Dark Sky Complication

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by nmeed, Sep 24, 2018.

  1. nmeed macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    #1
    I just received the new Series 4 watch and I decided to put Dark Sky on my watch. After searching forever, it seems like there's only a few watch faces it's compatible with. I have it now on Modular in the middle, however it only shows dotted lines. Another watch face that seems to work is Solar, but even that just says "Dark Sky" on the face. There is no data whatsoever unless I open the app on the phone itself. I have tried deleting the app on my phone and watch but nothing seems to work. Am I missing something? I've never had an Apple Watch before so I hope I am missing something.
     
  2. Bazooka-joe macrumors 68020

    Bazooka-joe

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Location:
    Swindon, England
    #2
    There seems to be an issue with Dark Sky at the moment as on my S3, it suddenly stopped working and i just got the dash lines. I had the same problem, last year and then a Dark Sky update fixed it
     
  3. BryanLyle macrumors 6502a

    BryanLyle

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    #3
    There are limitations to what is available on the new watch faces :( Really hoping Apple fixes this soon.
     
  4. MacDevil7334 macrumors 65816

    MacDevil7334

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #4
    It’s not Apple that needs to fix anything. The developers need to update their apps to take advantage of the new complication types. Give it some time- these developers didn’t even know there would be new complications until a few weeks ago.
     
  5. nmeed thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    #5
    Thank you very much for the reply... I thought it was just me!
     
  6. Scott-n-Houston macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Location:
    Houston (duh)
    #6
    What about the native Apple Apps that aren't there??? (e.g., Messages, Phone, eMail, etc.) Apple needs to fix something.
     
  7. nmeed thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    #7
    It seems like if you keep Dark Sky running in the background (keep the app open) and have the location setting to always, then the complications work and update. I’m still not 100% about it, but you may want to try that. For the record, I had location settings on only when in use and I would close the app. This is all on the iPhone by the way. Though I must say I don’t like keep the location set to always. Can’t be good for the phone battery life, right? Or is that an old notion?
     
  8. billchase2 macrumors 68000

    billchase2

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Ann Arbor
    #8
    My recommendation is to give Carrot Weather a try, instead. It uses the Dark Sky data and is already optimized for the new watches.
     
  9. Mercenary macrumors 65816

    Mercenary

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    #9
    Old notion. It doesn't actually fire up the battery eating gps to get your location. Your phone always knows where it is and allot does is share that info it's already gathered with the apps.

    People think that each app will request the location each time. Which doesn't make sense.

    Plus, it doesn't use the GPS unless you use a GPS app that needs the exact location. It uses cell data and WiFi to get your location.

    Also dark sky has awful apple watch complication. I recommend Carrot which is totally customisable and takes its data from dark sky.
     
  10. epicnemesis macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #10
    So I finally got my hands on an S4, but the dark sky complication isn't working. It is just --- unless I navigate to any thing from the watchface at which point it will function for a fraction of a second as the screen transitions to whatever app I opened. Is this something everyone is experiencing?
     
  11. nmeed thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    #11
    I think you need to have the location settings on the iPhone set to "always" for it to work. Try that...
    But you're definitely not alone in experiencing that either way.
     
  12. Rangers94 macrumors 6502

    Rangers94

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    #12
    I used to use dark sky. I now use Carrot and haven’t looked back. Best weather app out there imo.

    Upgraded to the premium and it allows for very customizable complications depending on Watch face. I love it!
     
  13. epicnemesis macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #13
    I turned it on and still no dice. Reinstalled and still nothing. Its an annoying bug.

    I'm curious about Carrot, but I live in LA where its 75 degrees and Sunny 90% of the year, so I think a subscription to a weather app is a little overkill.
     
  14. nmeed thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    #14
    Their new update for me kind of ruined the app. I found the older version to work much better. Frankly even their weather projections have been off. For a few days it’s been kind of raining here on the East Coast and it’s been pegged at cloudy. The only apps that got the weather right were the ones using NOAA data. Problem is all those apps suck.
     
  15. Scott-n-Houston macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Location:
    Houston (duh)
    #15
    Same for me. It's supposed to use Dark Sky's data, but I find Dark Sky to be a better app right now.
     
  16. mlanks macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    #16
    I just did this and after a couple minutes, it changes from displaying 'Dark Sky' to the actual weather. Soon as I swiped to another face, it updated there as well. - Nike Series 4 -
     
  17. epicnemesis macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #17
    Lol it works when the watch is locked. What an infuriating bug.
     
  18. BoricuaHec01 macrumors 6502a

    BoricuaHec01

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #18
    Like mentioned above, switch to "always" for location and you'll be set. I also had the problem with the complication but now it's good after the switch. Don't spend another 5 bucks on Carrot.
     
  19. epicnemesis macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
  20. tromboneaholic Suspended

    tromboneaholic

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #20
    So is there a fee for the iPhone app and an additional fee for the watch app? Just curious.
     
  21. Rangers94 macrumors 6502

    Rangers94

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    #21
    No there’s not an additional fee for the Watch app.

    From the MakerOfCARROT himself..

    The subscription is $3.99/year or $0.49/month, and yes you do still have to pay the upfront fee. The upfront fee is for the app itself, the subscription is for the background data updates and a few other features that have ongoing data costs.
     
  22. ZipZap macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
  23. Bob Coxner macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    #23
    I set to "Always" before loading Dark Sky on to the watch. I still just get the 4 dots and Dark Sky text. AW4.
     
  24. Dardan1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    #24
    Hi New at this forum but I had same issue with Dark sky till today.

    Allow Dark sky to access your location
    Always and to send you notifications.

    Open the app on the Apple Watch and wait to load up. Turn complication off then back on again. It started workinyfoe me after I did this. I had lines and just the word Dark Sky before. This is on Apple Watch 4 but I’m sure it is the same on previous models.

    Good luck!
     
  25. Bob Coxner macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    #25
    Did all of these things and still no joy. It is strange that it's working for some and not for others.
     

Share This Page

39 September 24, 2018