Did you guys get apple care?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Laughingman13, May 30, 2010.

1. Laughingman13 macrumors member

Was it worth the investment seeing as they only cover you for three years?

2. MikhailT macrumors 601

Three years is the standard and with Apple it's a special kind of gold standard because their AppleCare is usually superb with excellent customer service. So yes, get it. You can wait till the end of the year, but I wouldn't recommend it because I have known some people forgetting to do it.

3. Laughingman13 thread starter macrumors member

I have the student discount/rebate because I am an upcoming college student.

I can still use my student benefits to get applecare at anytime during the year right?

4. Ateace3 macrumors member

i actually bought mine through ebay back in feb. it was a brand new 15 inch anti glare and it came with 3 year apple care. 2 months after i bought it the hard drive failed (or was failing). Luckily, apple care covered the 250 dollar repair. I definitely think its worth it.

5. MortalDays macrumors regular

Yes. That's what i am doing too... :)

6. djasterix macrumors 6502a

djasterix

Applecare is a good invest, just go for it. And if you're short of cash, you have 1 long year to get it...

7. Mirabella macrumors regular

Let's see ... covered by Applecare, after the first year of warranty, with my last MacBook Pro:

• screen replacement
    • hard drive replacement
    • logic board replacement
    • 2 power cable replacements
    • 2 battery replacements

Yup, I think it was worth the investment. :)

8. agentphish macrumors 65816

agentphish

get it. plain and simple. it will pay for itself if you use it even once in 3 years for an actual repair.

9. Ronnoco macrumors 68030

Ronnoco

I've been saved by AppleCare several times saving me thousands of dollars in repairs...I wouldn't buy an Apple laptop without it....

10. Jarcrew macrumors 6502

Jarcrew