Crucial 1GB RAM for $35AR

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by plux79, May 1, 2007.

  1. plux79 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    #1
  2. pianoman macrumors 68000

    pianoman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #2
    excellent price! people were asking me a few days ago where to get good quality but inexpensive RAM - here it is!
     
  3. Andrew D. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #3
    Wow, that's a really good price. Good find! Thanks!
     
  4. InlawBiker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #4
    Coincidentally I just came from Newegg and ordered a pair. The limit on rebates is 10 per household, so stock up!

    Greg.
     
  5. johnee macrumors 6502a

    johnee

    #5
    is crucial ram the best memory to get outside of apple's "official" ram?
     
  6. pianoman macrumors 68000

    pianoman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #6
    depends who you ask - people have different experiences with different companies and products. i would say, though, that Crucial is one of the most trusted, most reliable companies from which you can buy RAM and their products are high quality.
     
  7. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
  8. johnee macrumors 6502a

    johnee

    #8
    Brilliant, thank you!
     
  9. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #9
    I'll never call any one the best, I just always recommend Mac guaranteed RAM. This does not appear to be from Crucial's Mac line (someone correct me if I'm wrong), so I personally will refrain from this tempting price.
     
  10. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

    Veritas&Equitas

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    #10
    Saw this deal earlier on slickdeals. I bought 2 of 'em! Great price

    Grapes, this Crucial memory will work just fine with any Mac. I have it in my MBP and MB, no problems.
     
  11. ModestPenguin macrumors 6502

    ModestPenguin

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Location:
    OKC
    #11
    just for absolute certainty, this will work in an intel imac correct?

    thanks.
     
  12. esaleris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    #12
    In the past, I know that CD Macbooks used Crucial RAM for the official RAM. But spot prices may have changed that. Even so, this is one of the only sticks that uses the 5-5-5-12 timing that is used by Apple; most other brands show CAS timing of "5" but are, in actuality, timed at 5-5-5-15.

    You can still use 5-5-5-15 with no problems, but 5-5-5-12 is a slightly more advantageous timing.
     
  13. johnee macrumors 6502a

    johnee

    #13
    that's why I love this place... You got as deep as CAS timings! :) :)
     
  14. Rizvi1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Location:
    Laurel, MD (Baltimore, MD / Washington, DC area)
    #14
    anyone see anything for a 2gb stick for the 15" 2.16ghz macbook pro C2D?
     
  15. wildcardd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #15
    Just ordered my 2 sticks. Now just to be sure, I access both ram slots from the lower middle portion of my 20" imac?
     
  16. AJ Muni macrumors 65816

    AJ Muni

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Location:
    Miami
    #16
    Just to make sure..this will work on my CD MBP and my gf's CD MB correct?

    EDIT: NVM
     
  17. saturnino3 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    #17
    Will this sucker work with my G4 Powerbook 1.33 GHz?
     
  18. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #18
    Nope.

    IIRC, Apple started using DDR2 with the MBPs. Or maybe the very last gen PowerBooks G4s. But I have a 2nd-to-last gen PB and it uses DDR, not DDR2
     
  19. hidehide macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    #19
    Yea.. they are not the mac line..
    Can anyone confirm it can be used in C2D macbook?
    Thanks..
     
  20. MSD401 macrumors 6502

    MSD401

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Location:
    Ogden, UT
    #20
    sweet deal just got one to make my MBP 2 gigs ...very nice:apple:
     
  21. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #21
    UPS just dropped mine off and I already installed it. Works great, and my iMac seems to be a lot snappier with 2 gigs. Now the fun part.....all the damn rebate paperwork.

    Thanks again for posting the link!
     
  22. esaleris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    #22
    Wow, that's strange. I have not noticed that it is faster. But I know it is faster, so ... I guess it works.
     
  23. hidehide macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    #23
    I guess the more RAM only makes your computer works without lag when you open lots of program.. it should be the same if you are running less program...
     
  24. Prelude2Tragedy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #24
    Recieved mine (2x1gig sticks) the other day as well, no problems at all in the macbook. There are also fillable rebate forms over at slickdeals for those not wanting to write them out by hand.
     
  25. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #25
    OK, once again (sorry, but if you have been around MR a while you know that these same questions come up week after week, month after month):

    Yes the specifications on this RAM are correct for the Intel Core/Core2Duo Macs and many people have used it successfully in the past.

    No, Crucial does not provide any compatibility guarantee on this model number (and neither does NewEgg) so if there is an issue, you are on your own. Because it is the Crucial generic part, they are free to change the construction of this part number at any time. In the past with other models, this has resulted in incompatibility with certain model Macs. So there is not an iron clad guarantee that this part will be the same next month as it was last month. The chance of problems is very slim but not zero.

    No, Apple has never, ever used Crucial brand RAM in any of their machines. Apple does not buy retail RAM, they buy in wholesale quantities direct from the manufacturers. Apple uses RAM from Samsung, Hynix and Micron (Crucial's parent company) and a couple of others. Every intel Mac that I have upgraded so far has used Hynix 512 Mb modules, but this will vary month to month with Apple's supply contracts.
     

Share This Page