Do all OS X browsers suck?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by RichardJohn, Dec 21, 2007.

1. RichardJohn macrumors member

I've been using a mac for a few months now. Everything is fine with it, except in the very important area of web browsing!
    I've been through what I think is just about every OS X browser.
    Safari 3 (not beta) freezes momentarily very often, and about twice a day I'll have to force quit it. This happens seemingly randomly. It's just generally buggy.
    Firefox 2 is pretty awful on OS X... it doesn't feel right, and it closes occasionally.
    Firefox 3 beta is more stable, but it just looks weird. On dialogs and things, the gradient background repeats vertically, and it looks awful.
    Flock - alright, but a bit garish and similar issues to FF2.
    Shiira.. I liked Shiira for a while, but I'm getting similar freezes to Safari.
    Opera - doesn't freeze, and is quite quick, but looks really out of place.

You'd think there's something wrong with my MacBook, but I only have problems with browsers, and my friend has similar trouble.

Is there a browser I've missed somewhere?

2. valdore macrumors 65816

valdore

Camino is a browser for Mac, very similar to Safari. And it sucks as much as Safari too.

3. psychofreak Retired

psychofreak

4. Cloudane macrumors 65816

Cloudane

If you go near Flash, yes. They all suck. Or more to the point, the Mac implementation of Flash sucks!

5. mrkramer macrumors 603

mrkramer

6. RichardJohn thread starter macrumors member

Hmm, I suppose that makes sense... most sites use Flash in some form.

Why hasn't it been fixed?

7. M@lew macrumors 68000

M@lew

I thought the Flash problem was "kind of" fixed in the latest update?

8. EvilDoc macrumors 6502a

EvilDoc

Just out of curiosity how much ram do you have?

9. soms macrumors 6502

soms

No problem with Firefox v2 here at all. Works fine, stable, and really fast; unlike Safari which is terribly slow for me.

10. dpaanlka macrumors 601