Developers: BEWARE

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by GravityEyes, Apr 2, 2009.

  1. GravityEyes macrumors regular

    GravityEyes

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #1
    *CLEAR THE AIR* I am a registered and working developer...

    Ok - i have a hardware problem with my phone. No sound through the dock connector. I call AppleCare... 20 minutes of hold as he talks to a 'specialist'-

    Long story short, according to the terms of service in the developer beta, ALL and ANY claims either software OR hardware related MUST be made through a form at developer.apple.com - NO phone support, returns, etc.

    I am furious... i won't bore you with why i feel a sense of entitlement ... (we all do - its called 'customer service')

    This is clearly a hardware problem. I was treated like a roach that dropped his shuffle in the toilet...

    So, 15 years of product allegiance - nearly $60,000 of purchases - and this is the treatment I get?
     
  2. kwjohns macrumors 6502a

    kwjohns

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #2
    You're running BETA software. What do you expect?
     
  3. Revelation78 macrumors 68000

    Revelation78

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #3
    I've never had a problem getting support over the phone, period. I do have Applecare, even they will sometimes get a rep from the developer support "section" on the phone.

    Plain and simple, keep asking for the right person on the phone. The developer support section is not 24/7, keep that in mind.

    You can also take a trip down to your local Apple store and they can fix you up too!
     
  4. pugnut macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #4
    I have never had a issue with device support. Replaced a 1 gen that was having issues, was locked up, after 2.0 beta, no issues. Your issue may be software related, as such it will not be covered, however with the final release it should be resolved, it not then you are covered. If you are using your development device this is the risk
     
  5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    It's BETA software. No one supports beta software through the standard channels. Fill out the special form, tanj in torment, and deal with it.

    If it truly is a hardware problem, restore to 2.2.1 and take it to an Apple Store.
     
  6. GravityEyes thread starter macrumors regular

    GravityEyes

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #6
    Thanks for the reply - yeah, i will call back tomorrow and 'gamble' on one of the good reps (as we know, there are many). This guy claimed to not have a way to patch in ADC.... yes, he didn't put much effort into resolving this...


    I had problems when developing for 2.0 - they didn't bat an eye at replacing the phone. He also claimed the UUID is tied to the program in 'the system' - and was aware i was using the beta prior to me telling him. Hmmm.
     
  7. kwjohns macrumors 6502a

    kwjohns

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #7
    I'm running the BETA software on my phone because I am an iPhone developer and I'm not whining because certain features don't work. Maybe you should have read up about the risks before updating. Why do you expect customer service to support the issues that you're having with BETA software? It doesn't work because it's BETA. There's nothing that customer service can do for you. It's called submitting a bug report and hoping Apple fix it in the next update.
     
  8. Michael CM1 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #8
    It's pretty well explained that you don't get tech support when running beta software. If it's messed up, you restore it to the latest release version and then call if it's still not working. You could've done that in the time it took to post 3 or 4 times here. If Apple spent time dealing with issues related to beta software, we'd have to pay another $50 for AppleCare.
     
  9. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    So downgrade them to 2.2.1 and they'll work.
     
  10. GravityEyes thread starter macrumors regular

    GravityEyes

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #10
    Restored, twice. Setup as new phone both times. Nothing installed. Nothing synced. Evident hardware issue. I'll wait until morning and call again.
     
  11. Justen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    #11
    Take it into Apple, and get a new one.
    That's what I did.
     
  12. mikeytrend macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #12
    That's the weirdest bug I've heard of thus far. It makes sense for them not to be able to do anything over the phone yet because their customer service people haven't been trained on steps to help people using 3.0. If you haven't tried a restore I would recommend that or even just a hard reset (sometimes my phone loses sound, but I think you probably tried those by now). I would go with what everyone says and downgrade to 2.0 and if the speaker works use it or take it to the apple store and explain your frustration.
     
  13. Justen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    #13
    If you spend $60,000 on iTunes, I think you can cut back $199 in a year and get a new phone.
     
  14. uiop. macrumors 68020

    uiop.

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #14
    I'm just glad the issue I have with my iPhone can't be blamed on the 3.0 OS. Unless dust under the screen and cracks on the plastic housing correlate with the software somehow...err.

    I'd take the phone to an Apple store. Certain geniuses are more lenient. It's wrong for Apple to basically to tell you to eff off just because you're beta testing an OS of theirs.

    Since that's totally a simple fix from 3.0. Yeah, not.
     
  15. RobertD63 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    A place
    #15
    That would be great if you could. Once you upgrade to 3.0 there isnt going back. You maybe able to hack it using this and reset the baseband.
     
  16. renewed macrumors 68040

    renewed

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Location:
    Bemalte Blumen duften nicht.
    #16
    iTunes wasn't around 15 years ago :rolleyes:
     
  17. iLeoMarc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #17
    I think the poster told you to restore to release version. Clicking reset keeps your beta firmware, though not 100% since that was the case for me.
     
  18. renewed macrumors 68040

    renewed

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Location:
    Bemalte Blumen duften nicht.
    #18
    Yeah you can go back to 2.2.1 with minimal difficulty. There are a few threads here about it. If anyone really is interested a summary is:

    Pwnage your iPhone with a 2.2.1 custom firmware... then restore it in iTunes. It will ask to restore from a previous iPhone, select yes. This will restore it to the official 2.2.1 firmware.
     
  19. RobertD63 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    A place
    #19
    Some people say its not the same as it use to be because the base band is the same.
     
  20. uiop. macrumors 68020

    uiop.

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #20
    Minimal difficulty would be clicking the restore button in iTunes. Pwning an iPhone isn't very simple.
     
  21. renewed macrumors 68040

    renewed

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Location:
    Bemalte Blumen duften nicht.
    #21
    Not to start a debate but pwnage is relatively easy.

    One just connects their iPhone, chooses which kind it is (i.e iPod, iPhone, iPhone 3G).. it asks if it has been pwnd before.. select No.. then it will say select a firmware.. choose 2.2.1 then it pwns it.

    It is step by step. Just follow the onscreen instructions.


    :)
     
  22. Aaleck macrumors 6502a

    Aaleck

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    #22
    $60,000 worth of iTunes purchases? That'd be enough to buy a small repo'd house... Sheesh.
     
  23. GravityEyes thread starter macrumors regular

    GravityEyes

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #23
    Good point. I'll just make a trip to da mApple Store.
     
  24. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #24
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3G (white): Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/7A259g Safari/525.20)

    That shouldn't be necessary. Whoever the OP spoke with was wrong - if the problem is clearly hardware related, Apple will replace the phone. I should know - I just got an iPhone replaced despite running 3.0 beta 2. The AppleCare person I spoke with on the phone knew I was running the beta without me even bringing it up and so did the Genius (who I let play around with the phone a bit as it was her first time seeing the new OS) ... ;)
     
  25. Steve686 macrumors 68020

    Steve686

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    US>FL>Miami/Dade>Sunny Isles Beach>Condo
    #25
    I'm a little

    :confused:

    Doesn't Apple know each device's UDID and serial number? And when you register as a developer, download, and probably go ahead and install 3.0, wouldn't Apple have that info in communiqe' with iTunes?

    And wouldn't this just make trying to roll back to 2.2.1 to get support...pointless?

    I don't know but am curious.
     

Share This Page