iPad Cydia icon is gone

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by IpadSC400, Jun 3, 2013.

  1. IpadSC400 macrumors 6502a

    IpadSC400

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    A mile high
    #1
    I closed it after it said "could damage something" basically. As soon as I closed it, the Cydia icon disappeared. This is on an iPad 1
    THanks
     
  2. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #2
    you have ifile or SSH installed? if so download last Cydia release and with ifunbox or similar file explorer put it on the phone, now use ifile to install or put in /var/root/Cydia/AutoInstall and reboot.
     
  3. IpadSC400 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    IpadSC400

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    A mile high
  4. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #4
    try ifunbox and see if you can get into the file structure
     
  5. IpadSC400 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    IpadSC400

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    A mile high
    #5
    I know, old thread bump, but I'm got iFunBox and am gonna look through the files. I'll let you know what I find.
     
  6. IpadSC400 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    IpadSC400

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    A mile high
    #6
    I have something called "Cydia.app" inside system applications, using iFunBox. How do I restore it back? HELP!!!
     
  7. aPple nErd macrumors 68030

    aPple nErd

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Jailbreaks/IOS Hacks
    #7
    What is your ios version? And have you dumped/saved your shsh blobs?
     
  8. IpadSC400 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    IpadSC400

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    A mile high
    #8
    Don't know what a shsh blob is...ios version is 5.1.1, which is up to date with this iPad.:rolleyes:
     
  9. aPple nErd macrumors 68030

    aPple nErd

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Jailbreaks/IOS Hacks
    #9
    then, just restore. thats what i would do anyway.
     
  10. IpadSC400 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    IpadSC400

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    A mile high
    #10
    okay, will this erase all of my settings/apps/stuff and wifi addresses?
     
  11. aPple nErd macrumors 68030

    aPple nErd

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Jailbreaks/IOS Hacks
    #11
    Yes. You will have to set it up like its just out of the box. Just backup to icloud or itunes first, and restore. This will delete all cydia tweaks, also. Then just jailbreak with redsn0w.
     
  12. IpadSC400, Jul 2, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2013

    IpadSC400 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    IpadSC400

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    A mile high
    #12
    And I reset it by sticking a toothpick inside that tiny "reset" hole? Wanna make sure...:cool: APRIL FOOLS LOLZIES
     
  13. IpadSC400 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    IpadSC400

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    A mile high
    #13
    NM, I reset it using the reset feature in general<reset<reset all settings and erase all data> so luxurious...:D iPad in the process of being reset right now.
     
  14. IpadSC400 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    IpadSC400

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    A mile high
    #14
    my ipad wont reset, its jailbroken. this is frustrating...:mad:
     
  15. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #15
    You have to restore using iTunes
     
  16. AppleMaster9 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    #16
    That's a big no no when jailbroken. You must restore with iTunes.
     
  17. IpadSC400 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    IpadSC400

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    A mile high
    #17
    But my only option is "restoring from last backup" which isn't far enough to where Cydia went missing. My iPad was just sitting there for hours with the turning looptie loo thing so I did a hard restart. Didn't break anything on the iPad, but the iPad is exactly the same.
     
  18. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #18
    Because you used erase all content and settings, you likely deleted system files. Even if you get the iPad to boot and it looks normal, you're almost guaranteed to have issues. There's always a chance it'll be ok, but odds are, you'll have to restore via iTunes. Good luck. Hopefully you can salvage your jailbreak.
     
  19. IpadSC400 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    IpadSC400

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    A mile high
    #19
    I tried restoring with last backup via itunes but it didnt work
     
  20. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #20
    Even when trying in DFU mode?
     
  21. IpadSC400 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    IpadSC400

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    A mile high
    #21
    never mind, I figured it out. I was on the wrong page. Restored the iPad to brand new. Moves so quickly now...so could you point me in the right direction for a tutorial on re-jailbreaking with redsnow? I used Absinthe last time...
     
  22. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #22
    What firmware are you on?
     
  23. ~Ks383~ macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    #23
    Likely 5.1.1.

     
  24. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #24
    I would run Absinthe. It's a good tool.
     
  25. IpadSC400 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    IpadSC400

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    A mile high
    #25
    5.1.1

    :cool::cool::cool:

    Yeah, it was pretty simple. Problem is, I cannot locate the tutorial to do THAT either...-_-
     

Share This Page