Custom Built Computer - Can I go with Mac OS X Tiger?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by logansosa, May 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. logansosa macrumors newbie

I am new to mac (currently have pc) and I am thinking of building my first computer from scratch, I have done considerable research (though I am far from being competent in the computer building department) but I want to know if I can custom build with a Mac OS X, I have put together a list of what Configurations I want to go with. I will be running Final Cut Pro so I wanted a bad ass desktop with OS X Tiger, then I would also buy a MacBook because I have to have my laptop. Here is the LIST:

Case:Antec Performance One P150 White Midsize Tower: $115.75
    ATX - 8 Bays - 430w Power Supply
    Motherboard: Asus P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP Motherboard: $201.99
    Core 2 Duo LGA 775, P965 express, 8Gb DDR2, 1066Mhz FSB
    CPU:Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Duol Core Processor $224.90
    2.4Ghz, 4MB 1066Mhz FSB, LGA 775
    Article Cooling Freezer 7 Pro CPU Heatsink $28.92
    Hard Drive:WD Caviar SE16 500GB Hard Drive $116.90
    Serial ATA-300, 7200 rpm, 16MB
    Optical Drive:Lite-onLH-20A1H Dual Layer DVD+-RW Writer $43.41
    16x/8x/20x DVD+R DVD-R
    Graphics Card:eVGA GeForce 7600GT KO Video Card $127.27
    256MB, PCI Express X 16, Dual DVI
    And all soundcards I saw specifically noted Windows as the operating system.
    I might have overlooked many of these items as well as being only windows compatible, but I made an effort to search for Operating system compatability but most of these did not list any compatability requirements for Operating Systems, Any help would be great,

Thanks
    Logan

2. iMeowbot macrumors G3

iMeowbot

Short answer: No.

Long answer: We can't really talk about the long answer on MacRumors :eek:

3. psychofreak Retired

psychofreak

Not legally, and if you get it running its not going to be smooth...

4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus