Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

techlover828

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Jun 28, 2007
Maine
Ok, first of all, here are the two monitors:
1. 23" Apple Cinema Display
2. Dell 27" Display

I'm trying to decide between these two monitors. I'm a sophomore in high school so I'll be going to college pretty soon. So the dell has inputs for game consoles and whatnot. They both have the same resolution (which is kind of crazy considering the acd is 4" smaller and it still manages to pack the same resolution) So, what are you guys personal experiences with either one. I'm going to ask for one of these for my 16th birthday which is coming up so I really need to decide which. Right now I'm leading for the dell because it's bigger mainly.

thanks for your help!

killmoms

macrumors 68040
Jun 23, 2003
Durham, NC
The larger screens like the Dell 27" all use inferior TN panels. The comparable Dell display to the ACD is their 2408 24" widescreen. The 27" is larger but vastly inferior to both.

iToaster

macrumors 68000
May 3, 2007
In front of my MacBook Pro
To a certain extent, I prefer a higher density of pixels, in this case, the ACD. The 27" Dell will have much poorer image quality due to its smaller pixel density and inferior panel. I would recommend the 23" ACD a lot more than the Dell. Larger screen is not always better, 23" is a nice size for 1920x1200 considering everything will look a lot sharper... besides you can show it off to your friends, that's what I do... you can never do that with a Dell (in my opinion).

ceres

macrumors regular
Nov 14, 2007
Dark Forests of Germania