CUBE!

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Gamer9430, Feb 16, 2016.

  1. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #1
    FINALLY! One of my most desired macs that I still did not own has finally found its way to me. Today, I won a bid on a cube for the amazing price of $32 +$23 shipping, so for $55 I got a 450MHz Cube without the PSU. I'm still looking for a PSU (preferably cheap), but have come up expensive so far. Thus, I wont be able to use it at first when I get it, but at least it will look nice for the time being. I'm extremely happy that I finally got a cube (and for the awesome price too). I cant wait to see it in person and eventually use it!
     
  2. CooperBox macrumors 6502a

    CooperBox

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    France - between Ricard & Absinthe
    #2
    Good for you, excellent purchase at that price!
    I've had one PSU suddenly go 'Phuut!' with a burning smell. Completely expired. Looked around for another which when available were on average around 50€ ($55). I was in no hurry to purchase as I had a second Cube & PSU. Then a few months later I saw one a short drive away, priced at 22€ ($25) which I quickly grabbed.
    Hope you find a reasonably priced PSU, but pending that, the Cube certainly makes an interesting & very attractive show-piece.
     
  3. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #3
    Nice find. The single 450 MHz G4 is quite limiting nowadays (really wish upgrades weren't so rare and expensive), but I do like my Cube.

    Did you get the USB Apple Pro Speakers with yours? These aren't easy to find separate from the Cube, and without an external USB or Firewire DAC you won't be able to play any sound.
     
  4. Gamer9430 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #4
    Thanks! Sadly, it definitely will be a bit limiting, but with some optimizations, Leopard should purr nicely. I know it's also possible to overclock it, so I might do that at some point.

    Sadly, I did not get the USB pro speakers. I hope to get them at some point in the future if they aren't too expensive (haven't looked at prices). When you say USB DAC, do you mean if I get a different pair of speakers powered by USB, it would work fine? I'm not familiar with what a USB DAC is, so forgive me if it's something really basic.
     
  5. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #5
    The lowest I've tried it on was a dual-processor 450 MHz Gigabit Ethernet (before upgrading it to dual 500), and on there it ran acceptably quick, but the Cube has half as many processors and even Tiger feels a little sluggish. Do let me know how it runs.
    A pair of speakers that only has a USB connection (not just for power) should work, it would have a built-in DAC. You can also get a standalone DAC with a regular audio-out port to connect standard speakers or headphones (not sure which ones work with a G4).
     
  6. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    I have the same issue with mine, I really want to get the pro speakers, but don't want to spend so much on speakers. As red heeled said, an external DAC may work depending on compatiblity. I just wish the cube had a 3.5mm jack!
     
  7. spf2 macrumors regular

    spf2

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Location:
    7exas
    #7
  8. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #8
    I've run Leopard on a 400mhz Sawtooth, although admittedly I have used better GPUs than are necessarily available(right now I'm running a Radeon 9800). I've also run it on a 400mz TiBook, which of course is severely limited in the GPU department(install the Rage 128 kexts from Tiger if you're going to try and use a Rage 128 in Leopard).

    Now that I think about it, I also have it running on a B&W G3 with a 450mhz G4 upgrade, although I'm running a(flashed) FX5200 in that system(CI support).

    A Cube can be made to run well with Leopard. I have more than one with it installed, although admittedly some of those do have CPU upgrades.

    One last thing-I have one Cube set up with a Griffin iMic. It has both audio in and audio out capabilities, although I don't use the audio in. The Harmon-Kardon Soundsticks with the "jellyfish" subwoofer are a really nice upgrade over the "eyeballs" if you want to spend the money on them.
     
  9. gooser macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    #9
    bunn, does your cube work well with your imic?
     
  10. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #10
    As I said, for sound output it works great.
     
  11. CooperBox macrumors 6502a

    CooperBox

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    France - between Ricard & Absinthe
    #12
    Just for info, I somewhere read that it's wise to keep the Cube PSU always connected to the mains supply. On one of my systems, I used to shut-down the Cube by logging off, and then over a period of perhaps a few days, would disconnect the PSU from the mains supply several times (to use the single wall socket for another appliance). It was s short time after a similar series of events that the PSU blew!
    Now with the replacement PSU, I always keep it connected to the mains supply and also to the Cube. And even with the Cube shut down, looking into the air exit vent at the top, one can see a dim light inside where the PSU is still maintaining a trickle supply of power.
    This tip may prevent other users from having their PSU expiring earlier than designed to.
     
  12. flyrod macrumors 6502

    flyrod

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    #13
    The cube runs on 28v, so if you can find one of those good for a couple amps it could be used. Also, the 533MHz CPU from a tower makes a decent upgrade because these are inexpensive, have 7410 chips that use less power and nearly always do 600MHz easily. It's also possible to put in the dual 450/500 tower CPU, but this would probably require a base fan for cooling.
     
  13. Gamer9430 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #14
    Awesome tip, thanks! I usually leave my stuff plugged in unless I have to move it or I need the outlet for something else, so that's good to know. I'll have to try and find a permanent outlet for it on one of my power strips.
     
  14. Gamer9430 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #15
    Good to know. I think it's going to be a bit difficult to find a PSU, sadly. Also, I'd love to do a CPU upgrade at some point, so that would likely be a cheap route to use DA CPUs. I also plan to get a base fan as soon as I find one that will fit :)
     
  15. Gamer9430 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
  16. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #17
    You also need to solder to fit the dual 450 in the Cube as there is a copper coil that is too tall for the Cubes' heat sink. You would need to melt it down I think.
     
  17. swamprock macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #18
    I missed a 500 mhz Cube with everything included for $100 on Craigslist a couple of days ago. By a minute. Damn.
     
  18. flyrod macrumors 6502

    flyrod

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    #19
    I think there was a post on cube owner about using 24v and it worked fine too (non ADC), so something like this would do it:

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/252257040229
     
  19. havokalien macrumors 6502a

    havokalien

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kelso, Wa
    #20
    Go to cube owner dot com and look around. There is a power supply, dual output used from what I remember. I think it also labels all the pins so as not to fry anything.
     
  20. Gamer9430 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #21
    So basically, I buy that PSU, then get some copper insulated wires or something, then plug them into their respective terminals on the PSU and power input jack on the cube?
     
  21. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #22
    The actual thread on cubeowners.com is here.
    The mod he did with his involved using the original failed cube power supply cord and connector
    which made for an easy fix.
     
  22. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #23
    IIRC, the PSU for a 30" Apple Display is same one. Might help in the search.
     
  23. Gamer9430 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #24
    The legend has arrived...
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1455921096.008087.jpg ImageUploadedByTapatalk1455921118.750668.jpg ImageUploadedByTapatalk1455921153.767512.jpg

    So it arrived safely this afternoon. There is a rather large crack on the top, I'm not sure if that is from shipping. There's also some scratches here and there on the case, but beyond that it's looking good. Anyway, upon opening it up, there's an AirPort card, DVD ROM ODD, 1.2GB of RAM (2x 512MB, 1x 256MB), an 80GB HDD, and likely a Rage 128. The sticker said 450MHz/64MB RAM/DVD ROM/20GB HD/56k, so the AirPort, RAM, and HDD were upgraded afterwards. The CPU is likely still a 450, but I won't be able to tell until it's powered up. Really excited to play with this thing in the future and its truly a work of art!
     
  24. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #25
    That's definitely a rage128! Looks like I didn't get credit for finding the cube haha! But anyhow, glad it arrived in one piece and with upgrades!
     

Share This Page