Dashboard/Expose Lag on MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Zwhaler, Jun 18, 2007.

  1. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #1
    Am I the only one who is experiencing this? Whenever I activate dashboard or expose, it comes up very laggy and slow, as if the computer has a weak graphics card. I am on my second MBP, as the first had several issues, with this being one of them. On my MacBook, which has a much weaker graphics card, it works like a charm every time. But on both of the new MBPs that I've owned, it does this and it is really bothering me. About 50% of the time it will go all laggy and the other 50% of the time it will work smooth and normal. Am I the only one?
     
  2. Daiden macrumors 6502a

    Daiden

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2
    My MBP occasionally has some issues with this, but I'm picking up more RAM and seeing if that solves the issue.
     
  3. Zwhaler thread starter macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #3
    I already have 2GB, and every other MBP that I have seen does not have this issue (beside the other one that I owned)
     
  4. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #4
    Check Activity Monitor when this is happening and see if there's some process hogging CPU time. Expose has been perfect for me on my C2D MBP, and it was fine on PB G4 1.67. (on MBP had 2GB RAM, now 3GB)

    Dashboard will take a bit to initialize all of the Widgets the first time it's invoked after bootup, but otherwise it comes up instantly. 3GB sped up the initialization, but no difference when bringing up Dashboard.
     
  5. Zwhaler thread starter macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #5
    Yeah my CPU is free, and I realize that dashboard needs to initialize the first time I run it after boot up (or sleep) but it does this every single time. Grrr! Does anyone elses do this??
     
  6. milky23 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    #6
    yes, i am on a 17" SR MBP and mine is choppy when running expose and dashboard. My iMac Core Duo 20" was far smoother. I actually started a different thread, as I didn't see this one until just now.

    I don't know what to do.
     
  7. Zwhaler thread starter macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #7
    Yeah because on my MacBook (with a far weaker gpu) it is smooth. So that means it is not a GPU issue. I also noticed that it does not do it when it is plugged into the power adapter. Try this and tell me if it goes away while its plugged in
     
  8. milky23 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    #8
    Hey, I'm currently calibrating my battery (its drained right now and acording to apple, it has to sit drained for 5 hours)... I'll post again tomorrow with some results.

    Perhaps to save battery, the GPU underclocks itself drastically?
     
  9. aquajet macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    VA
    #9
    I've the same issue with my rev A MBP. Not all the time though. I've noticed either rebooting or logging out and back in seem to fix the issue.

    I seem to remember this issue surfacing after a Tiger point update, but I don't remember which.
     
  10. Taylor C macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    #10
    Dashboard and Expose are always really smooth for me. :/
     
  11. Cubsfan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    #11
    I have the exact same problem, Santa Rosa 2.2 MBP.

    If I activate expose, it's slow and a bit laggy. Interestingly, if I do it several times in a row (without opening or closing windows), it speeds up after 3 or 4 times to normal speed. If I open a couple of more windows, then it's back to being slow again.

    I'm replacing a C2D MB, and the MB ran it far better. No CPU activity at all when I see this.
     
  12. milky23 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    #12
    TaylorC: Is your MBP plugged in or on battery? Could you please try both and see if it is smooth in either case?

    Cubsfan: Is it sluggish both on battery and power adapter?
     
  13. Zwhaler thread starter macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #13
    As far as I know, the MacBook does not have this problem. So far it seems that the new Santa Rosa MBPs have the problem while unplugged. When my MBP is charging, the problem goes away. I haven't heard of this happening on non Santa Rosa MBPs.
     
  14. Cubsfan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    #14
    Well, never tried that before. After a couple of tests, plugged in it seems to work fine. That's irritating. Most of the time I'm not plugged in. Funny how the Macbook handles it better.
     
  15. Cubsfan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    #15
    Ok, after a good 30-40 seconds of testing, this Macbook Pro 1.0 update seems to fix the issue. Anyone else notice this?
     
  16. Blowjohn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #16
    Same problem over here...

    Hi everyone!

    Since I bought my MBP, about a year ago, I've made endless trips to the tech support to fix all of my problems. From hissing under the keyboard to noisy right fans, I've had a bunch of issues... 4 logic board replacements, 2 batteries and now I'm waiting for the fans to arrive because they started making noise again.

    As I was waiting I noticed that without the power chord plugged in the exposé takes a bit longer and the animation isn't as fluid as it should be. If I go mental and press F9 manically the problem solves itself for about 5 seconds. Small details such as these (hissing, fan roaring...) are exasperating, especially with the constant travelling to the tech shop. I've got my computer up to date and this still happens. Any advice?

    Is it possible to contact Apple directly? I want to make a complaint about their Portuguese representation which pretty much sucks as the parts take ages to arrive. I've waited for logic boards for about 1 to 2 months, it's ludicrous.

    I'm sorry for the off topic parts, but I had to get it off my chest. I'll appreciate the help.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page