CrackBook Issues

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by marshallbedsaul, Oct 8, 2010.

  1. marshallbedsaul macrumors 6502a

    marshallbedsaul

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #1
    Hello,
    I have heard a few times people getting replacements from apple for this problem. Even customers that are out of apples 1 yr warranty or apple care. So I am just trying to see where I stand with this problem. My mac has the cracks that look like dark marks running not on the hand pad but below it where you open up the computer and a bunch of nicks near the cd port and a little pattern by a usb port. So would I be able to go to the apple store and have them replace my cracks with a new casing ect..?
    Sorry if this has been covered in the past.
     
  2. marshallbedsaul thread starter macrumors 6502a

    marshallbedsaul

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #3
    its hard to see due to my crappy camera, but this is best I can take.

    crack is the darker line it runs alone to the left side it starts at the opening just to the right of it.[​IMG]
     
  3. marshallbedsaul thread starter macrumors 6502a

    marshallbedsaul

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #4
    also i have noticed the fan is loud and computer gets hot
    and when I have 2 fingers on the touch pad and scroll down I hear a odd sound almost sounds like a peeping but very silent when i scroll it goes away and and just comes back after like touching silent sound than back.
     
  4. pvmacguy macrumors 65816

    pvmacguy

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Location:
    Jax
    #5
    As for the peeping sound, it sounds like a processor whine that some computers suffer from.

    Only thing you can do about the cracking is to take it to the genius bar and see what they say. :)
     
  5. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #6
    Processor whine??? Processors don't whine. The CPU fan may, but definitely not the processor itself.
     
  6. marshallbedsaul thread starter macrumors 6502a

    marshallbedsaul

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #7
    I am just worried I may have a problem
    I dont like that my macbook is having a loud fan and a hot casing
    I ran cpu when the fan was not on and its as follows I am not sure what it means if anyone could help that be great.
    Processes: 44 total, 2 running, 1 stuck, 41 sleeping... 218 threads 11:06:03
    Load Avg: 0.37, 0.55, 0.73 CPU usage: 6.45% user, 6.91% sys, 86.64% idle
    SharedLibs: num = 8, resident = 49M code, 416K data, 3136K linkedit.
    MemRegions: num = 16586, resident = 321M + 9744K private, 106M shared.
    PhysMem: 217M wired, 495M active, 268M inactive, 981M used, 43M free.
    VM: 5894M + 387M 89726(1) pageins, 157669(0) pageouts

    PID COMMAND %CPU TIME #TH #PRTS #MREGS RPRVT RSHRD RSIZE VSIZE
    1110 top 8.1% 0:02.07 1 18 29 536K 188K 1128K 18M
    1099 bash 0.0% 0:00.01 1 14 19 256K 184K 900K 18M
    1098 login 0.0% 0:00.03 1 17 55 336K 188K 1116K 19M
    1097 Terminal 5.5% 0:01.69 3 97- 167 2996K+ 7436K 9072K+ 348M
    1095 quicklookd 0.0% 0:00.07 5 87 51 548K 2284K 2612K 292M
    1085 mdworker 0.0% 0:00.45 3 51 43 1344K 1348K 3400K 30M
    192 AppleSpell 0.0% 0:00.48 1 23 30 276K 3712K 2164K 34M
    172 Safari 9.5% 3:45:46 24 835- 12621 269M- 20M 214M- 1343M-
    101 iTunesHelp 0.0% 0:00.08 2 53 44 164K 1128K 960K 281M
    93 Finder 0.0% 0:08.28 11 200- 308 6476K- 13M 17M- 408M-
    91 SystemUISe 0.0% 0:06.38 7 242 303 1928K 5704K 4772K 341M
    90 coreaudiod 0.0% 0:00.16 2 118 50 344K 648K 1144K 20M
    88 ATSServer 0.0% 0:07.42 2 86 297 1368K 3884K 8148K 198M
    87 pboard 0.0% 0:00.00 1 15 24 32K 184K 348K 19M
    86 Dock 0.0% 0:01.44 3 119 263 1324K 9960K 5272K 349M
    84 UserEventA 0.0% 0:00.31 3 139 90 524K 1584K 1688K 31M
     
  7. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #8
    It might help if you open up the MacBook and use some compressed air to clean out the fan and vent holes. The first time I took mine apart, I was surprised to see how much gunk had been collected in there.

    If you still find the fan to be too noisy, maybe it's dying and needs to be replaced.

    As for the cracks, I have no idea how Apple handles them.
     
