Dark Sky app complication, info changes/disappears?

Discussion in 'Apple Watch Apps' started by dictoresno, Sep 23, 2015.

  1. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #1
    Ive been using the Dark Sky weather app as my center complication on the modular face. I notice sometimes that the weather complication changes and usually shows the current temp/conditions over the high/low. but i just realized it changed and now shows only the temp/conditions and the line under it is blank. never saw that before. i opened the app and refreshed its data, then went back to the home screen and its still only showing the temp. anyone else see this happen? bug?
     
  2. dictoresno thread starter macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #2
    come to think of it, i scrolled forward in time using time travel. once 1:30am rolled around, the missing data (hi/lo and sunrise) reappeared. i guess its normal for that info to be missing from like 11:30pm-1:30am. guess i answered my own question.
     
  3. nicho macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #3
    i have the weather channel's rain complication, and it shows nothng between 8pm and 8am! not sure why but there must be a reason behind it
     
  4. Bazooka-joe macrumors 68000

    Bazooka-joe

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Location:
    Swindon, England
    #4
    Dark Sky is a pain in the neck. It's up and down more times than a whore's drawers. I am currently sat looking at be rain drop icon on my watch because again it is saying Forcast tepmorarily unavailable
     
  5. nicho macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #5
    i found the reason behind it. it doesn't like 12 hour time. 24 hour time back on and it works fine.
     
  6. dmrowley macrumors 6502

    dmrowley

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Location:
    Dortches, NC
    #6
    The Dark Sky complication is working perfectly for me. I just used time travel for over 24 hrs forward, and it had the forecast....
     
  7. sumsingwong macrumors 6502

    sumsingwong

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #7
    I've removed the complication because it never is current. I have to get the current conditions from glances or launch the app on the watch. They need to fix.
     
  8. slester macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    #8
    Me too.
     
  9. testcard macrumors 68020

    testcard

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Middle England
    #9
    Likewise. The complication seems to lag behind the glance and app in providing the current temperature.
     
  10. sumsingwong macrumors 6502

    sumsingwong

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #10
    A bug fix update is available. Can anybody confirm if this fixes the lad on the complication?
     
  11. sumsingwong macrumors 6502

    sumsingwong

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #11
    I just updated and it seems to have fixed the lag. We'll see if it's consistent.
     
  12. testcard macrumors 68020

    testcard

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Middle England
    #12
    Not for me. App and Glance both showing 8 Centrigade, complication showing 7 Centrigade.
     
  13. JonMPLS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Location:
    MN
    #13
    When I use the complication to open Dark Sky it seems to get stuck at "Getting Your Forecast" Anyone else see this?
     
  14. testcard macrumors 68020

    testcard

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Middle England
    #14
    For me, it can take up to 10 seconds to get the forecast, but it gets there eventually.
     
  15. mrgossett macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #15
    Same problem here with Dark Sky. I've switched to Carrot Weather - Same forecast service, but loads quickly, the iPhone app is better and prettier, and it adds some humor now and then.
     
  16. JonMPLS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Location:
    MN
    #16
    My take is that Dark Sky updates the forecast almost every time you open it. In some ways this is nice, but generally it's a little slow. I wish they would just display the last forecast while they were updating it. That would fix it for me.

    Carrot updates once per hour. So you get an instant view when you open it. But, at least on my phone, Carrot keeps the GPS on constantly! I deleted and reinstalled with the same result.

    So back to the standard Weather app for now. Hopefully WeatherBug will add a complication soon--this is my favorite. Or Weather Underground. . .
     
  17. Hicks. macrumors regular

    Hicks.

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    Is it worth adjusting Carrot's location services to allow GPS only while using the app? Or would it mess up how the app works on the watch?
     
  18. testcard, Oct 3, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2015

    testcard macrumors 68020

    testcard

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Middle England
    #18
    Doesn't Dark Sky require Location Services to be on "Always" to receive constant weather updates based on current location? That's how my app is set up. Hourly updates isn't the same as hyper local, minute-by-minute updates.
     
  19. mrgossett macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #19
    The Dark Sky online support page says:

    When Dark Sky is closed, we don’t use your device’s power-hungry GPS. Instead, we rely on battery-friendly cell tower triangulation, which means you shouldn’t notice any effect on your battery life. (However, a “Location Services” icon will stay lit in your status bar.)

    I emailed the Carrot developer and asked him if Carrot worked the same way, and here's his reply:

    Yep, I use the same “significant location change” service that Dark Sky uses. It only updates when you move a significant distance from your last location, and doesn’t use the GPS at all.

    I never noticed an unusual battery drain with Dark Sky, and I haven't with Carrot either.
     
  20. JonMPLS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Location:
    MN
    #20
    Thanks for the replies. After downloading Carrot, it seemed the GPS icon stayed on constantly. I will try it again and restart the phone too for good measure. (DarkStar only used the GPS when needed, but opened SO SLOW on the watch that I got tired of waiting)
     
  21. mrgossett macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #21
    From what I understand from the info provided by Dark Sky and Carrot, even though the GPS indicator is showing, the app is not using it all the time.
     
  22. BlueMoon63 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    #22
    You can set that in privacy on the phone. Never, Always and While Using are the only choices.
     
  23. TypeMRT macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #23
    I've got this problem, again. The recent update 5.0.5 fixed it but it came back when I upgraded to my new iPhone and 5.0.6 update.
     
  24. testcard macrumors 68020

    testcard

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Middle England
    #24
    Overall, Dark Sky still seems buggy and slow to load, and I don't always get my 8.00am daily weather forecast. However, my notifications now tell me that "...it's going to rain soon in (my present location)...", so not all bad.
     
  25. Bazooka-joe macrumors 68000

    Bazooka-joe

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Location:
    Swindon, England
    #25
    I am beginning to hate this app. My watch just constantly shows that stupid rain drop and then halfway through the day it suddenly changes to show the temperature or notification of rain. I think I will kick it in to touch and purchase Carrot Weather
     

Share This Page