Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

THX

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 25, 2005
I'm a student and I have a credit card, however my limit is of 500$. I would like to purchase an ibook, however this would exceed my credit limit. How can I make such a purchase if my credit card limit is too low? I have more than enough funds in my bank account, however I appear to have some difficulty transfering it.

PlaceofDis

macrumors Core
Jan 6, 2004
see if you can get a debit card for your bank account and you should be able to pay for it through your bank account though the debit card without a problem so long as it has a Mastercard/Visa logo

mkrishnan

Moderator emeritus
Jan 9, 2004
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
THX said:
I'm a student and I have a credit card, however my limit is of 500$. I would like to purchase an ibook, however this would exceed my credit limit. How can I make such a purchase if my credit card limit is too low? I have more than enough funds in my bank account, however I appear to have some difficulty transfering it.

Do you mean that you're a high school student, and your card is one of those ones that is co-signed by your parents, or a college student under 18, or...? Anyway, this is what I would suggest, but it might need your parents to talk to the CC company on your behalf and not just you, depending on the circumstances...

Call your credit card company. Many of them will offer temporarily enhanced limits to allow a person to make a large purchase. Perhaps you can mail them the money (a check for the rough figure, to be deposited into your account, as if you were paying an existing balance) *before* you buy the computer.

EDIT: What PlaceofDis said while I was typing is really good advice too. ;)

THX

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 25, 2005
I checked into it, however I am not able to acquire such a card :(

THX

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 25, 2005