Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mfaughn

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 24, 2012
I am a developer and have been trying to use my rMBP (specs in attached png) with three external monitors (with the lid closed). The monitors are two Dell 1920x1200 monitors and a Dell 4K monitor scaled to 2560x1440. I was previously using tw0 2560x1440 (one Apple, one HP) monitors and one of the aforesaid 1920x1200 monitors. In both cases I experience drastic degradation of the OS performance. Everything gets really slow - from mission control to web page loading. As soon as I drop back to using just two monitors (doesn't matter which two) then everything seems fine again. I do happen to have a lot of desktops going (~8-10) and often have a lot of application windows open. I was just curious if this behavior is typical. Has anyone experimented and discovered any more specific parameters that make this behavior any better or worse? I really like having the display real estate but not if it is going to send my computer into a stupor. I'm wondering if it would be alright I replaced the two 1920x1200 units with a single 2560x1440 or even a 3440x1440?

Brandon0448

macrumors 6502
Aug 2, 2011
Anchorage, Alaska
You are simply asking too much out of your little rMBP, while they are pretty powerful machines that amount of screen real state is crossing into desktop territory with a powerful dedicated graphics chip. That is a lot of pixels for a laptop to drive, especially if you have a model with integrated graphics. I am not familiar with how many pixels these laptops can run but it is pretty obvious you have exceeded it.