Crysis 2 on high end macbook pro 15, 2011, or xbox?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by TheGingerNinja, Mar 23, 2011.

  1. TheGingerNinja macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    #1
    Should I get Crysis 2 on xbox or macbook (on bootcamp obviously)
    Just curious as to which would run/ look better.
    Cheers. :D
     
  2. M Powered macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    #2
    I have a gaming rig PC with crossfire 5870's and it runs pretty smooth on extreme settings. To even THINK of running that game on a MBP is laughable, go with the Xbox
     
  3. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    Whilst Crysis 2 will scale far better on differing hardware compared to the original, I too would recommend the xbox 360 version.

    Whilst you may not get the higher resolution, you do get all the lighting, motion blur, post processing effects and 2x AntiAliasing with a relatively stable 30fps frame rate.

    The chances are it will look better (albeit at a lower resolution) and play more stable on the console where it has been truly optimised for best peformanceit can deliver.
     
  4. TheGingerNinja thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
  5. SyncFx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #5
    NO PS3 version! :D lol jk.
     
  6. TheGingerNinja thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    #6
    Well I do have a ps3 as well, but from the sounds of it the xbox version runs marginally better :p
    Though I still think ps3 version should run "better", xbox is just easier to program for on multiplats so what can you do.
    Oh well, xbox version it is! :D
     
  7. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #7
    What are the specs of the Macbook?
    I know Crysis 2's engine is more efficient than the first. But a Macbook? Hmm. The PC version will be better, it just depends on if your GPU+CPU+Memory are up for it :D.
     
  8. TheGingerNinja thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    #8
    Specs are:
    2.2GHz quad-core
    Intel Core i7
    4GB 1333MHz
    500GB 7200-rpm
    Intel HD Graphics 3000
    AMD Radeon HD 6750M with 1GB GDDR5
     
  9. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #9
    Actually your specs are nice. The 6750 gpu is very capable. You should certainly be able to run the game with mainstream settings and achieve similar results to the 360 version. However again how well it will play and how stable the frame rate will be questionable. Remember 360 version is actually 1024x576 res, the post processing of crytek engine masks the lower res. So as long as your willing to run at a comparable res, you should 'in theory' be grand.
     
  10. TheGingerNinja thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    #10
    Yeah I think a few of my friends are getting it on xbox, so that sort of seals the deal. No worries, I have enough pc gaming to come from Shogun 2 so not too upset :p
     
  11. JasonH42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #11
    Got the same spec as you and it runs at about 50fps on Gamer settings at native resolution, 1440x900 for me. Overclocked the 6750 slightly. Way better than XBox.
     
  12. txa1265 macrumors 6502a

    txa1265

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Location:
    Corning, NY
    #12
    Yawn.

    The game runs great on my Alienware m11x, which means it will run great on a 2011 MBP with discrete GPU.

    Thing to remember - it is a console port, and the X360 is much weaker than any current system, so even in spite of the lousy optimization it will run on at least 'high' with the MBP.

    Also remember - it IS a crappy, lazy console port, right down to asking you to push the 'start button'. :rolleyes:
     
  13. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #13
    Really?! You overclocked that 6750 slightly? I want to know how you accomplished this....
     
  14. mzeb macrumors member

    mzeb

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    #14
    Hmmm...depends on what you're after

    The MBP is capable of providing better detail in terms of what technology exists in the 6750 vs the xbox. The API sets for the xbox and windows implementations of DirectX (ok, by name the Xbox SDK isn't DirectX but it is) are similar but the Xbox is missing a lot of DX11 rendering ability that exists in the Win 7. So bottom line, you'll get better detail on the MBP (albeit at a lower frame rate) but since the Xbox is a standard platform and dedicated gaming box you'll probably see better performance at a similar detail level. That said, the decision is easy in my opinion... you get the gamer points on the Xbox where as Crysis 2 is GFW Live Enabled so you'd miss out on the MBP :).
     
  15. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #15
    Why don't you download the demo?

    WRONG. Perhaps you don't know what kind of hardware are in recent MacBook Pros.
     
  16. MrRobotto macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    #16
    I can verify that the 2.2Ghz Macbook Pro with the 6750m runs Crysis 2 very smoothly under Boot Camp. I'm using the 'advanced' setting at 1280x800, it looks great and plays really well. Of course native resolution would be nice, if you have the standard 1440x900 15" macbook, the native resolution may run quite well too.

    I'm not sure about exact frame rates, but I'm pretty finicky and I find it to be just fine :D
     
  17. JasonH42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #17
    MSI Afterburner, using 780/900 settings and get about 12K in 3DMark06. Everything runs great, MW/MW2/Black Ops/BFBC2 etc.
     
  18. iMacN00b macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    #18
    Game runs great (30-45fps) on iMac 2010 27" with mobility 5850 at 1100/750 (80 GB/s)

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cMMyWw_HOe8

    I think PC gamers are too harsh on later mac hardware, it seems to me that games run pretty well.
     
  19. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #19
    Newer Macs do have very nice specs, but still you have mobility graphics. That's why I'm keeping my older Mac as my min computer and building a gaming PC. :)
     
  20. Dr McKay macrumors 68040

    Dr McKay

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Location:
    Kirkland
    #20
    Installing it on Steam as we speak, managed to sneak in as their servers are getting hammered, took me 20 minutes to grab a slot.

    Sorry to Thread Hi-Jack but how well do you think it will run on mine? the Game asks for 2.0Ghz Dual-Core.

    Is Turbo-Boost on the i7 something that happens automatically when it senses it's needed?
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #21
    Turbo-Boost is for single core apps. Some games can do multi-core.

    i7 > i5> core 2 duo > core duo
     
  22. Dr McKay macrumors 68040

    Dr McKay

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Location:
    Kirkland
    #22
    A dual-core 2.8Ghz i7 should be plenty for a game asking for 2Ghz Core 2 Duo?
     
  23. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #23
    This. If You have anythin higger it should work. Otherwise check your other settings
     
  24. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #24
    Even on PC's lowest setting "gamer" it will look better than the xbox 360 version (which btw is running at 1440x720 so at 1440x900 on the 15" MBP you'll have slightly higher res and even better graphics. Go check out the comparison videos you can find online now!
     
  25. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #25
    The xbox has a ATI xenos GPU witch is a ATI x1900xt gpu made for xbox.

    The 6750m is faster faster than the desktop x1900xt by far.

    So the Macbook Pro should be better.
     

Share This Page