Definitive Mac Pro 5,1 Mojave Windows 10 install guide?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by alex1100811, Dec 4, 2018.

  1. alex1100811 macrumors newbie

    alex1100811

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Location:
    Washington
    #1
    Hey guys, I figure there maybe thread somewhere but I haven’t been able to find one. Just wanting to see what the processs for installing window with Mojave’s installed. I get an issue where boot amp is apparently no longer supported after doing the update, but I figure you could do a usb drive for win 10 the. Have that be the startup disk? If my one has some good info that would be great.
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  3. tnthlmnt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    #3
  4. zozomester macrumors regular

    zozomester

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Location:
    Hungary
    #4
  5. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    Not 100% sure, it seems the Windows 10 18xx version's ISO has issues.

    I only have 2 disc on hand, the very 1st release of Windows 10. And a 17xx version. Never really tried the 18xx version.

    Few members reported the 1809 version doesn't work. But some said 1803 can work, some said can not. So, I am not 100% sure what's the real limitation here.
     
  6. zozomester macrumors regular

    zozomester

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Location:
    Hungary
    #6
    Thank this Answer!
    I also thought about that and downloaded version 1709, but that is the same. Do I try 1703?
    Thank!
     
  7. b.lam macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #7
    I just recently reinstalled W10 completely. I also experienced issues with the ISO installers of the 1803 release. It started booting from the burned DVD but then it stopped midway and I couldn't get it to install. So I did as described in the previously mentioned tread: I installed W7 first, installed bootcamp drivers, then did the upgrade to W10 using the DVD which worked.
    W10 now boots in BIOS/non-EFI mode without problems using BootChamp (SIP disabled).

    But I didn't get the 1809 upgrade yet. Maybe the MacPro is on the long list of PCs that don't receive the update yet due to compatibility issues.
     
  8. zozomester macrumors regular

    zozomester

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Location:
    Hungary
    #8
    Thank this Answer!
    I Probably my Home.....Thank!
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    I don't think that's due to compatibility issue. Even my Z370 / 8700K / 1080Ti PC doesn't receive that 1809 update automatically.

    I simply download the "Media Creation Tool" from Microsoft, run that, and it will offer you to update the Windows to 1809.

    I did that on both my cMP and PC about 2 weeks ago. Both work fine.
     
  10. b.lam macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #10
  11. bookemdano macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #11
    FWIW I burned 1803 ISO (64-bit) to disc (single-layer DVD+R) using the terminal command

    Code:
    drutil burn
    and then dragged and dropped the iso onto the terminal window to insert the path to it.

    Booted up just fine by holding c and installed Win10 in BIOS mode.

    You either need to burn the CD that way or convert the .iso to a .cdr if you want to burn using the GUI. I think burning the iso directly using the GUI results in a non-bootable disc.
     
  12. Nimitz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2018
    #12
    I hate to be remedial, but is there a step by step (literally every step) guide somewhere? I'm installing from a disk but cant get the formatting of the SSD right for the installation.
     
  13. b.lam macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #13
  14. Nimitz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2018
    #14
  15. hknatm macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2018
    #15
    wanna ask that, i cant see the burnt disk , it shows empty, is it normal? Also I cant boot the mac pro from dvd. I am about to loose my mind.
     
  16. skizzo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2018
    #16
    @hknatm the instructions on burning the installer disc worked for me and seems several others. refer to this post a few posts back

    also if you're trying to boot from the CD with version 18XX it sounds like several users have had a challenge doing that. Myself included. I could NOT boot from the Win 10 install CD I burned, and I made another just to make sure from a different version. Since I was unable to BOOT from the CD, I simply put the CD in while running a Windows 7 drive and updated to Windows 10 that way.
     
  17. DigitaLife macrumors newbie

    DigitaLife

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Location:
    Italy
    #17
    Hi,
    I tried to burn with this method from the terminal, from Mojave, but I can not!
    After typing "drutil burn" the terminal shows a list of functions and after doing the drag and drop of the Windows .iso file nothing happens and the terminal says that the command is denied!
    Can you help me please? Thank you!
     
  18. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #18
    Type the drutil burn into the terminal. Do NOT press enter, just type those two words. I think you have to add a space to the end. NOW, drag and drop the Windows ISO file to the Terminal window, which should add the path to the ISO file. NOW press enter. That should then start the burn process. (Don't forget that you need a blank DVD+R for the burn!)
     
  19. misanthrophy macrumors regular

    misanthrophy

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2018
    #19
    Hey, i just tried to burn the 1803 iso to a 4,7gb dvd+r disc but terminal and the gui says, not enough free space on the disc. The iso is 4,72gb big, so 20mb too big.. how can I burn it with terminal command anyway?
     
  20. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #20
    This terminal command works for me with the 1803 ISO. (same as bookemdano)
    drutil burn (drag iso to terminal, then press enter)
    (Type drutil, then a space, then type burn, and a space. Drag the ISO file into the terminal window, which supplies the file path to that ISO file. And, press enter., then wait for the burn to complete.)
    There's just over 1MB space left on a 4.7GB DVD +R, so can be right on the edge of enough space (or not!)

    If you still get the "not enough space", download the ISO again. My 1803 ISO shows 4.69 GB space used.
    I downloaded 1803 ISO directly from Microsoft page -- https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10ISO
    I have found that USB flash drives work better than DVDs, at least for my use. Easy to make one through the Boot Camp assistant.
     
  21. misanthrophy macrumors regular

    misanthrophy

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2018
    #21
    I sorted the issue out. First i used the german iso, which is 4,72gb. Then i thought, maybe the english iso is smaller and of course it is. Haha. It is only 4,69gb big. So now I was able to burn it on my dvd
     

Share This Page

20 December 4, 2018