  8. marshallbedsaul thread starter macrumors 6502a

    marshallbedsaul

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #9
    I took my mac to apple today and had them look at the thing. The lady that helped didnt really care about the cracks just said it cost a lot to fix. Than checked my mac because of the fan issue and heat. She ran a test on everything and there are no problems. So bottom line she said upgrade ram which I will do soo, but she said I can only upgrade to 2gb is that true? and get 10.6 and that will make a difference
     
  9. Richdmoore macrumors 68000

    Richdmoore

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Troutdale, OR
    #10
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    I have had a bad fan once that made noise, and the topcase has cracked 4 times. I was always within warranty, but was told they fix the cracks even out of warranty.
     
  10. marshallbedsaul thread starter macrumors 6502a

    marshallbedsaul

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #11
    this is off topic but I rather not create another topic in the forum.
    Will my system run any better if I upgrade the ram and upgrade to 10.6?
    My HD is already upgraded.
     
  11. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #12
    What did you upgrade your hard drive to?

    How much RAM do you have now? Does your computer have a lot of Page Outs?
     
  12. marshallbedsaul thread starter macrumors 6502a

    marshallbedsaul

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #13
    Currently my specs are
    2.16 intel core 2 duo
    1gb ddr2 sdram
    I upgraded my hd fro m120 to 160

    whate exactly are page outs?
     
  13. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #14
    page in's and outs are basically the same as virtual memory

    if your page out's are a lot lower then the page in's which is ideal ,then you wont need to add ram

    but if your page out's are a lot higher then the page ins you would see a improvement in speed if you add more ram,


    ideal to see after you have started up fresh your Mac in the morning and worked for a day what you do normally

    and if at the end of the day there are quiet a lot page outs in comparison to page ins , its worth spending the money on the ram

    but if your page outs are lower then page ins , then dont bother spending the money on extra ram
    and have a nice day out with the money
     
  14. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #15
    The following can help you determine if you need more RAM or not:

    http://macintoshhowto.com/hardware/does-my-mac-need-more-memory.html

    Based on your answer regarding what you upgraded your hard drive to, I assume that your only concern when going from the 120GB drive to the 160GB drive was the capacity. If you are looking to maximize on performance, you may consider a Solid State Drive (aka SSD), a hybrid SSD/HD (namely, the Seagate Momentus XT), or just a 7200RPM hard drive (assuming that what you have now is a 5400RPM drive).
     
  15. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #16
    Activity Monitor will tell you how many page outs you have. I would say 2gb is minimum these days.
     
  16. marshallbedsaul thread starter macrumors 6502a

    marshallbedsaul

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #17
    reason for upgrading my ram would be so I can run 10.6 smoothly with out just having the minimum requirements. Also I heard the ssd HD is a little expensive.
     
  17. marshallbedsaul thread starter macrumors 6502a

    marshallbedsaul

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #18
    my info is
    my page ins 195.44 MB my page outs 147.33MB
     
  18. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #19
    Yes, SSDs can be a expensive. It all comes down to how much speed you want... The faster you want a system to be, the more you're going to have to spend.
     
  19. marshallbedsaul thread starter macrumors 6502a

    marshallbedsaul

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #20
    thanks for your advice
    Today I went to restart my macbook and notice a folder with question mark flash right before the apple logo is that normal. My battery at the time was drained would that have any thing to do with this problem?

    I prob will do ram upgrade and ssd upgrade and software just as long as its worth doing to the system.
     
  20. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #21
    Try going to System Preferences -> Startup Disk and selecting your hard drive to see if that will help resolve the "question mark in a folder" problem.
     
  21. marshallbedsaul thread starter macrumors 6502a

    marshallbedsaul

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #22
    thank you for all your help so far
    so i see that I am booting from that should I use that or my hard drive?
     
  22. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
  23. spacepower7 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #24
    I had two plastic MacBooks fixed last summer, one was 6 months after a three year applecare warranty would have expired. Didn't buy the extended AppleCare on that one.

    Here's what I got from Applecare phone support. It might be better to try to set a genius appointment over the phone (with AppleCare) and then go to the store.

    Here's what got me fixed:

    "Please reference internal article "ts1964" to gain agreement with AppleCare agent to initiate repair at no charge. AppleCare agent to obtain "CS" code and provide case number."

    Good Luck
     
  24. marshallbedsaul thread starter macrumors 6502a

    marshallbedsaul

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #25
    I was offered a possible trade by my friend he as a late 2007 black macbook 2.2ghz and 2gb of ram and 160gb hd
    vs
    my 2.16 ghz 1gb of ram and 160 gb hd mine is mid 07

    he just wants a white macbook now.
     

Share This Page