Do I need to pay for data plan on verizon to get activate LTE?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by albert1028, Mar 18, 2012.

  1. albert1028 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #1
    Hey All,

    I checked the coverage map and my area (Diamond Bar, CA) says that it is in the verizon LTE coverage. I have not paid for data service yet, but was hoping that through the signal lock that it would help me determine if I can get LTE service at home. But i was wondering if the LTE/4G symbol at top will only come on and be activated when i sign up for a plan?

    Any insight and help would be great.

    Thanks!
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    So far, the answer has been yes, as the device must be provisioned on the LTE network.
     
  3. Stealthipad macrumors 68040

    Stealthipad

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #3
    Not sure how it works on Verizon but AT&T you sign up ON the cellular network so you can see how your signal is and if you are going to get a level,of service.

    Go to the cellular under settings and start the process and see.
     
  4. ckiggins macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #4
    As others have said, LTE will not appear until you have activated. Mine would only say "Verizon 3G" until I activated a data plan - then the 3G turned to "LTE".
     
  5. albert1028 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #5
    Yup. Thanks All. You only can see LTE on status bar if you pay for a data plan, otherwise it shows 3G or lower.
     
  6. Blorzoga macrumors 68030

    Blorzoga

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    #6
    I went to a Verizon store with this question and stood next to a iPad that had LTE on the screen and was told that indeed you have to sign up far a data plan to get LTE to appear.
     

Share This Page