Disaster on upgraded Mac Pro 2009

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by lilbiscuit, Apr 19, 2016.

Tags:
  1. lilbiscuit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    #1
    All I can say is, "oh no!"

    I upgraded my 2009 Mac Pro firmware to 5,1 then upgrade the CPUs to two 6-core processors, upgraded to 1333 memory, turned it on, works...life was good!!

    I migrated my Macbook Pro user files over to the hot rodded mac pro. Smooth sailing.

    Now I wanted to see how fast it would render a file in blender..so loaded up a file and rendered...hmmm pretty fast. Lets see how much faster than my Macbook pro i7.

    I started blender on the MBP and loaded the same file... then simultaneously hit "render image" on both machines.

    After 10 seconds the mac pro froze. "huh??"

    Then it shutdown. "uh oh"

    Now it won't boot back up "OH NO"

    My first thought is that maybe one of the CPUs was not perfectly set with its heat sink and went out on high temp or something. I unplugged and waited like 20 minutes. Still...no boot. The unit powers on but is just dead.

    What do I do next?
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    Get yourself a 2009 Mac Pro "Apple Technician Guide". Follow the steps at there is the best action you can do now.
     
  3. lilbiscuit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    #3

    Good news to report :)

    Pulled the cover... pulled CPU B first...

    it booted... then re-set CPU B. Booted again. So I think CPU B was not tightened down enough.
     
  4. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #4
    1st commandment: don't panic :D
    It's hard to burn cMP.
     
  5. lilbiscuit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    #5
    Thanks for the tip on the Apple Technician Guide.
     
  6. carpsafari Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #6
    Install Hardware Monitor or iStatMenus BEFORE you upgrade and get familiar with your Mac!
    Tells you a lot.
     

Share This Page