Did iTunes identify the update as 3.1 or 3.1.2?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Zerozal, Oct 9, 2009.

  1. Zerozal macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    PA
    #1
    Both yesterday after the 3.1.2 update was announced, and just now, I connected my iPhone to iTunes ready to dl the 3.1.2 update, but iTunes is saying version "3.1" is available--not "3.1.2". (My iPhone is currently running 3.0.1).

    Not sure if 3.1.2 hasn't been pushed down to me yet, or if iTunes is just saying 3.1 but will actually install 3.1.2?

    I'm trying to avoid the coma issues, which is why I haven't updated to 3.1, and I sure don't want it installed now, but I'll update if it will actually install 3.1.2.

    So when you all updated to 3.1.2, did iTunes actually call the update 3.1.2?


    Thanks!
     
  2. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #2
    Yes, mine had it as 3.1.2. However, I already was at 3.1.

    I'm not sure why iTunes would make you go through 3.1, since I thought these are all full loads of the firmware (not delta updates).
     
  3. Mystikal macrumors 68020

    Mystikal

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #3
    Thats very true. There must be some bug with his itunes.
     
  4. martuk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    #4
    My 3GS was on 3.0.0 and said I could upgrade to 3.1 last night, knowing that 3.1.2 was available I tried not downloading that then checking manually in the check for updates option, and then it came up with 3.1.2
     
  5. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #5
    Or the OP has 3.1 firmware downloaded and upon plugging in iTunes is seeing that the downloaded firmware is newer than the installed firmware.

    OP:

    Do a spotlight search for all files with the extension .IPSW and delete them.

    Then have iTunes do a manual check for updates.
     
  6. andylyon macrumors 6502a

    andylyon

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    London
  7. ozzyman500 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    #7
    Shouldn't have to. Mine said 3.1.2.
     
  8. UngratefulNinja macrumors 68000

    UngratefulNinja

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #8
    It's still showing as 3.1 for me too. I can't click update though to see if it downloads 3.1.2 (which I'm sure it would) because I'm jailbroken and don't want to update. But mine def shows the same thing as above.
     
  9. Zerozal thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    PA
    #9
    This worked. Thanks!
     

Share This Page