but... (MBP vs Thinkpad)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Coswyn, May 3, 2010.

1. Coswyn macrumors member

Coswyn

I'm a web designer/developer and do all of my work from a desktop, but I have decided in the last month that I need a relatively portable notebook (12"-15") to increase my productivity. I've spent the last month or so researching multiple models from a number of popular makers (chief among them being Apple and Lenovo). All of my work is done in a PC (Windows) environment, but I've been seriously considering making the switch to Mac OS because of its simplified and elegant aesthetics (Windows, while I'm well accustomed to working with it, falls short of Mac OS on usability).

Here are my options:

Lenovo Thinkpad X201s:
    2.13GHz Intel Core i7 640LM; Windows 7; 8GB RAM; 160GB SSD; 12.1" 1440x900 LED-LCD w/ matte finish; Integrated Intel HD Graphics; external DVD drive

Apple MacBook Pro 15:
    2.66GHz Intel Core i7-620M; OS X (Windows 7 Optional); 8GB RAM; 160GB SSD; 15.4" 1680x1050 LED-LCD w/ antiglare finish; Nvidia GeForce GT 330M GPU; DVD SuperMultiDrive

I've been [over]contemplating the advantages and disadvantages of my options for some time now and would like to appeal to MacBook Pro (and ThinkPad, if there are any here) users for help on coming to a final decision...

----------

Pros: