Do you bootcamp?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by NickPhamUK, Sep 9, 2013.

?

Do you bootcamp?

  1. Yes

    75 vote(s)
    65.2%
  2. No

    40 vote(s)
    34.8%
  1. NickPhamUK macrumors 6502

    NickPhamUK

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    #1
    And why? For me, cuz:
    1. I *cough cough* play games.
    2. I need some Windows-only apps.
    3. I think Windows 8 is awesome.
    4. I'm awesome.
    5. Bacon.

    :rolleyes:
     
  2. Unhyper macrumors regular

    Unhyper

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Location:
    Finland
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    I have little need to use bootcamp. If I need to use a windows app, then I have VMware fusion.
     
  4. Shrink macrumors G3

    Shrink

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    New England, USA
  5. hakr100 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    East Coast
    #5
    No, I use VMware Fusion to boot up Quicken on Windows 7, and only because there isn't *one* checkbook program for Mac OSX that runs as well and prints checks, and isn't in some other important way crippled by its developers. Even Quicken's Mac version of Quicken...sucks. :rolleyes:
     
  6. offgray macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    #6
    I used to. If I need to use both OSes, I just turn on my Windows Desktop. All of my files are shared on my network anyway, so... Yeah.
     
  7. swerve147 macrumors 6502a

    swerve147

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    #7
    Yes, mainly for gaming and for the better versions of MS Office.
     
  8. MatthewAMEL macrumors 6502

    MatthewAMEL

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #8
    Gaming. I'm on the road 17-18 days a month.

    Skyrim, Fallout New Vegas and others help me maintain my sanity in yet another Marriott.
     
  9. Steelseries macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    #9
    All my apps are mac-compatible, even my games run natively on mac. No need for bootcamp.
     
  10. devilcm3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Location:
    South Melbourne, Australia
    #10
    i wish all windows games are on mac, then I swallowed a reality pill and installed Windows8.

    A waste of good space in my SSD, but then ... i just need to play some games =P
     
  11. NickPhamUK thread starter macrumors 6502

    NickPhamUK

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    #11
    I play Skyrim too, but the Mac (Wine) version sucks donkey balls. Many other games that are released for Mac (like WoW, Starcraft 2 etc.) runs a hell lot better in Windows. Sad truth :(
     
  12. mneblett macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #12
    Not anymore -- Parallels 8 now; no need to BootCamp.
     
  13. borgqueens macrumors member

    borgqueens

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Location:
    Denmark
  14. Yahooligan macrumors 6502a

    Yahooligan

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #14
    I do but only for one game; The Secret World. This is the one game I play that was unplayable in Parallels. For everything else it's either a VM or CrossOver.
     
  15. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #15
    Gaming. For software developing and testing I just use Parallels.
     
  16. Kirihuna macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    #16
    Yep.

    256GB SSD split in half. Should be more than enough for the foreseeable future.

    Considering getting a 500GB TB external to just load purely games / movies on it so then I can just plug that in to play any game I want.
     
  17. Xerotech macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
  18. fatlardo macrumors 6502

    fatlardo

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #18
    I do more for gaming. But recently Dota 2 was available for mac so I dunno if I should leave win7 on there. Only reason I booty camped.
     
  19. Kirihuna macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    #19
    Dota 2 is apparently more stable on Windows compared to Mac.
     
  20. srsub3 macrumors 6502

    srsub3

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Location:
    NYC
    #20
    to use some programs I had to install windows... damned work! I cannot understand why developers have a linux version and aren't interested in Macs..
     
  21. Zeov macrumors 6502a

    Zeov

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Odense
    #21
    yes.

    1. For gaming.

    2. Working with 3D in Maya (i know theres a Mac version, but w/e)
     
  22. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #22
    I have it on the MBP, and that was for playing SimCity before the Mac version was released. I'm going to leave it on there because I may need Windows for something else later on.
     
  23. John Kotches macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Location:
    Troy, IL (STL Area)
    #23
    No.

    I use parallels for the couple of windows only programs I use.
     
  24. Acronyc macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #24
    I do, though not often. Mainly I have a bootcamp partition to mess around in Windows 8 and do a bit of gaming. It's been nice to see more OS X releases lately, though. Less of a reason to boot into Windows.
     
  25. Agent-P macrumors 68030

    Agent-P

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Location:
    The Tri-State Area
    #25
    Bootcamp in tandem with Parallels tapping into that same bootcamp partition.
     

Share This Page