did i get the right ram?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hwemel, Sep 7, 2012.

  1. hwemel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    #1
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Not really. You got a faster speed RAM and over paid.

    NewEgg Offering This is one is much cheaper and better, and is the right speed.
     
  3. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #3
    If you're getting kernel panics, it probably isn't the right RAM. If you put the stock RAM back in, do the kernel panics stop?

    I actually have 2 x 4GB of 1333MHz RAM in my mid-2009 13" MBP, and it works fine. It actually runs at 1333MHz and I can honestly say I felt a SLIGHT improvement in my graphical performance. It's just Corsair value select that was on sale a couple months back for ~$30.
     
  4. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    RAM that is rated at higher speeds does not run at those speeds if the FSB or chipset isn't set at that. It will run at the lowest speed of the chipset, in this case, 1066MHz. Apple's system just reports the designed speed of it; doesn't mean it runs at that.
     
  5. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
  6. bobcan macrumors 6502a

    bobcan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny but Cold.. Canada
    #6
  7. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #7
    Thats what I thought too, but when I boot into Windows 7 and run CPU-Z it reports 1333MHz.
     
  8. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #8
    Check again that it is the actual speed. Remember, the only way to achieve those speeds are through overclocking as those Intel chips are designed for 1066MHz not 1333MHz.
     
  9. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #9
    I'm very familiar with how CPU-Z works.

    The mid 2009 13" MacBook Pro uses the nVidia MCP79, which supports 1333MHz FSB. I know most chipsets are able to run the FSB and the RAM out of sync, I'm sure this one can to.
     
  10. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #10
    Yet you still don't see 1333MHz because the FSB of the CPU is still at 1066MHz so for all speed that RAM has, you won't see it.
     
  11. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #11
    Being that the GPU in the 13" MBP shares system memory, It does make a difference.
     
  12. jojo26 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #12
     

Share This Page