Could This P4 System be Upgraded to a Core 2 duo or better?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Maserati7200, Dec 6, 2009.

  1. Maserati7200 macrumors 6502a

    Maserati7200

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    11230, Midwood, Brooklyn, NY, USA, North America
    #1
    My house (well, my fathers house :p) is primarily all Macs at this point. We got our first Mac in 2002 (the 17" iMac G4) and never got another PC again. And from June 2004 to November 2009 our old PC (a Dell Dimension P3 600 Mhz from 1998) hasn't been connected to the internet. My siblings and I have mainly used that computer to play PC games such as roller coaster tycoon and BVE and other stuff.
    Anyway, a few months ago a friend of my father's gave us a Dell Dimension 2400 which has a 2.66 GHz P4. He gave them away because he business was upgrading to new computers. My father and I, both being computer enthusiasts, wanted it to have this as our project. We recently put a new ethernet card, and just today installed 2 GB of RAM (before it had a measly 512 MB). The only limitation on this computer seems to be it's processor, a P4.

    I keep reading that on PC's (and Macs) you can upgrade the processor without changing the mother board. Would this mother board take a C2D or better? The wattage doesn't seem like a problem considering that it is 200 -250 W and those C2D's/i5's are 45-100 W.

    Now I really don't know much about sockets and what not, and I don't know what processors would work if at all. This is where your help comes in. Hopefully Eidorian will see this thread because it seems like he's an expert on this stuff.

    EDIT: I've been looking at processors on this page: http://www.newegg.com/Store/Category.aspx?Category=34&name=CPUs-Processors
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  3. Maserati7200 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Maserati7200

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    11230, Midwood, Brooklyn, NY, USA, North America
    #3
    Ok, do you know why? Is there anything it can be upgraded to?
     
  4. CarlisleUnited macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Location:
    Nederland
    #4
    use CPU-Z to see what socket and chipset your motherboard has and post it back here
     
  5. LeeTom macrumors 68000

    LeeTom

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    #5
    different socket. won't fit. you could probably go to a faster P4, but it won't really be worth it. use it or ditch it.
     
  6. Maserati7200 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Maserati7200

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    11230, Midwood, Brooklyn, NY, USA, North America
    #6
    Here are the cpuz.... im being optimistic
     

    Attached Files:

  7. sysiphus macrumors 6502a

    sysiphus

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    #7
    Short answer is that yes, you probably can find something faster/better that will fit in that processor socket, but it'll hardly be worth the cost. There's no way you'll get any dual-core processor to work in that socket. If you were super-lucky, there might be an early Pentium D that would work, but you'd probably be stuck with another P4.
     
  8. Maserati7200 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Maserati7200

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    11230, Midwood, Brooklyn, NY, USA, North America
  9. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
  10. Maserati7200 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Maserati7200

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    11230, Midwood, Brooklyn, NY, USA, North America
    #10
    ..which isn't worth it, I found a report in 2007 that the highest end P4 (a 3.73 GHz dual core) gets beaten by the mid range c2d's of 2007. Technology moves on I guess. Thanks for the helpful answers everyone.
     

Share This Page